We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bristol Bay Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Dillingham
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Bristol Bay Lodge
Mammoth Lakes, California
Level Contributor
30 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Can't be better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

My two buddies and I are preparing for our sixth adventure at the wonderful Bristol Bay Lodge. We three agree this is always a high point in our lives.

The lodge is luxurious, the out camps are comfortable, and the meals always good. The friendliness and helpfulness of the staff and management never fails. But, best of all, is the fishery.

Go if you can. It really is great.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishhuntr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

27 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
8
1
1
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2013

The Lodge, the out camps, the planes, the people, the Fishing will make you think that you have arrived in Fisherman and Fisher Lady's , paradise .

The large variety of fish that pass through the waters that the Lodge fishes on , will satisfy the Proffessional and Novice

Room Tip: Ask in advance to stay in one of the Cabins
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My first fishing holiday. King week.
Guides were excellent. Lodge staff were also great.
Never fished salmon before. Best of 36lb king. 7 kings in all. 2 x 30lb +.
Loads sockeye and chum. Char, dollys, pinkies, bows and grayling. And bear!
Beaver planes were great once you got used to them. I'm hooked to high end fly trips. HolidayGuest arranged trip. They were fantastic.
Rainbo camp was my favourite. Camps are basic but have all you need. Good basic food, lots of banter and bad jokes with awesome fishing.
Good food too.
Steve is a bit serious but his wife is great as are all the lodge girls.

Room Tip: We went first week July 2012. If you want to take doubt away, will I catch? Go! You will! Use thei...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mobychicken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
York
Level Contributor
190 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 September 2011

This is an outstanding fishing lodge with superb fishing and great guides. There were fly out camps and each day you fished somewhere very different. Pretty much everywhere we went the fishing was very special in it's own way.

There was on key disappointment on our week - a pilot short meant that for some groups the fishing days were short - in our first two days we fished less than five hours a day, if that!! In the hours we did fish it was brilliant.

A definite treasure and without the issue with fishing time this would have been an easy five stars! Anywhere in the world where you can catch pretty much a 1,000lbs of salmon, char and trout, on fly, in a week can only be described as outstanding.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank YorkTrout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northern Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2009

Along with Dollys, Graylings and Char. The char shore lunch was excellent. These guys run a top notch operation. Steve Laurent does a great job making every guest feel at home and the pilots and guides all want you to be successful and have a great journey. I saw moose, caribou, eagles, and a bear or too. It was a blast!

  • Stayed September 2006, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank COBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Bristol Bay Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bristol Bay Lodge

Property: Bristol Bay Lodge
Address: US Survey 4706, Lake Aleknagik, Dillingham, AK
Region: United States > Alaska > Dillingham
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Speciality Lodging in Dillingham
Number of rooms: 17
Also Known As:
Bristol Bay Lodge Dillingham, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing