We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect "Value" Beach front accommodation in Muri, Rarotonga”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rarotonga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tianas Beach Villas
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Tianas in June 2012.
Its right on the beach in Muri, which is just about the best beach in Rarotonga.
Its basic... but its clean, comfortable and GREAT value (NZ$120 or NZ$160 a night), and its very functional and its the BEST location! It felt like a batch or holiday home.
There are 2 one bedroomed Villas (one bedroom stand alone cottages) and 3 studios (open plan with a double bed) We hired one of each (1 for the teenagers, one for the parents!)
They are comfortable but basic. There is a functional kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven and microwave. There is a separate bathroom with a good shower with excellent pressure and hot water. There is a sofabed and a decent living room area.
It has a good deck, perfect for watching the beach (right in front of you), or having a nice cold beer! We asked for a BBQ, which we had on the deck and used most nights. If you are not aware, you can take food into Rarotonga (not honey, fruit or vegetables).
The Muri area has stores, restaurants, take aways, scooter rentals etc.
Muri beach is a good swimming beach, and is very safe for kids. Tianas has 4 Kayaks for use.
Charlie is onsite...he's real friendly and very helpful.
We totally recommend Tianas for a good basic good value holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence_and_Trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (20)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 20 of 20 reviews

Reviewed 3 March 2012

Tianas Beach Bungalows
Stayed at Tianas in 2011.The hosts went out of their way to make our visit a great holiday.Nice beach ,fantastic fish life to view while swimming around the nearby Motu .Good clean tidy accomodation .We have stayed in Raro many times and this place is by far the best value for money . We wouldn,t ,stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank JOHNVKaikoura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2012

December 15th 2011 Great spot right on the waters edge but the cottages were, quite ran down and not that clean. I changed the sheet on day 3 of our stay to find that when I removed the pillow cases that the pillow were moldy. The 2nd lot of bath towles were said to be clean but were in fact dirty. The little red ants got into all our food and we had to throw it out. I guess that is why the price is only around $1250 for 9 nights but I will not be staying there again. It was hard to sleep as the owner had family over staying in some of the rooms and party until late, then each morning at around 5.30am - 6am cars and bikes would start just out side our bedroom window and wake us up.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank kerry r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 January 2011

For bang for buck there is no better property in Muri. The location right on the edge of the lagoon with beautiful views from the fully covered balcony was just bliss. I say fully covered cause it rained a bit whilst we were in Raro and we were able to enjoy watching the rain outside on the deck.

When we arrived the manager had put two huge paw paws in our room which was really nice and refereshing to have something to eat for breakfast (given we arrived middle of the night). When we are leaving to go to Aitutaki and said our thanks for them, he gave us another three as he said it was harder to get fruit on Aitutaki due to the cyclone. Was a very kind thing for him to do.

The unit was really nice. We had the one bedroom which felt like more than enough space for the two of us. It was clean and whilst not modern it was very comfortable.

In the room they have these big low slung arm chairs with deep plush cushions - I believe they are called cape cod chairs or similar. Anyhow we pulled those out onto the balcony and it was great to have something really comfortable to sit on.

It was an easy 10 minute walk up the road (or beach) to the centre of Muri. We did not feel like we were far from much at this location. The beauty however is that as its nestled infront of a few residental houses its totally blocked from the street noise, so we were lulled to sleep by the reef noise (and occassional woken by a rooster - welcome to the Cook Islands :-)

We were also able to cater easily here with the big fridge and kitchen with microwave which was very handy.

The kayaks were great to get on the lagoon. The property had I think at least four available for guest use which was fab. The sunloungers on the beach were a nice touch too.

All in all we were very pleased with Tianas and would recommend to those who are looking for a budget and friendly place in a great spot. For my money, this is the best deal going in Muri!!!

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sarahrach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2009

Superb location, warm Manager (Charlie) and staff (Desiree), minor niggles but we didn't expect 5 star so our world wasn't rocked. Best of all - it was quiet! Facilities adequate and everything worked. We cooked all our meals in and enjoyed the local produce. Other guests were respectful and friendly without being obtrusive.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Davidlongtack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2009

Tainas Beach Bungalows have a great location, right on the beach. However, don't be fooled by the photos on their website. A dead cockroach in the kitchen cupboard and a dessicated gecko in the living room greeted us upon our arrival- when was this place last cleaned? Rough plywood night tables, 4 hangers for clothes, no shelves or cupboards to put stuff in. Kitchen cupboard doors hanging off hinges and the dishes in cupboards needed a good cleaning. No beach or lawn chairs to enjoy the lovely beach. Be aware there is no air conditioning and the heat was unbearable when we were there. There is no central office to book tours etc. but there is a phone in the room so you could do your own booking. Considering the price charged for this place, there are better places to stay in the area.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljlp55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2015
Google Translation

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ana Inés F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
561 reviews
0.0 mi away
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
Rarotonga Beach Bungalows
#4 of 12 in Titikaveka
178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
#32 of 79 in Rarotonga
218 reviews
0.0 mi away
Muri Beach Resort
Muri Beach Resort
#6 of 17 in Muri
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianas Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianas Beach Villas

Address: South Muri Beach, Cook Islands (Formerly Tianas Beach Bungalows)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #66 of 79 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable self-catering units and 1-bedroom bungalows directly overlooking Muri Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing