We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Victor and Belinda had a great time!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Glendale, California
1 review
“Victor and Belinda had a great time!”
Reviewed 6 October 2013

We had a wonderful stay at the Sunrise Bungalows. We stayed there for 5 days, and enjoyed every day. The accommodations were exactly as advertised, with no disappointments. Caryn picked us up at the airport, and gave us a brief tour of the island to orient us, and provided many helpful pieces of advice (oh, and breakfast the next day). The location is convenient, and the service was excellent. Simple, relaxing, hospitable, and private. Highly recommended! We will return!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Victor H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    58
    15
    17
    20
See reviews for
45
98
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waitakere, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2013

My husband and i stayed with Sunrise in Aug 2013, we had a fantastic time, caryn was sooo helpful.
We stayed in a garden bungalow which was lovely and clean,and we had a great time also met some other nice people staying there.
We intend to go back next year.
gael

Room Tip: there are bech front available which are very nice but we preferred the garden as it was nice and pe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gael A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, Canterbury, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I have just back to New Zealand after spending 8 days at the Sunrise Bungalows. I was extremely impressed by the treatment of myself and my travel buddies by the owner, Caryn. Caryn has a huge heart and a vey kind disposition. Just the sort of person to look after your needs while on holiday. She made our stay as hassle free as she could possibly make it. Nothing was too much of a bother and she always had time for a chat or to advise us on what to do in Rarotonga. Honest and reliable Caryn made our stay, magic. I thoroughly recommend staying at Sunrise Bungalows. There is a shop just down the road to pick up supplies and is not far away from some very good restaurants. I will be coming back to stay. I am looking forward to it very much. Thank you Caryn.

Room Tip: The beach view bungalows have a fantastic view of the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 September 2013

Coulnt ask for anything more. We got welcomed at the airport and treated with the up most resept Caryn goes above and beond. I highly recommend this place and carnt wait to get back next year. Thank you to Caryn for ALL your help, nothing was a problem and we are greatful see you in March :)

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gail T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pisa
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Booked this hotel for my honeymoon, i thought it was a good place to stay for location, near muri beach, and the price, very cheap for the area and for rarotonga in general.
I booked directly with the owner months before arrival, i pay 100 NZ$, one night deposit to guarantee everything and i wrote to the owner 1 week before my departure to be sure that everything was ok with my reservation and she told me YES! i organize like this: we arrived to rarotonga, one night there, next day to aitutaki island and we go back to this same place at the end, before departure until french polynesia.
When we arrived to the small airport of rarotonga she was waiting for us, everything was perfect, but in the car, while we were going to the bungalow, she told me that normally she was very organized but this time no, she was in wrong, she was booked more bungalow and i don't have my bungalow for this night!!! This is my honeymoon, please, i said to her, don't ruin my first stay in cook island please.
So, she told me that everything will be fine, because she reserved another hotel for us, no matters if it cost more, she put the difference, to apologize. this is what she told me.
Well, i was happy that everything was fine, she took the the saturday market in the main city, and we went back to her property in the afternoon. She drove us to the hotel that she reserved for my honeymoon: a dirty and disgusting place near avarua; horrible!!!! she told me that this is the only place that she can find, because everything was full.

Just because i was very very angry with her ad i didn't trust her anymore, we went out from this dirty place, until the centre, i called with public telephone another hotel and it had another available room for us, we spent a lot but it doesnt' matter, nobody can destroy my honeymoon.
we've been to this hotel and stay very well. i was very very disappointed with the owner of sunrise bungalow, also because i'm not believe that she try to solve the situation, this is what i think.
Next day we had the flight to aitutaki island, she offers her help to apology again, she told me that in the morning she took us to muri beach, then she bring us to the airport. I accepted this time but she've never arrived to the hotel to bring us to muri and the airport. I took a taxi, 20 NZD, but it doesn't matters again.
It was the first and i hope the lonely time that i had an horrible experience in one hotel, many years of travelling and it was the worst experience that i have ever had with an owner , i don't know why, but she really was bad with us!!!!!
The problem was that we had to sleep again in this property after aitutaki.. the owner wasn't here, she was in NZ and everything was fine this second time.
They brang us to the room, the room was very nice, just in front to the ocean, to apologize for the bad experience, in the fridge milk, marmelade for breakfast and a bootle of wine to apologize again but i can't excuse what this happened, i'm sorry but i only put 1 star rank to this hotel and i've never go there again even if the room is very nice, the kitchen is fully equipped and we are near muri beach ( 3 km walking)

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank marinapotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nz
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

Stayed with a friend and my 4 month old baby. Was welcomed at the airport and transferred to our accommodation the cot was made for baby so very comfortable. Very homely place nothing was to much trouble. Was sad to leave after our 8 days.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank huntlygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 August 2013

We stopped off in Raro on our way to New Zealand. Caryn offered to pick us up at the airport including my golf clubs! This is typical of both her and Brian, nothing is too much trouble for them.

Let's get this straight from the start, this is Rarotonga in the Cook Islands, an idilic setting in the middle of the Pacific Ocean. We booked an Ocean front Bungalow and that is exactly what we got. The accommodation was clean and tidy, Caryn made sure we were happy once we had moved in, double checking that we had everything we needed.

The Bungalows are just a few meters from the waters edge looking out to the coral reef and the constant wash of the breaking waves.

So the location and accommodation were spot on, a short walk to Muri Beach where you can find cafes and places to eat or get a great flat white coffee made this a fantastic place for our trip.

I have looked at a couple of the negative reviews which are very unfair to Brian and Caryn. They work extremely hard to accommodate all the needs of their clients. It must be remembered this is the Cook Islands, not Monte Carlo! Not that there is anything wrong with either location, (yes I have been to both) except they are different. My preference is Sunrise every time. If you want all the glitz of a pretentious 5 star hotel you have booked the wrong location. This is a fantastic place, but you have to accept you are on a 'desert island' with limited access to some of the refinement you may be used to.

Caryn makes up for the inevitable lack of facilities with a wonderful attitude which will ensure your stay is thoroughly enjoyable. The Bungalows may be considered basic, but you are on holiday, so eating out or getting a take-away is what you should be doing rather than slaving over a hot stove. Perhaps that is why there isn't one!!

The Sunrise Bungalows are exactly what they say they are, a wonderful retreat right on the waters edge, but don't expect 5 star Monte Carlo glitz, your in the wrong place.

One final observation, which sums up both Brian and Caryn, was when they offered us the use of their spare car. Well it was, how can I put this politely? "Functional" sorry Caryn! (no Rolls Royces on Rarotonga), but it helped us get about on several occasions bearing the 30 mph speed limit and about 50 minutes to circumnavigate the island, a nice gesture.

Caryn and Brian will do their utmost to make you feel at home and have an enjoyable stay, genuine, honest, hard working hosts.

Thank you, Ken and Pam

Room Tip: go for the beach bungalows
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boybeorge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#24 of 77 in Rarotonga
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Sunrise Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing