We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Some harsh critics on a good fisherman!”

Captain Moko's Fishing Charters
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Capt Moko's Fishing Charters offers you a true fishing experience! A mad passionate fisherman himself,with more years experience than he will care to admt to, he will provide you with a half day or full day fishing. His boat, Tangaroa, is a NZ Osprey and the Tangaroa is full of top class gear, Penn, Shimano, Alutecnos to help you bring your yellow fin/mahimahi/wahoo/marlin on board!
Auckland
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Some harsh critics on a good fisherman!”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

I have been out with Capt Moko several times, and I think his personality has been taken the wrong way by some people who are quick to judge! He has never been aggressive or rude, and when he is taking control (or "snatching rods" as some have called it) he is doing so as he genuinely cares about his customers catching fish and having something to go home with. When we went out we caught several good size Tuna, which he filleted and gave us to take back to our hotel with us. We also had some raw tuna while sitting on the beach with his homemade sauce - beautiful!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank georgia101Auckland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    16
    6
    7
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Everything you read in the other reviews in true”
Reviewed 26 May 2014

My husband went on the charter with Captain Moko - we hadn't read trip advisor prior to booking, but were warned to read it after we made the booking. Which was good, so my husband knew what to expect.

Everything you read is correct. He is a fisherman that lacks communication skills - if you know what you are doing, which my husband did (luckily) you get by and can give it back to him. However if you haven't fished before, then I wouldn't suggest going on this charter. There are much better and more professional ones that factor in the 'novice' factor. We did try other charters to compare.

He does do anything to try and hook a fish, however his equipment is old and rusty and his boat is a true fisherman's boat.

As my title says, everything that you read in the other reviews is true.

Leave your sensitive side at home if you do choose to go out with Moko.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Grace88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Entertaining afternoon”
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

A good boat with experienced captain who's a bit of a character! Even though the fish weren't biting (saw heaps of Tuna jumping) the captain still made sure we went home with fish for tea. We are experienced fishers, the gear was all good - we were happy with our afternoon with Captain Moko

Helpful?
1 Thank Trish M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“You will catch fish”
Reviewed 19 January 2014

Leave your sensitive side on shore before getting one board! Captain Moko is a real character but pleasantries and easy communications are not on the agenda. We had an awesome time fishing (two 'young ladies' and a guy) but had more laughs after we had finished than on board. We laughed and laughed at the way he communicated with us while fishing which was funny in hindsight. Captain Moko is a man of few words who is not afraid to growl at you if you don't do something right but if you listen, follow instructions and act quickly when he tells you to, you will have an amazing fishing experience.
If you want to catch fish, he is your man. The boat was excellent and cut through the water beautifully. He knows what he is doing.
If you want to fish like a fun day out with relaxed chats and laughs, then pick another charter.
We were exhausted by the time we got back after catching 14 Yellow fin tuna and then one reef fish when jigging.
The big gear was too heavy for us girls and he kindly put us on lighter gear which we managed much better and still pulled in a 14kg Yellow Fin.
So if you are serious about catching fish, we think this is the man to go with.
NOT suitable for children in my opinion.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank birchwoodfarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Seriously consider other game fishing charters.”
Reviewed 21 December 2013

I did not feel like I was on a game fishing charter trip. instead I was simply treated like a deck hand, who is paying for the privilege to catch fish for his shop.

Captain Moko does not know how to communicate, instead he yells at you when you don't do what he is thinking. He doesn't explain what to do, or give any clear instruction. Instead panics snatching the rod from you because he fears losing the fish for his shop.

The whole point should be to catch your own fish and enjoy the trip, and if you lose the fish it's all part of the learning experience.

I caught a Tuna and a skippy.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
9 Thank CallingfromNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Captain Moko's Fishing Charters also viewed

Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Captain Moko's Fishing Charters? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing