We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a beautiful location”

The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill
Ranked #26 of 101 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$24
Cuisines: Polynesian, Seafood, Cafe, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Lunch, Reservations
Description: The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill is on the site of the old Maire Nui Cafe set within the luxurious grounds of the Maire Nui Botanical Gardens. Now incorporating a stainless 'outside' Kitchen for night time, The Hidden Spirit offers holiday makers and locals alike a dining experience with a real point of difference on the island of Rarotonga. Specialising in fresh local produce (especially seafood) cooked in a local style but with a subtle influence of the Orient.Open:Monday-Friday 10am-4.30pmSaturday: Midday-4.30pmNights: Tuesday, Wednesday, Thursday: 6.30pm- 11.00pmBooking essential for night time grill.
Brisbane
Level Contributor
85 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“What a beautiful location”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We stopped in at the Hidden Spirit Café for morning tea. It is such a beautiful oasis. If you are an avid gardener, you will appreciate this garden. Even if you aren't once you see the before photos and experience the gardens, you will gain a real appreciation of this garden.

We had coffee and a juice and it was lovely especially having it in the gazebo that overlooked the garden.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Grace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    151
    75
    18
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“A hidden gem!”
Reviewed 17 May 2014

Absolutely loved this place. My partner and I visited on the last day of our holiday and were not disappointed. We only wished we had tried it earlier. The food was fresh and a healthy alternative to a lot of other places on rarotonga. Such a beautiful setting and helpful staff. Definitely recommend the lemon meringue cheesecake and the paw paw was amazing. If only we could bring this place to Australia!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank el2belcher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whangarei, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Hidden Treasure”
Reviewed 15 May 2014

We'll enjoy a stroll around the gardens but leave time to taste the wares from the Cafe
Fresh Island style tropical salad, yummy cheese cake and tropical smoothie All organic.
Another must do

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Doug S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
84 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Mostly organic - great food”
Reviewed 9 May 2014 via mobile

Beautiful setting and good healthy clean food. Talk of organic but I saw use of cleaning product and bug repellant - I'm sure the gardens are organic but awareness of total greenie practices wouldn't go amiss. Food was awesome - so nice to get some fresh green options served without fries :-). I do recommend!

Helpful?
Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phnom Penh, Cambodia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Spectacular.”
Reviewed 8 May 2014

The setting is etherial, just what you might imagine for your "South Pacific" experience! The gardens where you are served go on for acres, or hectares if you prefer, and are stunningly exotic with pools nd special tropical flower displays.....very impressive, although the chef in this case only rate a 6 or 7 out of a possible 10. (That was a rib eye, not a porterhouse, guys!) Still, never mind the misprinted menu, come here for the fest for the eyes as well.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank s1ag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Hidden Spirit Cafe & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing