We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful spot”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitesands Beach Villas
Reviewed 5 April 2011

Our holiday was wonderful. The villas, exactly as the internet portrayed. The villas are wonderfully positioned - less wind than just up the beach, great snorkling right in front of the villas and wonderful weather.

The only bad comments we can make was the bedding and linen was very stained - not what you expect from a $250.00 per night stay.

We sadly did not see our hosts either. Nobody contacted us on the day we were due to leave to thank us for our stay. We simply shut the door, put the key on the hook as advised (after we had rung to find out what we needed to do) and we left for the airport.

The local roosters also drove us nuts. They started at 2am and went through until 8am. Made for a very broken sleep.

After looking around at all the other hotels and locations along the beach we realised we had picked one of the very best locations.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Puffnmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
There are newer reviews for Whitesands Beach Villas
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 39 reviews

Reviewed 11 December 2010

We stayed here for a few days before moving to a bigger house to stay with a larger group but really wished we had stayed at Whitesands for our entire holiday.
Ive stayed at a couple of other places in Raro in the past and have never found anywhere as impecibly clean as this place.
Don and May are wonderful hosts who have included so many little things around their villas, you really couldnt ask for more.
In addition to the amazing location (literally right on the white sand beach with some of the best snorkling on the island) we were also surprised by Don bringing round some fresh tuna and May dropping of a huge basket of fresh tropical fruits.
Will definately book this place again next time I visit Raro

  • Stayed: November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bluegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2010

We actually stayed at the Beach house directly behind Whitesands, called Mii's Beach House. It was my 4th trip to Raro, and in the past I had always stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa.

Mii's Beach House was a very roomy house and offered all of the basic needs for us and another small family with a baby.

The house is basic, but very clean and well presented. It has good cooking facilities and plenty of fans to keep that hot tropical air moving. It has a washing machine, CD player, TV, and plenty of doors that open to let the air flow through.

The fresh pawpaw and banana and filtered water from Don & May was a welcomed treat.

There are a couple of bedrooms though that would benefit from screen doors, as then they can be left open and any nasty mozzies can be kept out.

Don and May were frequently popping by, and always followed up on any requests we had. Wonderful hosts, and a beach house with a wonderful and safe beach.

Its a bit of a walk to other places like Muri, but there are options for the bus, scooters, or a cheap rental car which is what we opted for.

On a completely separate note though, with Tuna and other fish so cheap in the Cook Islands, we investigated bringing 5 Kg of fish back into New Zealand. Some places do Tuna as cheap as $7/kg, but even at $20/kg it is a bargain. We ordered this through Ocean Fresh (about 150m up the road from the airport), and they packaged it up into a mini-chilly bin. We actually then packed this box into our chilly bin. Made it through Customs with no problems, they just like to have a look to see how it is packaged. Ice packs were still frozen some 15 hours after when we finally made it home.

Ocean Fresh pack it very well, the fish cuts are excellent, and if you pre-order they will ensure you get the fish at its freshest before you leave!

Happy holidaying!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Roy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed at White Sands for seven nights with three families and really enjoyed our stay. The units were keeped so clean and the surrounding beach and gardens. They were the most well stocked apartments i have ever stayed at all the liitle things had been though of. White Sands is in a truly beautiful spot they only thing that went wrong was the weather but it made for excellent mud buggying. I would recommend having a few BBQs in the area provided

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank outriggermichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2010

This was our fourth trip to Rarotonga and our third time at the WhiteSands Beach Villas- when we arrive it is like we are at our second home. Don and May are great hosts and go out of their way to make sure you have a very enjoyable holiday. The Villas are right on the water with fantastics views of the coral reef, you can watch the fish swiming inside the reef from the deck.The beach is white sand, clean and goes for miles , if you like to walk there is no better place than this. Rarotonga is a South Pacific Island that has charm and the local people are fantastic. Your host also has a fishing charter service and the fishing has been great over the years. We are planning on returing again and the only place we wil stay is at The White Sands Beach Villas.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jack1947
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2010

The villas are right beside the beach, lovely views, snorkelling 10m from villa, used the outdoors BBQ nightly and it was even cleaned for us. Roomy, everything well thought out and maintained. Requested a change of shower head, not a problem, done same day(!!). Many thanks Don and May (our hosts). You will need transport to get to other villages, but the mopeds are cheap and convenient. We will be back! PS Good coffee at Deli-licious in nearby Muri and at the Beachcomber Gallery near Avarua.

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumnerboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 September 2009

We arrived for two weeks of pure bliss at Whitesands Resorts in July/Aug 09 and cant rate the place highly enough. We came as a large group of 10 and this was absolutely perfect for us all. The house were well stocked with tea/cofee/milk/fruits half the things we brought from NZ we didnt even need. The houses are right on the beach front and spacious and very tidy. Don and his team were excellent and we can definetly recommend this place. After visiting Edgewater/Club raro/Muri beach club why waste your time in a resort of screaming children when you can chill on your own private deck watching the sun set!

  • Stayed: July 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
1.9 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.2 mi away
Makayla Palms
Makayla Palms
#3 of 12 in Titikaveka
386 reviews
0.2 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#2 of 12 in Titikaveka
345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Arorangi
200 reviews
0.2 mi away
Bella Beach Bungalows
Bella Beach Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Titikaveka
88 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#9 of 17 in Muri
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitesands Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitesands Beach Villas

Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: £144 - £160 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whitesands Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitesands Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing