We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Place to Stay in Cook Islands”
Review of Castaway Resort

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Castaway Resort
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Barbara, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Place to Stay in Cook Islands”
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Three weeks in the Cooks, four different resorts, and Castaway was our favorite by far. It is the sort of place to come back to year, after year. The main reason-the people. They are friendly, helpful, warm, inviting, and fun. There is a restaurant for dinner and a bar which opens in the mid afternoon. A kitchen area in the rooms allow for flexibility. There is a little store across the street where you can purchase provisions. Although you can snorkel right in front of the resort at high tide, a great area is only a 5 min scooter/20 min walk away.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PassportReady2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    185
    56
    5
    4
    0
See reviews for
28
149
19
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (94)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Its been a month since my son and I returned from having a fantastic holiday at Castaway in Rarotonga. Michelle and Paul were the X Factor on our holiday. They present a well organised family friendly business, always putting customer needs first and going the extra mile to make your holiday the best.
In our case their generosity extended to driving us to town to pick up a vehicle to rent, ringing the airport to find my computer which I had left in the plane, and allowing us to use our room up until we left for the airport. Their knowledge of the local business, entertainment and tourist attractions was always on the button and helped us to get the most out of our limited time in Rarotonga. This attitude extended to all the staff who were equally friendly and genuinely committed to making our stay the best. The quaint boutique resort is warmly presented with soft colorings and comfortable furnishings, the outdoor areas are beautifully presented and kept immaculate. The resort offers several gems; one never tires of the continental breakfast featuring the delicious home grown fruits of Rarotonga, the outstanding food offered at the Restaurant each night, the yummy bar snacks, an exclusive area for great snorkeling, and last but not least "Wilsons' Beach Bar".
Put this melting pot of care, kindness and comfort and wrap it with the warmth of sunshine, and sunsets and you will have the ultimate holiday at Castaway. Im going back next year.

Room Tip: We were really delighted with our upstairs room can easily sleep a couple with teenagers, or just a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 27Rosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 September 2014

This was our first time in Rarotonga and we couldn't be happier with our choice of resort. The room was clean, spacious and had everything we needed, Wilsons beach bar was a great place to spend the evening and we really enjoyed the restaurant food. Paul and Michelle were wonderful and all the staff helpful and friendly. The relatively small size of the resort suited us down to the ground, and the only thing that could have been better was the weather!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harry1939
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Te Anau, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2014

We were lucky to stay here from August 25 - August 31 2014. The weather was perfect and the accommodation in the two bedroom unit above the office (5B) was exactly what we needed for a family of two parents and our two sons 20 and 21 who we dragged away from the cold winter in Dunedin. A couple of things we learnt - Wifi - buy credit for the telecom hotspot from the shop across the road - we bought $25 for 500MB much cheaper than the Zenbu and it works from the pool side back to the road so we were able to sit in our room and use it. We did the bus thing for the first day or two but when we finally relented and hired a scooter (2) it was heaps of fun and when we wanted to go somewhere we didn't have to wait for the next bus (which always seemed to take forever). Just do it - the longer the hire the cheaper the daily rate so if we had rented when we got there it would probably have cost about the same.

Room Tip: Front rooms get wifi access from the telecom hot spot across the road
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tinny D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paraparaumu, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

We have recently returned from Rarotonga and stayed 10 nights at the Castaway. Michelle and Paul are amazing. They are so friendly and certainly make you feel very welcome. We had a lovely villa which looked over the pool as well as overlooking the ocean. It is very clean. The restaurant was great, especially the BBQ on Sunday nights. The staff are very efficient and friendly.Would stay there again if we went back to Rarotonga.

Room Tip: Back from the beach is quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank crowebird2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tauranga, New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2014

12 unit resort - was very friendly, especially owner/managers Michelle and Paul. Road frontage plain but as we walked it became a holiday paradise. Units very well appointed and clean. Restaurant lovely, beach bar great plus a kebab evening every night. Lots of outsiders came every evening to join in drinks, food and watch the sun set. Bus stop outside and resort fully serviced with events etc. It would be half way round the island from Avarua.
Great place and being so small you got go be so friendly with other guests. We would stay there again

Room Tip: We had a beachfront studio, a stones throw from the water and close to the facilities. Nice and qui...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeggles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have just returned from 7 nights at Castaway. We have stayed in Rarotonga twice before at 2 different places. Paul and Michelle at Castaway are the epitome of great hosts, and they both work hard to accommodate all your needs. They are very flexible with allowing you, where possible, to stay in your room for as much of the last day so you don't have to spend hours "hanging around" waiting for your airport transfer. The staff are so nice, and the smallness of the resort makes for a great sense of privacy. Bed was very comfortable, pillows too! Room spotless! Breakfast was a lovely, leisurely start to the day, meeting other guests. Wilson's beach bar is a fabulous spot for whale watching and amazing sunset photos. Great happy hour drinks and kebabs, worth trying the tuna with wasabi mayonnaise! Restaurant meals change nightly and really up there, thanks Anita and Eileen for looking after us. When you are fully aware that your holiday impressions are highly influenced by where you stay, and the people you meet, Castaway is tops!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bryan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CastawayTeam, Owner at Castaway Resort, responded to this review, 25 January 2017
Thank you very much for your review! Your feedback is greatly appreciated. We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and hope to host you again in future :)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
3.2 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
6.5 mi away
Muri Beach Club Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Aro'a Beachside Inn
Aro'a Beachside Inn
#3 of 4 in Arorangi
157 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
1.8 mi away
The Rarotongan Beach Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Castaway Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Castaway Resort

Property: Castaway Resort
Address: Arorangi, Cook Islands (Formerly Castaway Beach Villas)
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Castaway Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Castaway Resort - located on the sunset and sheltered west coast of Rarotonga, this small adult only resort offers fully self catering accommodation at cost effective rates. Featuring a mix of rooms and villas with views over the pool, white sandy beach, and pristine lagoon, Castaway has something to suit any traveller. All rooms are air conditioned for comfort and are equipped with full amenities. Castaway boasts two restaurants and bars; poolside dining at Crusoes Restaurant & Bar with a themed night menu or dine on the beach with your toes dipped in the sand at Wilsons Beach Bar, fantastic beach location, relaxed ambience, swimming pool, complimentary daily tropical breakfast, snorkelling equipment, kayak, and beach towels. In walking distance to nearby restaurants, car rental companies, and a convenience store located opposite the Resort for your last minute supplies or grocery needs. Onsite parking is available with access to street parking nearby. A bus stop is located directly outside the resort for guests who want to take a bus ride to main town Avarua or a circle tour of the island. Castaway Resort was voted a finalist in the Air New Zealand Cook Islands Tourism Industry Awards in 3 categories; Best Self Contained 3 Star Property, Best Bar & Restaurant, and Best Customer Service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Odigeo, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Castaway Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castaway Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing