We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good solid stay”
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“good solid stay”
Reviewed 29 December 2013

great beach access and good food. very help full staff. bus stops right outside so no need for rental cars etc if you don't want to. air conditioning and local restaurants around who will pick up on a night time. can be a little noisy sometimes at night with local dogs etc

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank foodloverNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    56
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
149
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

What a beautiful destination. I was abit apprehensive as I don't do lazy holidays and thought I would be totally bored but quite the opposite. If you love the sea and good food this is the place to go. Castaway Resort is like nothing I have stayed at previously. So laid back and relaxed and nothing was a problem. Michelle and Paul are the best hosts. The food at Castaway is A+. Fresh and plentiful. Snorkling out in front of Wilsons Bar was the best we came across on the Island. We even had visitors in the form of dogs, chooks and a cat, not a problem. Had a beachfront apartment which was just superb. Live music on one night at Wilsons Bar was a bonus and the sunsets just beautiful. You can mix with other guests or have a quiet drink on your own - your choice with no hassles. Seriously, if you want R&R this is the place to go. Would highly recommend Castaway - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albion Park, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Returned from this amazing part of the world last Saturday. This review has to begin with what made this one the most memorable holidays of our life. It was our wonderful hosts Paul and Michelle, they are a wealth of knowledge regarding Raro and we left feeling like we were leaving friends. We travelled with another couple and were in beachfront villas 6 & 7. If you want direct beachfront ask for 7 or 8. The resort is comfortable and the swimming pool is always sparkling and inviting. Breakfast was always a laugh with Paul and talk of the roosters. The snorkelling at the resort is great. Forget the snorkel the fish come for a look as soon as you enter the crystal clear water. We ate there for the BBQ, Mexican and pizza nights and food was really good. Beach bar is good and sunsets to die for. Thank you again Paul and Michelle we will be back for sure. Aussies get to Raro it is a hidden gem.

Room Tip: For beachfront units select 7 or 8. 6 and 7 are more like ocean view - still awesome.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We spent 8 nights at Castaway and would not hesitate to return. With its idyllic beach, friendly staff and excellent location its perfect for a romantic getaway. The food is very good, in particular the barbeque night and seafood night. We stayed in a beachfront studio and would highly recommend. The owners paul and michelle are great hosts and cannot do enough for their guests. From the outside it doesn't have the look of the big resorts, but inside it offers a whole lot more...

Room Tip: Beach front bungalow
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jaypeel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Summerland, California
1 review
Reviewed 17 November 2013

We just spent 6 days at the Castaway where Michelle, Paul and their entire staff did everything imaginable to make our stay comfortable and relaxed. Our room was quiet and comfortable and absolutely tidy. Really, we could not have asked for nicer accommodations or more gracious hosts. Guests from Sweden saw humpback whales just beyond the reef, from the deck of their room and Barb saw a sea turtle, while snorkeling just off the Castaway's beach, along with an astonishing variety of colorful fish.

Room Tip: Room 11 is upstairs so probably a little more private.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

We stayed at The Castaway Resort from 5.11.13 to 12.11.13. We were very pleased with the accommodation. Michelle and Paul and all of the staff were very warm and welcoming.
They are situated close to all amenaties, with a dairy across the road, a Car & Bike Hire business just a 10 minute walk towards town, and the city center of Avarua and the Airport less than 10 minutes by Car. There are also several good restaurants close by on the beach. All within walking distance and reasonably priced, open for lunch & dinner.
The room was clean and well appointed.The Restaurant by the pool was outstanding, the food was cooked to perfection and well priced. The drinks were yummy. The sunsets on the beach at Crusoe's Bar were dreamy. You can have a quiet, restful stay or you can mix and mingle with the other guests, the choice is all yours.
There are so many good things about this resort, but THE best for us was the beach and the snorkeling. We would snorkel & swim in the mornings, with so many fish to see in the lagoon we would hand feed them bread for that close up encounter. By far this was the easiest and safest spot we found for swimming & snorkeling, and it was less than 60 seconds from out room!.
We found the price for our accommodation to be very reasonable.
We had 7 days in Paradise and it was so enjoyable we are planning to go back again next year.

Room Tip: Rooms come with air con and ceiling fans as well as insect screens. Rooms at the front are more shel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Melissa E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubbo
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2013

This was the first time I had travelled on my own in 30 years. I couldn't have made a better choice than Castaway Resort. Michelle & Paul made me feel very welcome & safe. The rooms are spacious & well supplied. The restaurant at the resort is excellent, with a different menu each night. BBQ night on Sunday is great opportunity to get to know other guests. Watching the sunset over the ocean from Wilson's bar, right on the beach is a highlight. If you're feeling brave, order a Big Kahuna cocktail! Liz in the office is a font of local knowledge & booking tours is a breeze. I spent 3 weeks there & was never bored. The location of the resort is ideal & Michelle & Paul have assembled a great team. Keep up the good work! I'm already planning my return.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Carol F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
6.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing