We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Whitesands Beach Villas
UK
Level Contributor
112 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
“Perfect.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 September 2012

I hardly like to tell you how nice this is just in case when I try to go back I can’t get in because you are there already. This was our third trip to Rarotonga. We have stayed in three different places and this is our favourite so far. We travelled as a family group of four.
Pros:
• Location. About 20 minutes drive from the airport. Great part of the island. Sunsets can be viewed off to your right hand side. Swimming and snorkling is good. We saw whales breeching beyond the reef from our balcony. You are tucked up right on the beautiful beach with coconut palms waving about. Paddling about in the kayak was fabulous, fish were jumping all around us.
• Villa. Absolutely everything you could want and more. The interior feels like a little like a well loved New Zealand bach when you go in but the thought that has gone into providing you with everything you might need is impressive. This is a place to relax and feel at home. Very very comfortable beds, with additional extra fluffy rugs if you are chilly. Big complementary water bottle which lasted our 4 days, lovely island fruit, all the positive things that have been mentioned by others. Just fabulous. Outside there is a communal barbecue area so Whitesands is perfect for larger family groups to rent as there is plenty of accommodation for larger groups to get together whilst being able to get away to their own space. I might also add that the magazines in our villa were a great touch. My daughters and I were able to get completely up to speed with all the celebrity gossip. We were also presented with the most amazing tuna from Don. Incredible all round.
Cons: None

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Annie2008UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    30
    3
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
14
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Plymouth, N. Z.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2012

What a perfect piece of "paradise"!.. We loved the "absolute beachfront" of the Whitesands Villas - they're sitting on the sand! We just walked off our deck - down 5 steps on to the beautiful beach - stepped a couple of metres and our toes were in the sparkling blue lagoon...

The villa was spacious, very comfortable and very clean- and well equipped with everything we needed - even down to the serviettes, toothpicks, and a lemon squeezer ! The fruit bowl on arrival, milk in fridge, filtered water, coffee, tea, sugar all supplied..Modern kitchen with plenty of crockery, glasses and utensils. Big BBQ area - handy for cooking and entertaining as well. Oh, free phone too for making enquiries and bookings, better than $2 minute@ hotels

A good bed, nice clean linen and plenty of big fluffy towels - it felt like "Home away from home"

We loved the tranquility and privacy of the place - yet just a few kilometres up the road at Muri Beach one could enjoy the buzz of all the tourist activities... and... just a few kilometres down or "clockwise" we drove just a short distance to the evening shows at the top resorts!!

Villas are in a great location on the island. We loved the fish sandwiches at "the Moorings" and the best Latte coffees on the island at Miros - they're both just up the road in Muri.

The only thing wrong was the weather - sadly our 4 day stay was wet and stormy so we didn't get to enjoy the kayak and the snorkels, flippers, sandshoes and all that was provided for "fun in the sun" - better luck on our next stay at Whitesands with Don and May, the very generous hosts who have added the "little extras" - we are recommending "Whitesands" to our friends...

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Lorraine243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2011

Our group had the 4 villas for a week and it was a perfect spot. Big with heaps of space, clean, well appointed and well serviced. A nice deck for lounging. Good barbecue area for communal stuff and boozing at night. A nice sandy beach at the door and the lagoon is safe as for snorkeling and swimming with a good variety of fish (best snorkeling is 1 km towards Muri). Just a short walk along the beach for morning java. Had trouble getting to sleep with the noise of the surf on the reef - bugger. Don & May were nice hosts - friendly, helpful and discreet. Thanks.

Room Tip: Downstairs bedroom is quieter than the mezzanine
See more room tips
Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
Helpful?
4 Thank MacPackNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palmerston North
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 April 2011

Our holiday was wonderful. The villas, exactly as the internet portrayed. The villas are wonderfully positioned - less wind than just up the beach, great snorkling right in front of the villas and wonderful weather.

The only bad comments we can make was the bedding and linen was very stained - not what you expect from a $250.00 per night stay.

We sadly did not see our hosts either. Nobody contacted us on the day we were due to leave to thank us for our stay. We simply shut the door, put the key on the hook as advised (after we had rung to find out what we needed to do) and we left for the airport.

The local roosters also drove us nuts. They started at 2am and went through until 8am. Made for a very broken sleep.

After looking around at all the other hotels and locations along the beach we realised we had picked one of the very best locations.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Puffnmuff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blenheim, New Zealand
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2010

We stayed here for a few days before moving to a bigger house to stay with a larger group but really wished we had stayed at Whitesands for our entire holiday.
Ive stayed at a couple of other places in Raro in the past and have never found anywhere as impecibly clean as this place.
Don and May are wonderful hosts who have included so many little things around their villas, you really couldnt ask for more.
In addition to the amazing location (literally right on the white sand beach with some of the best snorkling on the island) we were also surprised by Don bringing round some fresh tuna and May dropping of a huge basket of fresh tropical fruits.
Will definately book this place again next time I visit Raro

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bluegum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 October 2010

We actually stayed at the Beach house directly behind Whitesands, called Mii's Beach House. It was my 4th trip to Raro, and in the past I had always stayed at the Rarotongan Beach Resort and Spa.

Mii's Beach House was a very roomy house and offered all of the basic needs for us and another small family with a baby.

The house is basic, but very clean and well presented. It has good cooking facilities and plenty of fans to keep that hot tropical air moving. It has a washing machine, CD player, TV, and plenty of doors that open to let the air flow through.

The fresh pawpaw and banana and filtered water from Don & May was a welcomed treat.

There are a couple of bedrooms though that would benefit from screen doors, as then they can be left open and any nasty mozzies can be kept out.

Don and May were frequently popping by, and always followed up on any requests we had. Wonderful hosts, and a beach house with a wonderful and safe beach.

Its a bit of a walk to other places like Muri, but there are options for the bus, scooters, or a cheap rental car which is what we opted for.

On a completely separate note though, with Tuna and other fish so cheap in the Cook Islands, we investigated bringing 5 Kg of fish back into New Zealand. Some places do Tuna as cheap as $7/kg, but even at $20/kg it is a bargain. We ordered this through Ocean Fresh (about 150m up the road from the airport), and they packaged it up into a mini-chilly bin. We actually then packed this box into our chilly bin. Made it through Customs with no problems, they just like to have a look to see how it is packaged. Ice packs were still frozen some 15 hours after when we finally made it home.

Ocean Fresh pack it very well, the fish cuts are excellent, and if you pre-order they will ensure you get the fish at its freshest before you leave!

Happy holidaying!

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Roy046
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wollongong, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 July 2010

We stayed at White Sands for seven nights with three families and really enjoyed our stay. The units were keeped so clean and the surrounding beach and gardens. They were the most well stocked apartments i have ever stayed at all the liitle things had been though of. White Sands is in a truly beautiful spot they only thing that went wrong was the weather but it made for excellent mud buggying. I would recommend having a few BBQs in the area provided

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank outriggermichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
2.4 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel & Villas
0.2 mi away
Makayla Palms
Makayla Palms
#3 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 376 reviews
0.6 mi away
Bella Beach Bungalows
Bella Beach Bungalows
#6 of 12 in Titikaveka
4.5 of 5 bubbles 85 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Royale Takitumu
Royale Takitumu
#2 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 333 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sea Change Villas
Sea Change Villas
#1 of 12 in Titikaveka
5.0 of 5 bubbles 699 reviews
5.1 mi away
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Arorangi
5.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Whitesands Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Whitesands Beach Villas

Property: Whitesands Beach Villas
Address: Titikaveka, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #34 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Whitesands Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Whitesands Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing