We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The most amazing wedding/holiday imaginable!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kakera Villa Apartments
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Its so hard to describe how pleased we are that we chose Apartments Kakera for our wedding venue and holiday accommodation in Rarotonga. For us, it was completely perfect in every way. The accommodation is just spot on, and something that is unique to the island. We had booked out all 3 apartments for all of our family, with myself and my now husband in Apartment Pepe. It is very private, modern and a place that we could easily call home for the week that we stayed there. The deck on the beach is a great little getaway spot at the beach is really private, and it's very relaxing to sit out on and hear the waves crash. What made Apartments Kakera so special is the service provided by Melinda, Andrew and Chris- anything they can help with they will, even if it is just questions about what time things begin, or recommendations on places to eat. It was so nice not to be just another room number, they were willing to do anything to make our stay more enjoyable.
Even more amazing was Melinda's ability to create a wedding day for my husband and I that we will never forget. We had 37 guests at our wedding, all of whom have raved to us about the wedding day, including the great food, decorations and feeling of the reception area, all of which I can thank Melinda and Andrew for. Melinda had a great way of making me feel so calm about the day, and I had great confidence in her ability to do everything needed for our day. Things that I had never even thought of Melinda had sorted, and it was no problem to her when I had last minute requests, such as additional flower arrangements and hair. We cannot thank them enough for everything they did to make our wedding day so amazing. We really did feel a part of the whole family by the end of our stay, and we all can't wait to go back!!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (50)
There are newer reviews for Kakera Villa Apartments
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

27 - 33 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 22 October 2011

From the moment we arrived we felt welcome here. Nothing was ever too much to ask of Melinda and Andrew. We were here to get married and I honestly don't think we could have asked for a more beautiful perfect day. We never had a problem with roosters or children as I noticed some others had.we liked the feel of the place and the fact it was like home unlike resorts where u are crammed with others. Chris went above and beyond with the cleaning we wanted to clone him and bring him home. Overall we certainly left feeling like we couldn't have had a more perfect wedding/honeymoon. Melinda's hit cakes and prawn and paw paw salad are to die for. We will def be bringing the kids back :-)

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Shannii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 September 2011

We really enjoyed our stay in Apartment PePe and would highly recommend it to anyone considering staying. Melinda, Andrew, & Chris were excellent hosts and made us feel at home.

  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2011

This is a lovely place, right by a protected beach, each apartment has it's own pool, very refreshing after the heat of the day. Lovely staff, over all a lovely stay.
I recommend the snorkelling at the far end of muri beach

  • Stayed: August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Qwertyr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2011

We have just enjoyed the most relaxing 8 days in the Cook Islands.
From the moment we arrived at Apartments Karkera, we were made to feel very welcome by the most lovliest hosts Melinda & Andrew and their family.

The location is great, not too far from the main town and close to the gorgeous Muri lagoon, where you will not find a more beautful spot to cool off.
There are small supply shops within walking distance, but a car or bike is recommended to get around and explore this wonderful part of the world. The cost for this is well priced and Melinda & Andrew were more than happy to organise it for us.

The apartment was so clean, spacious & comfortable, we felt like we were at home, if there was any thing that we needed though, it was attentively bought to our apartment.
Lots of little touches were waiting for us when we arrived & Melinda's pancakes the next morning were delightful.
The apartment is stocked with every kind of magazine ever published, plenty of DVD's & an assortment of board games, which we enjoyed playing together as a family at night.
It was great also to be able to wash & dry clothes when you are away for more than a few days.
The beach at Kakera is great for fossicking, a great deck to take the bean bags out, read a book & watch the waves roll in. Great for surfing, just a little way up is a sandy area for a paddle. There are reef shoes & snorkling gear avaliable to be able explore.

We loved living like the locals, finding places to eat & shopping for local produce. The bananas & paw paws are like nothing you will taste in Australia.

We found many great places to eat, the kids favourite was the "Flying Boat" which had the best fish & chips, beautifully battered local fish & golden chips.
The supermarkets were well stocked, the imported processed foods were alot more expensive than home, but is what you would expect on an island. We bought a suitcase full of munchies such as lollies, chocolate & biscuits with us, which we were pleased we did.
My husband & son enjoyed going to the local rugby matches in the afternoons late in the week, a bit of fun mixing with the local families.

There are a few adventures that you can do on the island, but we were happy just to completely relax and enjoy the sun & the sand. I have never had such a relaxing time on hoildays.
If you are like us and are a bit over sharing resort facilites with loads of others, Apartments Kakera are for you. We found that we explored more of Rarotonga by staying there, as you find when in a resort you tend not to venture out as much.

You leave Kakera feeling refreshed and relaxed, knowing that you now have special memories & friends from the Cook Islands.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sammyb71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 August 2010

We stayed at Apartment Karanga [family sized apartment] as their couple sized one was booked out. With two huge bedrooms and a spacious lounge/ dining/kitchen, there was more than enough space for the two of us. Would be the perfect place for a family or group of friends to stay. Clean, modern and spacious. Shallow plunge pool is very shallow, only good for toe dipping. Our hosts Andrew and Melinda are very friendly and helpful without being intrusive.

As the place already has glowing reviews from everyone, I'd just like to touch on the two areas that were not perfect.

There is a school right next door so if you are the type to sleep in really late, that might bother you in the mornings.

And the family apartment does not have an air con option, will not be a problem if you don't mind throwing the doors/windows open for the wonderful sea breeze but as my partner is a mosquito magnet, wasn't the best scenario for us. So we had windows shut, plug in repellants upstairs, downstairs and emptied a can of Raid during our stay. Walls upstairs are not full height so you can't shut off the room completely. Also used the mosquito netting around the bed at night.

Definitely highly recommended as a great value for money modern facility and fantastic friendly service. Wouldn't hesitate to point family and friends in their direction. Personally thou for a return visit to Raro in future, we will get a villa in a resort- more our style.

  • Stayed: August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KiwiCh1ck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2010

Apartments Kakera was the perfect place for us to stay while we got married in Rarotonga.
Clean, beautiful architecture. Absolutely loved jumping into the plunge pool at the end of the day.
You could not want for anything, Melinda and Andrew are more than happy to help to organise activities etc. They are a wonderful couple who have fantastic apartments i would be proud to reccommend to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LydiaNigel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.0 mi away
Sanctuary Rarotonga-on the beach
0.0 mi away
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel
0.0 mi away
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
Sunhaven Beach Bungalows
#3 of 12 in Arorangi
200 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.0 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
0.0 mi away
The Edgewater Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kakera Villa Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kakera Villa Apartments

Address: Beach Side, Turangi, Muri | Ngatangiia, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range: £160 - £222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Kakera Villa Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kakera Villa Apartments Rarotonga - offer four comfortable eco modern holiday home villas. A boutique private complex of self catering self service trendy villa apartments, some with private outdoor area & plunge pool. Set along side a natural coral reef surf beach at the foot of tropical mountains, two kilometers from the bustle of Muri, close to stores and coffee shop. Kakera Villa Apartments presents the perfect tropical vacation space for longer stay travelers, couples, family with teenagers and grown up children & groups of up to fifteen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda and Evoline ltd so you can book your Kakera Villa Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing