We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back for more”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Thames, New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Back for more”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

We had our second stay at Sunrise Beach Bungalows in September 2013 and were extremely pleased. We thoroughly enjoyed our first stay there in August 2012 but were very impressed with the improvements Caryn has made in the 13 months in between our visits.
Caryn's gardens looked amazing and give a very peaceful relaxed feeling. She has done a lot of upgrading in the way of new beds, fridges, stoves, line and towels and she now offers complimentary bicycles for guest use. The entire property is a credit to her and her wonderful welcoming, helpful, generous hospitality makes for a great stay which is also at a very reasonable tariff.
We both intend to return to Rarotonga for another relaxing holiday in the future and Sunrise Beach Bungalows will definitely be our first choice for accommodation.
Thank you Caryn.

Alan and Carol Way
Thames

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

213 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    104
    57
    15
    17
    20
See reviews for
44
96
26
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2013 via mobile

We arrived around 4pm only to be greeted by a not so happy owner who told us no room was available and had no time to organise a room for us at that point in time as she had to be somewhere else. Told us to go away and come back in an hours time. All we wanted to do was to have a shower, lie down and relax abit as we had a full on day. Instead we had to hang at the beach to try to kill time! Once we returned we were then told our ocean front bungalow was not available and wouldn't be until 9pm that night (like it was our fault or something), but put us up in the room next to reception until then. That point we were kinda confused and not too sure if we wanted to stay there. All we wanted to do was to have a good nights sleep but had to wait up until after 9.30pm to finally move into our room. On a plus side (kinda) she gave me a discount for being mucked around on the first night. The ocean front bungalow was nice and in a great location, wasnt too bad but smelt like cigarette which I hate as im a non smoker. We had booked 2 nights at the place but didnt go back the 2nd night to stay!
If we weren't stuffed around when we arrived, I may have just liked it abit more. But it truly did ruin our experience and painted a bad image of the place, (to me anyway!)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lesley m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise47, Owner at Sunrise Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 19 December 2013
This is a factual reply on the comments posted by the guest with this review.
Reservation staff could not either confirm or lodge a deposit for this booking due
to ongoing technical difficulties due to the monopoly server here in the Cook Islands The booking was made end Sept 2013.

The guests arrived here at 4pm as the owner was leaving to pick up new arrivals
from the airport. Not wanting to be late for them they were asked to return .
On their arrival back to the property they were taken to the adjoinning room
with a clear explanation as to why their oceanfront bungalow was not available.
At 9.30pm they were moved to their bungalow with the tropical continental breakfast
provided for them in the fridge with the room springcleaned. At no time did they mention
an issue with cigarette smoke. and were happy with the accommodation and the standard
offerred.
The following evening they were attending a family dinner on the other side of the island
They made inquiries as to whether taxis would be running or the bus in the wee hours
that night. They left in their rental car and did not return. for their second night.
As they decided to remain where they were rather than to drink and drive.
On settling their account a discount was given to them in view of the above
circumstances with them having to wait for their oceanfront bungalow.
Again management at that time recontacted the CEO of Telecom CI asking
what steps would they be taking to improve the quality and efficiency of their server.
With the reply that their ongoing technical problems are being addressed
in a timetabling fashion.
This will clarify what actually occured at the time and hope the guests enjoyed the rest of their
stay on the island with their family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 2 November 2013

Caryn was waiting to collect us from the airport. On the drive to our accommodation she was very friendly and told us lots of helpful tips. The room was lovely and we had some milk, paw paw and toast etc. for the next mornings breakfast. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay and Caryn was so helpful throughout. Highly recommended, we will definitely be back! Thanks for everything!! Bob and Ange :-) (18 October arrival)

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kona
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

We arrived on the early morning flight, and Caryn was right there to greet us! She was full of information and tips to help us ease into our adventure,.. especially after such long travel. At first glance, Sunrise seems off the normal tourist areas, but we soon learned how convenient the location was.
We had a beachfront unit for our first three days there, and returned again for the remaining week of our trip. The bungalows are clean, well-equipped, and Caryn makes certain you have what you need. The beach on property is not really for swimming, but it's a great place to watch the ocean, and a beautiful sunrise! We came back to stay, because we could not find a better value on the island,, in this price range.
As it's a small island, a scooter can get you anywhere in a short ride. Muri was minutes away... great for swimming, dining, beach-lazing. Town is 10 minutes... all your shopping needs fulfilled. Westside lagoon offers the best snorkeling-- near the Rarotonga Resort-- there are some excellent reef structures to explore. The inner road is a must-do, to see how the people live and how lush and productive the island is.
One negative to our trip?... the cost of goods and services far exceeded what had been researched. Some bungalows elsewhere--- for $200 to $300 per night--- were grossly overpriced. This made Sunrise even more of a deal. Thanks Caryn!

Room Tip: There are a few beachfront bungalows, which offer privacy. The others are second-best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scott h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 October 2013

I spent 6 nights at Sunrise with my mother who I had not seen in many months. We had an amazing time and loved it. Our beachfront room was a few metres from the ocean and had lovely sunrises each morning. You cannot swim in the water there but the lagoon at Muri is less than 2 kilometres down the road. The rooms were simple but clean and private with little outside noise but the sea. Caryn picked me up from the airport and went out again that night to pick up my mother who was on a different flight, she also took us both back to the airport on our return free of charge, and let us stay in our room most of the evening before the flight. We booked directly on her website and paid half of what the resorts in Muri were charging so we were not expecting 5 star luxury, and were very, very happy with what we got for what we paid. The local bus is easy to get around on and stops right outside the resort, a car for a day or so is also a good idea. There are some really lovely restaurants in Muri - a 20 minute walk from Sunrise. There are also free bikes to use which we took to the lagoon most days to swim. I would highly recommend Sunrise and would definitely stay there again - Thanks Caryn!

Room Tip: The Beachfront rooms have a stunning view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Godrick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amstelveen
Level Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 October 2013

I don't know where to begin. I suppose at the beginning. Caryn picked me on Monday up at my Avarua hotel 45 minutes late. I had requested a beachfront bungalow but was given the bungalow as you first enter the property which hasn't any real privacy. Beside this sits 2 old rusty pieces of crap vehicles. There was even a cat sleeping on the bed, Caryn did not chase awy the cat but brougth me catfood instead.The matrasses are terrible, springs poking into your back. Everthing that could leak, was leaking. some faul-smelling kitchen towels in the little kitchen. Caryn explained that the Beachfront bungalow I had booked was taken by others of which she did not have received a booking by expedia. Caryn was blaiming Telecom CI for this, but I would go to my beachtfront bungalow on Wednesday. Tuesday morning Caryn brought as offered breakfast, including 2 peaces of watermelon of which 1 piece had fungi and was past eating it.I did not believe that this Beachbungalow would happen, so I went to the tourist office to ask advice what to do, because I did not want to stay there any longer. Whith the help of touristinformation I checked out at Sunrise Beach and Caryn paid me everything I had payed in advance. That was nice of her, what she never will realise that this were the last 6 days of my holiday and I had dreamed for months sitting there on my own porch looking at the ocean and may be seeing humpbackwhales passing by, that dream went to smettereens at the Sunset Beach

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Annamaartje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise47, Owner at Sunrise Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Factual reply to this review. The dutch guest was picked up complimentary from her
cheaper accommodation 45 minutes late as 8 guests had arrived earlier that day
with car hire and motorbike rental being arranged for them. This transfer usually costs $25-40
with the guest being told on pick up the reasoning why there was the time delay.
At the same time it was explainned to her that her oceanfront bungalow booked for 6 nights
was unavailable for the initial 2 nights as an Expedia prepaid booking ( made in April)
those American guests had arrived earlier that day. This guest had paid a deposit only with her booking made in August. The CIs have a monopoly
server Telecom who experience
persistent constant technical problems with not all correspondence being received in a timely fashion to operators here. This genuine ongoing issue has and was then again addressed by management
by contacting the Telecom CEO outlining their non performance issues and is still in the
process of being resolved. In fact later that evening the guest had difficulty in logging
onto the wifi hotspot here as she had purchased the standard Telecom card and the service
was slow.

The two rusty vehicles have been removed they were in the far corner of the property
as the recyling company here experienced machinery problems. These were removed
recently.
The cat is a resident cat with no objeciton being made by the guest to feed it.
when she arrived to the property.
The property linen then was done by the commercial laundromat with no mention
made at the time of the smelly teatowels.
The complimentary tropical continental breakfast was given to the guest
the following morning with the tray returned empty with no mention of the pawpaw
The bed was 4 months old with no springs showing Guests had vacated her room
the day prior with no complaints.
Management live on the premises and are available 24/7 to assist. which is done
willingly. And without knowledge feel she
underhandedly contacted CI Tourism with this review being posted on her first night
on arrival. She was picked up and returned to her original accommodation the following
morning free with the tour that had been booked for her the previous day cancelled.
At that time she was given a full deposit refund. Effectively this guest received free transfers to and from her accommodation and stayed at the property for one night free. She was at the end
of her journey and was disappointed that she was unable to spend the time booked
in the oceanfront bungalow for her entire stay. This being attributed to the Telecom server
which did not relay her email booking to the property in a timely fashion. both bookings were shown to her at the time.
Everything was done for the guest whilst she stayed at the property with none of the above
issues being made known to management at the time. She was offered a free night
at the end of her stay with the complimentary transfer to the airport but she never
took advantage of the offer as she without prior knowledge made the decision to
move. Hope that the guest enjoyed the rest of her stay in Rarotonga. It is disappointing
that the guest did not talk about her isses then on site with the team as these would
have been resolved immediately with again the logical explanations being told to her
at the time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Zealand
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We spent 7 nights in September at Sunrise, and stayed in the house which was really roomy, clean and nice. Caryn was great, she picked us up at the airport, had a cooked breakfast organised for us as there really wasn't much fruit available anywhere on the island due to a drought, looked after all our needs. She was great and the accomodation was too.
You really do need to car to get around, as it's great to be able to go around the island, head to town or just down the road for dinner etc.
I think people need to know that this is a small island, most of the food and supplies are shipped/airlined in, therefor sometimes you can't get hold of things in a hurry - so if a bike breaks it might take a few days to get it fixed etc, so you need to make allowances at your accomodation for this.
The supermarkets have most food you need, some of it is expensive - $5 for coke etc but once you get your bearings you can shop around, find local food etc.
All in all a great holiday, snorkling was best we found around "Fruits of Rarotonga". Captain Tama's was a good day out too.
All in all a great holiday.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RobNewZealand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
118 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
50 reviews
6.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
207 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#23 of 76 in Rarotonga
124 reviews
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Sunrise Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 76 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing