We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Piece of History”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum
Attraction details
North Pole, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
90 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
“Excellent Piece of History”
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

The cabin is amazing. There's a lot of history inside and a lot of the original pieces to look at. What's really cool, so make sure you check it out, is that they have the story from when the United States Army moved the cabin to its current location from its former location just by helicopters and a lot of volunteer man work. I definitely recommend go seeing this place.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Danihinkkanen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

17 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
356 reviews
135 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Stop at visitors center then across the parking lot visit here”
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Nice place to stretch legs and look what Alaskan roadhouse luxury was.
Original collection of furniture, cooking and decorations.
Nice garden in front.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank DebbyLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
35 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“A Walk Back in Time”
Reviewed 12 March 2013

We visit the Roadhouse regularly. It is so interesting to imagine being a traveler on this route in times gone by. The volunteers are welcoming and informative, the displays are informative and the gardens are a joy to behold.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Tiki L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Rock, Pennsylvania
Level 6 Contributor
119 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Fascinating!!”
Reviewed 28 February 2013

July 2011. My husband and I just stopped at the last moment at the visitor's center next door. I just couldn't resist the gardens and the next thing we were given a tour of the building. It was so interesting and the guide was excellent. It gives you a real feel for how the early settlers of Alaska lived. And the gardens are just beautiful. We went back the next morning for the weekly Farmers Market out back too.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pam R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Delta Junction, Alaska
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Small but packed full!”
Reviewed 16 October 2012

In the summertime, the Roadhouse garden is a wonderful sight. Inside are the rustic remains of pioneer Alaskan life. The hostesses are knowledgeable and friendly. And just out back on Wednesdays and Saturdays is the local farmer's market.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Frances H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum also viewed

 

Been to Sullivan Roadhouse Historical Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing