We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue View”

Ranked #12 of 66 things to do in Rarotonga
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Vancouver Island
Level Contributor
78 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Blue View”
Reviewed 23 January 2013

What a spectacular spot. All the snorkeling in the area was great however, the fish in this area were so friendly and there were a lot more things to poke around at. ie shells, nooks and crannies. Could see for a good distance the day we were there.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Soudini
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    94
    25
    5
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Rarotonga, Cook Islands
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“great”
Reviewed 30 December 2012

great place to go snorkelling as there is alot of marine life...very beautiful white sandy beaches and a quiet place to go swimming with the family

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank NTTK1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
563 reviews
282 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 437 helpful votes
“Good range of fish, extremely accessible”
Reviewed 18 December 2012

This reserve was only a short walk from where we stayed so we chose to go snorkeling here rather than further afield. The water is shallow enough in most places that standing up is always an option if you are worried about breathing. The bottom is (mostly) quite sandy and the beach is very pleasant. We were warned that stone fish are a (rare) possibility, so to look down before standing up.

There is a very good range of fish, although not in large numbers. The further out you go, the more broken the coral (wave action I guess) and the fewer the fish. When we were there, water clarity was very good.

We enjoyed it!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank ActRegular_traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reno, Nevada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Clearest water and friendliest fish.”
Reviewed 7 December 2012

During our two-week stay on Raro we tried many areas of the lagoon but this one had the clearest water and most abundant and friendly fish. I'm sure the fish are fed regularly since they check out each new person who swims by. There also seemed to be more healthy looking coral here than in many other places. If you are not staying at the Rarotongan Resort there is public beach access west of the resort.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Katlian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Australia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great snorkelling”
Reviewed 5 December 2012

Went snorkelling here from the Sanctuary resort and was a great range of fish close to the shore and not many people in the water. Would recommend as a snorkelling location.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bigtrip14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aroa Marine Reserve also viewed

 
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
Rarotonga, Southern Cook Islands
 

Been to Aroa Marine Reserve? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing