We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but nothing special”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Prague, Czech Republic
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Good but nothing special”
Reviewed 15 April 2014 via mobile

The location is allright but be prepared that you must hire a scooter for all time of your vacation unless you didn't get anywhere neither for swimming,neither for dinner etc.The beachfront bungalow is quite big,has a good terrace and a nice view.But if you want also to hang out on a beach in your accommodation this is not for you,because it's not possible to swim there.You can just lie down on sunbeds in front of your bungalow which are good and new.The bungalow could be a little cleaner and there were terrible towels that leave red spots all over you. It's supposed to be with continental breakfast which is ready in your fridge however it's not really a good proper breskfast, so you must go for breakfast to Muri and better not to leave any food in the bungalow for the guests then an old rusty can with spaghetti it really doesn't look very nice. But the owner is so helpful that we didn't have to take care of anything she also handled herself the situation when we switched bags at the airport with somebody else.She called to the airport,bring there the wrong bag and us the right bag back.And didn't ask any extra payment for late check out.This earned one star more for this accommodation (instead of 2 I gave 3 stars).

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank mispule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunrise47, Owner at Sunrise Beach Bungalows, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
The guests were a younger very pleasant business couple residing in Poland. The manager of the Sunrise lives on the property and is on call 24/7 to deal with any questions and queries.
Due to a genuine mistake the guests in error picked up the wrong bag on arrival at 1am
which was resolved the next morning. AFter a phone call to the airline concerned a special trip was made to the depot where it was collected and returned to the guests within hours. .The red towels supplied
in the bungalow are brand new and was not aware that there was red fluff as have to date
not had any other guest stay here mention that. The tropical continental breakfast is a English one which is different to that of a European one. The complimentary breakfast provided on the first morning of arrival comprises of sacheted
cornflakes butter jams with fresh bread in airtight container eggs spagetti and fresh fruit
which is avail at the time. With the obligatory milk tea coffee and sugar which is
provided at all times in the bungalows. A European continental breakfast is normally
a variety of cheeses crouisants jams and coffee which is a very different combination
to that of a typical English one. Whilst the guests were staying at the Sunrise at that time
there were strong winds at the time. The property is located absolute oceanfront and due to the nature of its location is subject to extra saltspray on windows and sand that goes with
being on the oceanfront notwithstanding that the full length ranchsliders and balconies
adjoinning are hosed and cleaned by hand on a very very regular basis. As for the tin of
spagetti being rusty this issue was not again at the time bought to the attention of the manager
as another would have been provided from the stock on hand. The website and goggle map
show and states quite clearly that the property is situated .9km from Muri Lagoon. There is a sandy area at the front of the property on the oceanfront and no reference is made to that of
a swimming location but one can surf if ones wishes and surfers have done so in the past.
Most guests like to use the swimming pool on the premises here.
Due to the property location total privacy is maintained as the general public do not generally
walk along the foreshore which offers total seclusion with Muri Lagoon being literally a two minute drive away.

With the on site 24/7 manager available this ensures that prompt service is avail at all times
to deal with any questions visitors may have regarding the islands activities and also
to deal with anything else. At no time during the guests stay were any of their above issues
bought up with the person as had they do so then extra towels would have been provided
another tin of spagetti and also housekeeping would have been asked to service the
bungalow and windows promptly.
Wish to thankyou the guests for their comments and hope that they enjoyed the rest of their holiday after they left Rarotonga and will make a note of the above for future reference.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

216 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    106
    58
    15
    17
    20
See reviews for
45
98
26
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (66)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 March 2014

Couldn't find a friendlier more helpful and accommodating host than Caryn! She went out of her way for us even though we stayed 2 nights and allowed us to camp out in the upper floor of her home while waiting for a very late night departure. Bungalows are quite basic with everything you need and we had some grub for breakfast waiting for us after an airport pick up. You cannot beat sitting on the deck of the bungalows watching the surf pound in while sipping coffee or wine. We stayed in bungalow #1 and enjoyed it even though the weather was a bit iffy. Fold out couch was basic, door a bit sticky and shower did not drain well, but go for the view and the price!

Room Tip: Stay in a bungalow on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Janooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

I would recommend everyone to stay at sunrise , Caryn (owner) is lovely top notch service all n all a very caring person wealth of knowledge we will deff be back again, bungalows are really nice n cool nothing is ever a problem for Caryn regards Emma n Aj

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AJnemz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Germany
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2014

Caryn thanks for the nice and brillant stay at sunrise beach bungalows. Everythung in your bungalows and your host are perfect. Nice pool also. Unit 1 to 4 are perfect with the noise from the waves. Nice stay in rarotonga and save.....

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fred P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 March 2014

Firstly this is not a rant as I'm not like that but the bottom line is you get what you pay for.Caryn is lovely and helpful but the accommodation is tired and needs updating. The shower/bathroom was massively in need of a refresh. We were attempt burgled whilst there luckily we had used the jamming wood block supplied to keep the sliding door from opening at night so we didn't lose cash unlike the other guests who lost money unfortunately - apparently this can happen anywhere on the island. We wanted to do self catering - if you do take plenty of Tupperware as insects/termites got into everything! Apparently happens everywhere although we didn't seem to have a problem elsewhere. If you are looking for somewhere close to swimming look in Muri - this is more of a getaway spot than near local shops, bars etc - the walk to muri is a good 20 minutes along the road. I wouldn't stay again, we left early to move around the island but if you dont mind a bit of shabby then go for it!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MartynNm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ramona, California
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2014

Great place, very clean!!! Make sure you ask for one of the three bungalows that are right on the beach. Almost like having your private beach. Kitchenette was adequate. Nice hot water for a shower:) Caryn the proprietor was great and will bend over backwards to take care of you with her endless energy. One night we had a barbecue out by the Pool and now have new friends from Germany, Holland, Canada and the cook Islands. We plan to go back. Thanks so much Caryn! Sharon and Vish

Room Tip: Bungalows on the beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bakuns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Muscat Governorate, Oman
Level 6 Contributor
73 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2014

The family and I (two young children) stayed at Sunrise both before and after our trip to Aitutaki. We stayed initially in an Ocean Front Bungalow and in the 2br house on our return. We were very happy with both accommodations. Unless you really need the space or want the mod-cons the house provides, I'd recommend the Ocean Front Bungalow. Lounging on the cane sofa with cushions on the verandah, listening to the waves breaking on the nearby reef and watching the odd whale swimming past barely 50 meters away was incredibly relaxing.

The beach in front of Sunrise is not really suitable for swimming (rocks and coral), but Muri beach is lovely and is within walking distance.

Caryn was a gracious host and we very much enjoyed sharing tales with her. We were picked up from and dropped back at the airport without any fuss or problems.

Don't expect 5 star luxury at Sunrise, but do expect excellent value for money for comfortable accommodation.

We'd be only too happy to stay at Sunrise again and hope we get the opportunity to one day.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank walkabout59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.7 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
120 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kiikii Inn & Suites
Kiikii Inn & Suites
#5 of 5 in Avarua
52 reviews
3.0 mi away
Club Raro
Club Raro
#2 of 5 in Avarua
209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.7 mi away
The Cooks Oasis Holiday Villas
1.7 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
137 reviews
1.0 mi away
Manea Beach Villas
Manea Beach Villas
#24 of 77 in Rarotonga
125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunrise Beach Bungalows? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunrise Beach Bungalows

Property: Sunrise Beach Bungalows
Address: Main Rd, Sunrise Beach, Cook Islands
Phone Number:
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 77 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sunrise Beach Bungalows 3*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Absolute oceanfront ocean and garden bungalows and 2 bedroom family house.9m from Muri Lagoon fully self catering bring yourselves and your bagsset in 4800 square metres of sand and garden privateswimming pool gas bbeque tour desk complimentary snokelling equipmentideal for groups families and couples ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Sunrise Beach Bungalows reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunrise Beach Bungalows Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing