We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Dunedin, New Zealand
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great time”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2013

We went for our ten year anniversary. Great beachside location, welcoming, helpful, friendly staff. We were a bit worried that there was no DVD player in the room but we absolutely did not miss it. We were too busy watching the sunsets on the deck, reading on the sun loungers and whizzing around on our scooter. I liked that there were family homes either side which made me feel like I had more of an authentic Rarotongan experience - watching the people gather seafood for tea and then cooking it up - something that you wouldn't see if you stayed in a big resort.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pigalina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

241 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    180
    52
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
143
18
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

We had a great time. Staff were super friendly and helpful. We had a beach front which was a little dated but I hear is as we speak being updated. Beds super comfortable and believe me we are fussy. Great to be able to uses the pool and facilities up till 4 pm before bar opens. Made it much more user friendly. All in all great holiday. Loved the no kids policy. Evening meals very competitive and the seafood chowder yum!
Peter rose from Wanganui NZ

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PRANSLEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

Myself, my sister and a friend visited Rarotonga and stayed at Castaway. It is a smaller venue which suited us perfectly as it was less commercialised, peaceful and the staff were fantastic and friendly. Michelle and Paul made our stay that much more special by going the extra mile in helping us out when we had a little mishap with our rental car key, which had left us feeling a little down, but our mood picked right up when Paul sorted it all out for us. We had a fresh tropical breakfast everyday which was wonderfully prepared by Paul, we had dinner on Mexican night where we ordered Nachos, Enchalada and Ika Mata (Raw fish) which was devine. We ate Ika Mata at two other places whilst on the island and Castaways was the best by far!! I would highly suggest Castaway to those wanting great and friendly service. Thanks Michelle & Paul - Teresa (Rach & Fav)

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teresa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, New South Wales, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My partner and I stayed here for the first week of our two week cook islands holiday- and it was fantastic- we didn't want to leave! Everything about this place is inviting... the location... the beach... the property... it was all delightful. The owners, Michelle and Paul, were extremely helpful and nothing was ever a problem! They change the menu of the restaurant daily meaning you can stay in for dinner every night if you desire. I am a vegetarian and lactose intolerant and they were only too happy to cater to my dietry requirements. If you are really lucky you can hear the chef sing as she cooks- her voice is beautiful! they also have a man come and do live music on the back deck which you can listen to as you drink their delicious cocktails and watch the sunset. We stayed in a lagoon front villa which was perfect- comfortable, roomy and kept very clean. The villa had a little deck which looked over the lagoon that we would often sit at of an arvo as we had a drink, talked about our day and relaxed. The breakfast bar was handy as we often just wanted something close to home. The pool is great if you want to relax away from the sand and have the option of shade under the umberellas.
Castaway is perfect for a romantic getaway, it is private, friendly and child free. There were couples here of all ages too- and everyone always seemed to be having a great time. We recommended this place to all of our family and friends and had nothing negative at all to say about our stay. Thankyou so much to Michelle and Paul- it truly was a pleasure to meet you both!

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesandLauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seal Beach, California, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 January 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed at 3 places for our 8 nights in Rarotonga and this was definitely the best value and if we come again, we would stay the entire time at the Castaway. Michelle is over the top delightful and Paul was hardworking and stayed on top of having everything available at breakfast. The place was clean, large, and having a kitchen really saved us money for a few meals which can be expensive eating out.
FYI - we also stayed at the Edgewater and the Rarotongan which are nice resorts, but not worth the extra money. The Rarotongan did have better snorkeling right at their beach, but you could take a bus to go there and save much more.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Linda S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 January 2013

My husband Kevin and I stayed for a week and had a lovely time, we would recommended this place to all our family and friends. We are planning on going back this year. Paul and Michelle are excellent hosts and will help with any queries you have. Nice pool to swim in and the bar righ beside it. Very relaxing and quiet, with no children a bonus.
Thanks Pam

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2013

my husband and I have just been staying at the castaway..We were very happy with it, very comfortable. Friendly and helpful staff who give gret informative advice on things to do, and will also book things for you.
The location is good (although not very close to Muri beach) but great place to chill without feeling like you are in one of the big resorts. The food is sublime! Overall we would highly recommend staying at the castaway resort.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Monique A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
4.5 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 143 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sunset Resort
Sunset Resort
#1 of 5 in Avarua
4.5 of 5 bubbles 616 reviews
0.6 mi away
Manuia Beach Resort
Manuia Beach Resort
#2 of 4 in Arorangi
4.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing