We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food for the price”
Review of Palace Takeaways

Palace Takeaways
Ranked #43 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Takeout
Vietnam
Level 6 Contributor
93 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“good food for the price”
Reviewed 26 June 2014 via mobile

Decent wholesome take away food at a good price. We stayed on board a yacht in Avatiu Harbour so this was right next door and we ate there several times. About the best of the takeaway food places we found on Rarotonga.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Del E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    67
    55
    14
    4
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Burgers On The Island!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I've never been so full from just a cheeseburger! It was so delicious and cost me only $3.50 as I went in on their special day: Wednesday! Popped in a few more times over the week as we couldn't resist!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Evangeline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Best Little Takeaway in the Cook Islands”
Reviewed 14 June 2014

Rarotonga has some great restaurants but for a completely different experience you must try Palace Takeaways,Avarua,Rarotonga,Cook Islands.The Palace is located opposite the main Harbour, a short walk up from the Markets.I would highly recommend their Vege Burger but the house specialty is the Palace Burger with the lot and their fish and chips and salad is pretty good too.No Flake here,usually Yellow Tail Tuna,Mahi Mahi or Swordfish.It is basically a shed situated on the Harbour on a grass verge surrounded with BBQ tables.In extreme temperatures the cooks slave over the hotplate trying to keep up with the orders which is no easy task, yet they do it with a smile.The food is great value and The Palace has become a meeting point for many locals, especially on Wednesday Pay Day when all burgers were half price which draws very large crowds.We figured if the locals liked it that much,the burgers must not be too bad,and we were right,but they were exceptional.They add a special coleslaw that runs down your arms when you bite into your burger and for a extra 50c will add extra juice........it's fantastic! We loved that we were surrounded by locals, not tourists,and were able to exchange stories and learn more about the real Rarotongan people and their beautiful island.Kia Orana,may you live long and enjoy the Cooks as much as we do!

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank KarenFayeSmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
“I'm gonna miss The Palace!”
Reviewed 11 June 2014 via mobile

Was recommended to us by a family member when she was there on holiday. We went to visit this place a few days into our stay.......and ended up dropping in there every day after until we left! The kiddie meals are a great deal (burger - fish bites - or chicken nuggets, chips & drink) the chips are nice and fresh, and the burgers......they have a taste unique only to The Palace.
My partner loved the bacon and egg burgers, she says the taste of the bacon is unlike any bacon she's ever had before and is delicious. The legendary Palace burger is pretty daunting (for the small eater) but if you attack it properly, you'll finish it without making a mess or embarrassment!
I'm gonna miss the Palace!

Helpful?
Thank heemit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“$3.50 burgers on Wednesday!”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

We ate here on Wednesday. Hawaiian burger was good, as was the vege burger. Chips are a generous size, the milkshake was also good. Would eat here again

Helpful?
Thank Daneka_NZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Palace Takeaways also viewed

Avarua, Rarotonga
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Titikaveka, Rarotonga
 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Avarua, Rarotonga
 

Been to Palace Takeaways? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing