We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Aleutian Hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Dutch Harbor
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Unisea Inn(Dutch Harbor)
View Hotel
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveller rating
17
40
14
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
17
40
14
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsseafood buffetin townfishrooms are cleanseen better daysgreat jobtwo daysstaff was helpful and friendlyfree shuttlesmoking and non smokingairportflightaleutiansafewayvisitorsdealcafe
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 88 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2013

Stayed here several times during the Oct.-Feb. season while working in the Aleutians. Some of the rooms on the ground floor have seen better days, so if you're looking something more "grand" ask for a room upstairs. They're a little less trashed and the linens are nicer. The staff has always been helpful (even if not so good at speaking English), and the wi-fi is good for working when stranded/waiting on a plane out. The seafood buffet dinner was a hit w/ coworkers; the rest of the food, meh. As other reviewers note, it's a good location near stores, post office, museum, etc. The price is a little high, but all things considered, worth it.

Room Tip: Ask to see the room before you take it--you can always ask for something in better condition if it's been hammered.
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CopperMama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

The quality of this property, situated in a very lonely part of the world way up in the North Pacific on its border with the Bering Sea, is amazing. Think "The World's Deadliest Catch"!. Impressive range of services, big rooms, good food, awesome views. It is close to the airport, and next door to a huge supermarket, liquour shop, and the Museum of the Aleutians (excellent). And the availability of smoking and non-smoking rooms means that everyone can have a nice stay. A very pleasant surprise for this location.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Michael E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2013

While I was working in the Bering sometimes I'd rotate out from the vessel and head to the Grand until my flight home the next day. Stays ranged a few days to a week, depending on weather or when Mt Redoubt was spewing ash a while back).

Flying into Dutch can take a while at times-you might stop at Cold Bay or King Salmon for fuel or until the pilots are cleared for take off. And nothing compares to the flight into Tom Madsen...it can become hairy at times if you're a newbie and the Williwas are starting to crank up in the Winter.

Rooms were adequate, beds for the most part were comfortable. Clean bathrooms, good heating and I always tried to get a room with a water view, like the water sounds while I sleep.
The lounge can be nuts at times which adds to the coolness factor of this property. Good drinks and pub food.

Lobby featured chairs and couches, and the fireplace takes the chill off when the Winter winds start blowing. Front desk staff are always friendly. Shuttle service from the airport, and the Island's many taxi cab drivers were always prompt.

You're next to a Carrs, and a adjacent liquor store but be ready for sticker shock if you've never been there before. From what I've experienced traveling around that's the norm when you land on an island. You have to pay for the shipping.
Great place to stay.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Timothy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2013

We recently spent 3 nights in Dutch harbor Alaska on a combo Family and Business trip, The front desk staff was very helpful and courteous , The hotel is the best in dutch Harbor and has a great central location with stores and the ocean within walking distance. It is a very well used and the rooms run at a very high occupancy rate, The food was exceptional in the buffet and the Capt Quarters restaurant upstairs. Was what i expected in this remote area. Kudos to the ladies and gents at the front desk. In the real world it will be due for some room upgrades soon. But I was glad to be there and not the only other option for housing in Unalaska. The Beds are way too hard for me and i didnt sleep so well but they were clean and warm and modern.


Thanks Charlie & Sam

Room Tip: I think they are all the same i stayed on the 3rd floor,
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bearwatcher1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 October 2012

I won a trip to Dutch and stayed at the Grand. The first room was pretty good; very clean with a great shower. The bed was a little too hard for me though. The second night, we had to move to a different room. This room had much more comfortable beds but there was no heat, the hairdryer shorted out on me and the tub backed up on the second person that took a shower. There was about 6 inches of standing water by the time she was done.

The staff was great though and found us the second night's accomodations when weather forced us to stay another night. Seems like everyone else wanted a room too. They handled everything calmly and made us comfortable. Maybe it helped that we were with a group that had a little clout, but still, they made it bearable.

We also ate in the restaurant upstairs. We had the seafood buffet one night and a fantastic meal the next. Loved the buffet and could have stuffed my pockets with the smoked salmon if they'd let me.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dennymas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews