We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Rarotonga
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tianas Beach Villas
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Loved the place, right on the beach, our unit was just great and clean.
Lovely host and very helpful, and went out their way to make us feel at home.Dairy shops, cafes, restaurants and kite surfing are within walking distance.
See you next year, cant wait.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chargir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (21)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

8 - 14 of 21 reviews

Reviewed 20 October 2013

We are 7th time visitors to the Cook Islands and have rented privately owned properties prior, so we are not expecting 4 or 5 star accomodation but unfortunately this did not measure up to photos that are on the website. The location is superb and the view from the balcony is to die for but that is about where it stops. The bungalows are older (which doesnt matter) but they are in serious need of immediate maintenance. When we arrived at the one bedroom bungalow, we noticed a terrible strong sewerage smell in our bathroom, fortunately my husband is a builder and found the seal around the toilet was not right and asked the owner for silicone so he could fix it. The owner told us that other people had mentioned it but they didnt know what the problem was!! There are plumbers on Rarotonga!! The futon in the lounge was covered on both sides with stains all over it, underneath the vanity in the bathroom was black mouldy stuff on the floor and when we stripped the pillow I could not believe the mould on it. The first week of our holiday the owners mothers house which is behind of our bungalow was having building work done on it so the builder arrived at about 8.15am and started whistling, singing and hammering and then the skill saw started, didnt make it an overly relaxing 1st week! Fortunately the 2nd week he was not back. This property has the potential to be one of the best on the island but we would not recommend staying in it until it has had some basic maintenance and cleaning done. There are better vaue for money properties avail so I would suggest you look around. Jeff you are a really nice guy but you will start loosing business if you dont get this done.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank scobby1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TianasBeach, Public Relations Manager at Tianas Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thanks for your comments about declining standards of cleanliness during 2013. These have been addressed by Geoff and Ana who took over Tiana's Beach Villas from Geoff's parents in late 2013. The interiors and exteriors have since had a good clean and general maintenance of facilities. We haven't received any negative comments since and whilst Tiana's remains a budget property we hope the new cleanliness and service standards are more what our guests expect on their holidays ...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Geat bechfront location, couldn't be better placed, price reasonable, but for everthing else.
Kayaks, were looking forward to going kayaking as per the website, but alas no kyaks, when inquired advised to go hire some. Had to clean the shower on arrival, sheets stained, windows that didn't shut, blowing a gale curtains flying around like a flag.
Needs a "makeover" as no way does it come up to the website views, if updated , cleaned up kyaks supplied it would be a great place to stay, but as it is won't come back.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynette C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TianasBeach, Public Relations Manager at Tianas Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thanks your feedback. I'm happy to say that Tiana's has been taken over by Geoff and Ana and the place is looking clean and tidy again and all linen has been replaced. We did have a problem with the kayaks for a few weeks when the local distributor ran out of kayak repair kits (the reality of island life!) and previous clients wrecked all kayaks (as well as the precious coral) by paddling out over the coral reef at low tide. Anyway, we now have three good kayaks for guests to use whilst staying at Tianas and hoping guests enjoy them and look after them as well! Thanks.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

The location of this property was fantastic - couldn't ask for better. But the place was very run down and definitely needed a decent clean! The pillows mouldy, the towels old, a broken toaster and a microwave that didn't spin around (resulting in our burnt scrambled eggs)! I was most disappointed that the website offered kayaks for guest use, but all four had holes in them and weren't able to be used. Don't offer something on your website you couldn't use! We were told that the water was filtered outside and we could drink it. However.... when we went to fill our bottle two geckos came out of the tap and into the bottle! Needless to say... we didn't drink that water!!

The owner was lovely.. but didn't see him enough to voice my concerns!

Just in a need of a good clean and tidy up!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nicole C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TianasBeach, Public Relations Manager at Tianas Beach Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2014

Thanks your kind words and we are thrilled you had a great time at Tiana's. Looking forward to seeing you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2013

An awesome little property, perfectly located in Muri beach. It is old and basic, but clean. The shower is great but bring a hair dryer. For the price, I don't think you could find better right on the beach. Would definitely return.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Debbie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2012

We stayed at Tianna's in November 2012. We found the hosts go out of their way to make your stay enjoyable, they'll pretty much help you with everything as long as you just ask! Beach front property with restaurants, vehicle rentals, activities, and small grocery store all within walking distance.
Not to be mistaken with an all-inclusive, $400/ night resort, the kitchens allow you to save lots of money by making most of your own meals, and you can enjoy dinner on your private deck over-looking the beautiful lagoon at Muri beach!

Warm regards to Charlie's family.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gavin P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 July 2012

We stayed at Tianas in June 2012.
Its right on the beach in Muri, which is just about the best beach in Rarotonga.
Its basic... but its clean, comfortable and GREAT value (NZ$120 or NZ$160 a night), and its very functional and its the BEST location! It felt like a batch or holiday home.
There are 2 one bedroomed Villas (one bedroom stand alone cottages) and 3 studios (open plan with a double bed) We hired one of each (1 for the teenagers, one for the parents!)
They are comfortable but basic. There is a functional kitchen with fridge, freezer, oven and microwave. There is a separate bathroom with a good shower with excellent pressure and hot water. There is a sofabed and a decent living room area.
It has a good deck, perfect for watching the beach (right in front of you), or having a nice cold beer! We asked for a BBQ, which we had on the deck and used most nights. If you are not aware, you can take food into Rarotonga (not honey, fruit or vegetables).
The Muri area has stores, restaurants, take aways, scooter rentals etc.
Muri beach is a good swimming beach, and is very safe for kids. Tianas has 4 Kayaks for use.
Charlie is onsite...he's real friendly and very helpful.
We totally recommend Tianas for a good basic good value holiday.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Laurence_and_Trudi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
243 reviews
0 mi away
Pacific Resort Rarotonga
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tianas Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tianas Beach Villas

Address: South Muri Beach, Cook Islands (Formerly Tianas Beach Bungalows)
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #64 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: £63 - £100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Tianas Beach Villas 2.5*
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Affordable self-catering units and 1-bedroom bungalows directly overlooking Muri Beach. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing