We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Must lunch spot in Raro - we ate here 4 times in 7 days!!!”
Review of The Mooring

The Mooring
Ranked #1 of 100 Restaurants in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Takeout
Sydney, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Must lunch spot in Raro - we ate here 4 times in 7 days!!!”
Reviewed 4 December 2013

Funny, I can just see another review said the same thing. This really is because their food and service is excellent. My favourite was the Mahi Mahi salad: it comes with a paw paw salsa which has a little spice, a yummy dressing, loads of lettuce, tomato, cucumber and capsicum. My husband had a variety of the sandwiches (all $12): tuna, wahu steak, mahi mahi - all made on super fresh Turkish break. To drink - you can't go past the milkshakes - blended with Tip Top ice cream. The staff are really wonderful and Jill, the owner, remembered us each visit, which was surprise since they must serve a lot of people. Extra things you need to know: they are closed Saturday, which is fine because the markets are on in town. They are open Monday to Friday 9:30-3pm or so and noon to 4pm on Sunday. Being open on Sunday is fantastic because most of the island is closed on Sunday. A must visit! The fish is caught just there by the cafe, you can see charter boats coming in offloading this catch. Beautiful lagoon setting. I wish I was back there right now!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BlamboNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,773 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,499
    236
    28
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“The mooring never disappointing”
Reviewed 3 December 2013

The Mooring is a great spot and delicious sandwiches... Not normally a fish sandwich lover but love theirs! They also offer other menu items other than fish. Definitely filling the staff is friendly, just a great place to go for lunch. Love how they made the kitchen out of a cargo container. Try it I would be interested to know your thoughts on the place.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank holidayfuncalgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Darwin, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“I have to do it!”
Reviewed 1 December 2013

Just because we ate there 4 times in 7 days!! And always the same dish FOB or Fish on Burger soooo yummyyyyy. So pleased to enjoy this dish that didn't adventure anything else. Fish of choice? Tuna was great but after trying Mahi Mahi you will never change for anything else.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DIAMANTINA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spokane, Washington
Level 6 Contributor
264 reviews
160 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“Best fish sandwich ever”
Reviewed 28 November 2013

First word: Fresh. This is some of the freshest fish I have ever had — absolutely beautiful mahi mahi and tuna. The salads are enormous, with a hearty serving of fish on top and the sandwiches are jam-packed with meat. Not only is the fish amazing, but the bread is fluffy and the sauces create the perfect marriage of meat, carb, lettuce and tomato. These guys had just won another tourism award from Air New Zealand while we were there, and boy, do they deserve it!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank spankyandsarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Upper Hutt, Wellington, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great Spot for a Container”
Reviewed 27 November 2013

Found this restaurant from trip Advisor Reviews. Had to have lunch there when we visited n October 2013. Fabulous food as was the service & the location

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nigel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mooring also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to The Mooring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing