We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“its OK but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“its OK but nothing special”
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Firstly this is not a rant as I'm not like that but the bottom line is you get what you pay for.Caryn is lovely and helpful but the accommodation is tired and needs updating. The shower/bathroom was massively in need of a refresh. We were attempt burgled whilst there luckily we had used the jamming wood block supplied to keep the sliding door from opening at night so we didn't lose cash unlike the other guests who lost money unfortunately - apparently this can happen anywhere on the island. We wanted to do self catering - if you do take plenty of Tupperware as insects/termites got into everything! Apparently happens everywhere although we didn't seem to have a problem elsewhere. If you are looking for somewhere close to swimming look in Muri - this is more of a getaway spot than near local shops, bars etc - the walk to muri is a good 20 minutes along the road. I wouldn't stay again, we left early to move around the island but if you dont mind a bit of shabby then go for it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    58
    15
    17
    20
See reviews for
45
98
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Ramona, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great place, very clean!!! Make sure you ask for one of the three bungalows that are right on the beach. Almost like having your private beach. Kitchenette was adequate. Nice hot water for a shower:) Caryn the proprietor was great and will bend over backwards to take care of you with her endless energy. One night we had a barbecue out by the Pool and now have new friends from Germany, Holland, Canada and the cook Islands. We plan to go back. Thanks so much Caryn! Sharon and Vish

Room Tip: Bungalows on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The family and I (two young children) stayed at Sunrise both before and after our trip to Aitutaki. We stayed initially in an Ocean Front Bungalow and in the 2br house on our return. We were very happy with both accommodations. Unless you really need the space or want the mod-cons the house provides, I'd recommend the Ocean Front Bungalow. Lounging on the cane sofa with cushions on the verandah, listening to the waves breaking on the nearby reef and watching the odd whale swimming past barely 50 meters away was incredibly relaxing.

The beach in front of Sunrise is not really suitable for swimming (rocks and coral), but Muri beach is lovely and is within walking distance.

Caryn was a gracious host and we very much enjoyed sharing tales with her. We were picked up from and dropped back at the airport without any fuss or problems.

Don't expect 5 star luxury at Sunrise, but do expect excellent value for money for comfortable accommodation.

We'd be only too happy to stay at Sunrise again and hope we get the opportunity to one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 22 January 2014

We stayed with Caryn from the 12/01/14 - 19/01/14 and have to say that she was the coolest lady ever! We had the best stay at sunrise, caryn is so hospitable and so caring towards us... Nothing was ever a problem! We would recommend staying there to everyone we know! The location was perfect, with a dairy just across the road, it was close to all the activities and tours so it was just perfect! We hired two beach front bungalows and the two bedroom beach house... Very clean, tidy, and quite modern in the house, I loved it so much and the best part it was amazing value for money!! we left our doors wide open day and night, so felt very safe in the area too.
If you want a stress free getaway then sunrise is the place for you!! Give Caryn a call today. We miss you Caryn, Jess, Nicky, Eric, grace, Tarah, Priscilla, Louis, Vicky and Maree xoxox

  • Stayed January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Phebalicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 January 2014

This was our 5th trip to Raro and we would not stay anywhere else but at the Sunrise.We find it very restfull and quiet everytime we have been there. All the rooms are immaculately clean
Caryn the host is very accomodating picking you up on arrival and making sure that you get settled in to your place. She goes out of her way to sometimes take you around the island to show you spots of interest. Just ask her and she will do her best to answer all questions. She is great.
This is a little hidden gem off the roadway so the only thing you hear are the breaking waves which is great. This is a great value for the clean place that you get, try to find something as good and as clean will be hard to find.
I would highly recommend this if you want peace and quiet and it is not to far from great beaches or beaches for snorkeling. Do like everyone who comes get yourself
(Caryn will arrange) a scooter or a car.I would recommend this 100%.
Thanks Caryn and the critters for a great time.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Potion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 15 January 2014

I stayed with my family (Including my three year old son and 76 year old grandmother) in the house and it was beyond what we were expecting. The house is lovely and spacious it is set up beautifully and had enough beds for all of us. The view of the ocean is amazing and overall the accommodation is great value for money. Caryn was just lovely, she was at the airport early hours of the morning to pick us up and even made two trips in the pouring rain to make sure we got to the place safely. She was a great host being super helpful with everything! Thanks Caryn we had the best time and I would definitely recommend this place :)

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Courtney P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Warwick, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 22 December 2013

We thoroughly enjoyed our time at Sunrise, Caryn met us at the airport and was very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. We had booked a garden bungalow, but got a free upgrade to beachfront, which gave us a stunning view. We used bicycles (free to borrow from Sunrise) and the local bus to get around the island. The accommodation was spacious, clean and very comfortable, with all the facilities we required. Excellent value for money. We'd love to visit again sometime!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AlanandJane350
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#27 of 77 in Rarotonga
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Sunrise Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing