We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow!”

Pa's Treks Day Tours
Ranked #16 of 38 Tours in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: With his blonde dreadlocks and knowledge of local flora and fauna, Pa leads several interesting cross-island walks through rugged terrain.
Pacifica, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wow!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

We didn't know what to expect. This hike definitely requires good shoes, unless you're Pa. (he goes sans shoes) Make sure you bring water, mosquito repellant and a pair of good lungs! It was definitely a beautiful hike. Pa is very informative. We saw him on the road the next day, and he stopped to say hello!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank oh2blucy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    87
    36
    6
    4
    11
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Nelson, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Pa's cross-island trek”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2014

Good walk, great views from the top. I went with my wife, and others were picked up on the way around the island. Pa was informative about the flora and fauna, and full of jokes. Some of his stories seemed a bit doubtful, but that will keep you guessing. Pa provided the transport, arranging pickups from accommodation and returning you, provided fruit at the needles, and a tasty lunch of sandwiches and fruit at Wigmore's Waterfall. We had to wait quite a while for lunch to arrive as our trip had a mix of 12 fairly fit clients who completed the walk in 2+1/2 hours and got out before noon, despite a long break at The Needles eating fruit, taking photos, and listening to Pa's "tall" tales.
The route is well-beaten, but not blazed, and there are a couple of places where the track divides but there are no signs. I suspect the reason for this is to discourage walkers from doing the trip unguided on the cheap, without Pa! If you walk across unguided, you should allow some extra time for back-tracking if you take the wrong fork. Pick dry conditions if you can.
I got the distinct impression that if you sustained an injury, or serious illness, there is no backup apart from somebody volunteering to run out and raise the alarm: There appeared to be no mobile phone coverage in places, and Pa didn't seem to know what a PLB was (I had one in my daypack). Cook Islands has a MRCC, phone 682 224 99, or try NZ; RCCNZ, ph +64 4 577 8030.

A few days later I had a crack at Te Manga (653m) with a mate. This was considerably tougher, poorly marked and defined, slippery, and exposed where you cross sections of narrow, rocky ridges. For this trip you will need a good head for heights, good route-finding ability, and of course good agility and fitness. You should allow 5 hours, up and back. We were fortunate to be guided by 3 dogs, one with a leg missing! They picked us up at the carpark, and stayed with us all the way. And they did it for free!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank sail0r22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Walk across the island”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

Really enjoyed this hike across Rarotonga. Pa is very entertaining and the walk is beautiful. Lovely views, bush, no bird life unfortunately. Quite hard going in some places and slippery, prepare to come back muddy!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Penny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alice Springs, Australia
Level Contributor
38 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“The Pa's experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2014

on the 2nd of May we did the Cross Island Track with Pa. It has been an amazing experience, especially meeting this awesome character! Pa is an extraordinary 74 years old Rarotonga islander with a contagious smile, heaps of energy and knowledge. we had a great time walking with him and other few tourist up to the Needle. The walk is 4 hours long and at half way fresh fruit is provided by Pa and the day concludes with a simple lunch consisting of tasty sandwiches. Pa's day tour is definitely a must to do if you visit Rarotonga.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank UnAustralianno L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Not up to expectations”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2014

Pa was recommended to us for the cross island walk. But we were disappointed with how many people on the trip (~25) and the lack of commentary and stories. In s smaller group it may have been different.
Any NZ tramper could do this trip without a guide.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank ChrissieW132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pa's Treks Day Tours also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Pa's Treks Day Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing