We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Resort and Friendly Staff - Paradise”
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 January 2014

We loved our stay at the Castaway Resort New Year 2013/14. The Beach front studio was beautiful, clean and comfortable with a lovely view of the beach from our patio. The beach bar was great to sit back, relax and watch the sunsets. The restaurant food was delicious so we ate here three nights, great pasta and beautiful fresh seafood platers. A definite bonus to staying in a smaller resort was getting to know the people at Castaway. The Staff are wonderful, really friendly and helpful. Michelle and Liz in Reception gave us great advise on what to do around the island, where to eat, snorkel and trek. Paul and the restaurant/bar staff where friendly and helped make our trip one to remember. We will definitely return to the castaway resort and will recommend it to our family and friends.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Finnvalley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (259)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

180 - 186 of 259 reviews

Reviewed 17 January 2014

We stayed at Castaway Resort for our honeymoon for 5 nights and I wish we had stayed longer. Michelle is the most helpful person ever and is a great owner who goes out of her way to help you. Paul had many travel tips and knew everyone staying at Castaway.

Castaway is very well priced compared to other beach side accomodations and is very clean and comfortable while being cheaper and more friendly than luxury resorts. It's very small (12 rooms) and you can get to know the other guests if you want but there is also the privacy to just stay to yourself if you'd like. The rooms aren't directly on the beach but they are just steps from the beach and each room has at least a small balcony or porch. It's small enough that you can always find a beach lounger or pool lounge chair.

Castaway is directly on the west side of the Island and is the perfect place to watch the sunset or to go out later to watch the stars. Paul and Michelle offered us rides, gave us champagne and have a great staff at Castaway Resort. If you are looking for a relaxed atmosphere this is a great place to stay. The food is really good as well even though we went out for many meals to other places and also cooked a lot in the kitchenette in our room too.

There is a Chinese takeout place directly across the street as well as a small grocery store right across the way. There are multiple groceries within a mile and the tourist bus stops right out front.

Rarotonga is a small island and everything is pretty accessible and we were very happy to stay where we did at Castaway. It was cleaner, more friendly and nicer than many other similiarly priced places that we visited.

Room Tip: We stayed in Room 11 and it was great and had a private balcony. All of the rooms have A/C but if yo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2014

Paul and Michelle were wonderful hosts and took care of all their guests. The resort was at full capacity, however very quiet and relaxing. The noisy Roosters have been taken care of, which makes for a restful stay. Great beach bar to sit back and watch the sunsets.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Darren N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 January 2014

We loved it at Castaways, our hosts, Paul and Michelle were extremely helpful when it came advice
About what to do and where to go. It was like a post card setting. Absolutely beautiful. We will go back, the best short break ever. It was very relaxing and we were amazed by the tropical fish right at our feet, so beautiful.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 January 2014

We absolutely love this little hideaway. Very small and simple with lovely garden to walk through on the way to the beach. We did not stay here but looked over the room details while visiting the beach bar/restaurant and would definitely plan a stay here. It's a very special little spot. Dropped by for a sunset cocktail and were greeted and welcomed very graciously by the proprietor. We happened on a night when the bar theme food was pizza. We ordered the meat lovers pizza and it was fabulous! Cocktails were delicious and we loved listening to the two musicians. An added plus for us. We were not expecting entertainment. The sunset . . . well just look at my photos. Spectacular. I would recommend this place.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank snowbirds259
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 December 2013

great beach access and good food. very help full staff. bus stops right outside so no need for rental cars etc if you don't want to. air conditioning and local restaurants around who will pick up on a night time. can be a little noisy sometimes at night with local dogs etc

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank foodloverNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2013

What a beautiful destination. I was abit apprehensive as I don't do lazy holidays and thought I would be totally bored but quite the opposite. If you love the sea and good food this is the place to go. Castaway Resort is like nothing I have stayed at previously. So laid back and relaxed and nothing was a problem. Michelle and Paul are the best hosts. The food at Castaway is A+. Fresh and plentiful. Snorkling out in front of Wilsons Bar was the best we came across on the Island. We even had visitors in the form of dogs, chooks and a cat, not a problem. Had a beachfront apartment which was just superb. Live music on one night at Wilsons Bar was a bonus and the sunsets just beautiful. You can mix with other guests or have a quiet drink on your own - your choice with no hassles. Seriously, if you want R&R this is the place to go. Would highly recommend Castaway - you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dawn388
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 January 2017

Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
3.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
3.4 mi away
Palm Grove
Palm Grove
#1 of 1 in Vaimaanga
566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
163 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
5.2 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#3 of 5 in Avarua
231 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 80 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: £93 - £177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
FINALIST IN THE 2016 AIR NEW ZEALAND COOK ISLANDS TOURISM AWARDS Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing