We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great value for money”
Review of Manea Beach Villas

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Manea Beach Villas
Certificate of Excellence
Kaiapoi, New Zealand
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“great value for money”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

we have just returned from a stay at Manea beach villas where we stayed in a 3 bedroomed villa with a group of friends. Situated in a great place walking distance to shops restaurants and cafes. There was a bbq and great outdoor furniture on our veranda that we utilised many times great location for drinking cocktails.Accomadation is basic but clean and comfortable with friendly helpful staff
Lagoon and pool just a 2 minute walk everything you could want is right on your doorstep.I look forward to returning for another visit soon

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rockon55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    30
    11
    5
    0
See reviews for
45
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2014

This was a lovely place to stay. 10m from our veranda to the lagoon. Off the main road so nice and quiet. Friendly staff. Short walk to shops and some great restaurants.
We didn't use the BBQ in the end but it was nice to know it was there. The electric frypan and microwave sufficed for the times we ate in.
Breakfast cereal and tea provided at the start. (Bit odd to get butter and jam provided with no bread, but still an unexpected bonus)
Almost no mozzies too. Apparently this is down to careful gardening (according to the gardener!)
All in all great value.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NickyNoosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We have just returned from a great 7 days staying in the beach view three bedroom unit. It was such a wonderful place to say. Views from every window, 2 balconies one upstairs and one downstairs.Your own BBQ right on your deck, swimming pool just nexty door and another few steps to the beach It is true 3 star accomodation which to bwe homest made the experience all the better. Everything was there that you need canoes,snorkelling gear, etc. Mary Anne the manager was great. checking in every day with us. Sonny the Maintenance man was awesome always there willing to answer any questions we had about Rarotonga. He took my Grandchildren out looking for Octopus, brought back some cooked later in the day, bought the children a big bunch of bananas another day. Fantastic client service all round.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank debbie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Douglas
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 April 2014

Just got back from a fantastic holiday in Rarotonga. Manea Beach Villas were perfect for our small group. We had a 3 bedroom villa which boasted a large deck, good size kitchen and bedrooms. Accomodation is pretty basic however it is everything you need. Our friends stayed in a one bedroom studio which is a bit more up to date. Fantastic location with just a couple of steps down to the lagoon. Lots of restuarants to choose from in the area Muri Beach is such a fabulous location. Be sure to head down to see Jill and Moko at Moorings Cafe for the best Fish Sandwich!!! Moko also does fishing charters. Rickshaw restaurant is a great asian place just down the road also and is very reasonably priced with good food. Big thanks to Sonny at Manea for looking after us, was great to see a friendly face everyday.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jwhits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
British Columbia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

These villas are not luxury accommodation but then you are not paying for it either. This is a great place to stay on Muri Beach, close to a lot of things you can walk to, like the air conditioned Telecom store and several good coffee shops. I like it because it did NOT have a stove, so I had a cooking holiday - we did barbecued fish two nights, then ate out or did takeaways and I made big salads. It is really hot so salads were all I wanted at the end of the day, with my Matua Pale Ale, a great local drink. Only the bedroom has AC and I could not have survived without it. It is humid there this time of year and never seems cool, just slightly less hot at night. There are also good bug screens in the bedroom but not in the living area of Villa 5 where we were, so keeping them closed is the only way to avoid mossies in the evening. There are two wicker chairs and a coffee table, no real table to eat at except on the deck, where it may be too hot or buggy, or sometimes just right. I loved the small pool, perfect for doing exercises later in the afternoon before my beer and a great place to sit and look out over the water in late afternoon. Going at this time of year means it is not busy, with lots of choice of places to stay. I liked the fact that these little villas were separate and not in a larger resort. It is a very laid back but well managed place that I would recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank janella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rotorua District, New Zealand
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

We travelled with another couple and stayed in two of the one bedroom villas which we found well equipped and very clean and tidy. The BBQ on the deck was perfect for cooking our own lunches. The deck was also our favourite place for relaxing in the evenings after returning from dinner out. The location on the lagoon was perfect for kayaking, swimming and walking. Plenty of nice cafés and restaurants within walking distance. Maryanne was very helpful and welcoming. Would stay there again.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Tenaj60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Napier, Hawke's Bay, New Zealand
1 review
Reviewed 17 October 2013

We were lucky enough to have a lovely 1 bedroom chalet that was clean and well presented and a big thankyou must go out to Maryanne and her staff who went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. The location is picture postcard stuff and the people are "real people"
Will be back

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Colin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Rarotonga hotels
0.3 mi away
Muri Shores
Muri Shores
#3 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 88 reviews
0.4 mi away
Muri Beachcomber
Muri Beachcomber
#1 of 17 in Muri
4.5 of 5 bubbles 480 reviews
0.3 mi away
Aroko Bungalows
Aroko Bungalows
#1 of 1 in Ngatangiia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Te Vakaroa Villas
Te Vakaroa Villas
#4 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
0.7 mi away
Avana Waterfront Apartments
0.8 mi away
Muri Retreat
Muri Retreat
#10 of 17 in Muri
5.0 of 5 bubbles 136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Manea Beach Villas? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manea Beach Villas

Property: Manea Beach Villas
Address: Ara Tapu | Muri Beach, Ngatangiia District, Cook Islands
Region: Cook Islands > Southern Cook Islands > Rarotonga
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 75 Speciality Lodging in Rarotonga
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Manea Beach Villas 3.5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Manea Beach Villas, Cook Islands accommodation located on the edge of Rarotonga's beautiful Muri Lagoon. Manea is the Cook Island word for beautiful, which sums up the villas and location on offer. We cater for all holiday seekers, be they the single traveller, honeymooning couple, senior travellers, groups and families ... all are welcome at Manea Beach Villas! Our absolute beachfront location means you can lay on your private deck and gaze at the vibrant turquiose lagoon, only metres away. We are a small accommodation, offering intimate surroundings on Muri Beach with a personal touch. Our staff are a 'family', and will make sure you feel a part of Manea while you are here and long after you leave. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Manea Beach Villas reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Manea Beach Villas Hotel Rarotonga

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing