We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
US$527
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$356
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$296
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Sunrise Beach Bungalows(Rarotonga)(Great Value!)
US$148
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Club Raro(Avarua)
US$158
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Savings alert! 14% below average rates

The price you found is 14% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$152/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Castaway Resort(Rarotonga)(Great Value!)
US$190
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Black Pearl at Puaikura(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$164
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$159
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$81
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Aro'a Beachside Inn(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$396
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$382
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Edgewater Resort & Spa(Arorangi)(Great Value!)
US$662
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$621
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Moana Sands Beachfront Hotel(Titikaveka)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (149)
Filter reviews
149 results
Traveller rating
90
37
14
8
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
90
37
14
8
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbedroom villathree bedroomgreat decksfree kayakshousekeeping ladiesclean unitwalking distancebeautiful lagoonkayaks and snorkelling gearfantastic locationair conceiling fanself containedclamsstayed nightsfamily holidaysea view
Filter
Updating list...
96 - 101 of 149 reviews
Reviewed 12 July 2012

We stayed with Maryanne and her awesome crew in June 2012, our villa was everything we wanted and more, so clean and tidy, bbq on the deck, kayak's and snorkel gear for our use and friendly helpful staff. With the lagoon outside our door we felt like it was our own personal beach. Muri Beach is a beautiful part of the island and Manea Beach Villa's will always be our place for staying when we return! Thanks again for making our stay so great!

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank clare s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We arrived in Raro May 18, 2012 we booked two x one bedroom lagoon units. The property is well kept, tidy and scrupulesly clean. Travelled with my hubby and also my sister and hubby. The villas themselves are well equiped with the basics, including a lovely bbq on each deck. a small table and two chairs on each decking. inside the units, a small kitchenette with microwave, fridge tea/coffee making facilites. The lounge area contained two lovely rattan chairs and a small coffee table. A tv with cable or similar I believe, however we did not turn the tv on, far too busy relaxing!! The bathroom with shower, vanity toilet, and a bedroom with king bed, open wardrobe, including a small guest safe. The thing that struck me about the Manea was how clean the place was, and how the staff took great pride in their work. All the staff were happy and friendly and chatting to the gardner/handyman Sonny each morning as he did his rounds and attended the pool, was like chatting to a neighbour. His local knowledge and willingness to share it with everyone was just lovely and made you very much part of the Raro experience. Very genuine and friendly people.

Rooms were serviced daily clean sheets and always tons of fresh clean towels.
The grounds are up a long driveway which leads to the beachfront. Alongside the property is the Flametree restaurant. We dined there one night, which was spectacular and on par with any good NZ restaurants. Will review the flametree seperately.

When you go to Raro you will encounter 'Raro dogs", but don't worry. There are many friendly wonderful dogs wandering about in Raro. They are not aggressive and you should not fear being bitten, these are extremely well adjusted animals and all seem great with children.

The Muri area no exception, and you will encounter furry friends from time to time, popping in to visit whereever you go. A kind word and a pat never goes amiss. Each time we go we see dogs that were puppies from our previous visit now all grown up. We popped into the Esther Honey foundation and made a donation for the good work they do in keeping animals spayed and neutered and in good general health. Well worth a visit and a small contribution as this is improving the lives of these animals and I have noticed a decrease in wandering dogs in the time I have been going to Raro. Won't get on a soap box here, but worthy cause. etc.

However, i am not an insect lover, in particular cockroaches and the like, i will point out that this is indeed the tropics an one should expect them everywhere, However, i did not see one creepy crawly anywhere in the Manea villas. there were a few small ants around one of the loungers by the pool but this was near the lawn and they were the minutest ants and did not sting or bite.

i didnt get bitten by an mossies although we were armed to the hilt with repellant etc. Perhaps it was not the time of the year for them. but taking reellant never goes amis. i will point out that the units had insect spray cans under the sink, including mozzie coils for putting outside if you are out in the evening on your decking, which I am sure you will be!!

The Manea has a small fresh water pool which over looks the beautiful Muri Lagoon. The seating and loungers allow shelter from any onshore breezes and the outlook is breathless. We really enjoyed the location f this property as it is "at the end" of Muri beach and a little away from the main tourist part, which we felt a pure bonus, we felt like we were the only people there. Manea supplied fantastic clean, well maintained kayaks and paddles,

On previous trips we have stayed in Resorts $$$ and also self catering resort, Manea was by far the most preferable to us. Becasue t rained so much when we visited Raro this time, we spent a bit more time inside which we didnt plan on. At this point we could have done with a small table to eat from or play cards etc. The units simply don't have the room inside for that, and if you like a little more room then I suggest taking one of the bigger units, maybe the beachfront unit. (3 bedroom) had the weather been better then this would not have been a problem.

Maryanne the manager, was just fantastic, really helpful and nothing was a problem. Even arranged deep sea fishing for the boys, who caught Tuna!! Thank you Maryanne for making the holiday for us all, a great one. We would love to return and when we do we will be booking in again at the Manea. It had everything we wanted. i'll keep buying the lotto tickets as i could send six months a year out there.
places worth visiting for us was
Fish and chips from the little fishing boat not far from Avarua.
trader jacks
The Roadhouse kareoke night - the locals were awesome and we had a fantastic night out - totally unexpected.
The Rugby club, next door to the Manea - thru the gate- just ask Maryanne. Cheap drinks and again locals made us feel like neighbours. exceptional.
Flame tree retaurant
The Waterline Restaurant
Vaimas Retaurant - the lovely Doroth always makes you welcome - such a top host, she really knows how to run a restaurant, nothing escapes her eye. Well done!!
Saturday Market - love it every time I go. pawpaw smoothies to die for!!
Great dresses in the CITC store- surprisingly they have a better selection of summer wear than NZ. some lovely resort wear.

Room Tip: one room units for just a couple. Larger units a must for two or more. loved the lagoon view units.
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jennasmum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2012

Great place for a group of friends! It is the perfect location in Rarotonga without the price tag, especially compared to the other places in Muri beach.
Heaps of resturants and activities all within walking distance and the beach is the nicest on the island. The three bedroom beachfront villa was fantastic, right on the waters edge.Awesome for just sitting on the deck having a few coctails in the evening with your friends. The staff are super friendly and very helpful. Highly recommend this place.

Room Tip: The queen size bedroom on the 2nd floor has a window on the ceiling right above your head, quite bright in the mornings!
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank asteensen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2012

Excellent place for a group to come to relax, rest, celebrate or whatever, the 3 bedroom beachfront villa was all we could wish for and dream about. Fantastic position on the waters edge and easy to walk to and fro. We felt like we owned the place and could invite friends around for b b que, sit around the pool etc Lovely and handy to whatever we wanted to do. Maryanne was most helpful and all staff very friendly and could not do enough for our group. She also gave us good advice ie driving a scooter on the road and owning the road rather than driving on the side of the road in pot holes!!!
Recommended and would definately go back.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joan I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2012

If you're looking for an ideal location for you and your family, you cannot go past Manea Beach Villas. They have a variety of accommodation options, and are small enough for an intimate atmosphere or to spend your time with others staying as well. With 5 in our group, the 3 bedroom villa was ideal. Absolute beachfront and a pool right alongside. Free kayaks and wonderful hosts. Flametree restaurant is less than a minute's walk and the local shop and free water is not much further. Just ideal.

Room Tip: The three bedroom villa has a queen bed upstairs with airconditioning and fan. Two lower bedrooms. One with two single beds and one with a queen - both of these rooms have fans. Both levels of the villa have a bathroom.
  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DeeAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews