We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“DO IT!!!”

Alaska ATV Adventures
Ranked #2 of 13 things to do in Eagle River
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Girdwood/Bird Creek Tour Description There are no road signs marking the special entrance to this part of the park, most locals don’t even know about this wild scenic area. There is no need travel many miles out of town searching for the same riding experience. Alaska ATV Adventures focuses on the small group experience, providing excellent wildlife viewing and spectacular scenery to accompany a ride specifically tailored to the group. This awesome trail winds through the Northern reaches of the Pacific Coastal Temperate Rainforest about ½ way between Anchorage and Girdwood. The Girdwood/Bird Creek 3-hour tour includes a hike down to spectacular waterfall where salmon come to spawn mid-June through September. During this time there is a very good chance of seeing bears from the overlook and high alpine meadow.
Asheville, North Carolina
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“DO IT!!!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

Alaska ATV Adventures has the best prices and I had an awesome time! If you are unsure whether to go on ATV trip, GO. It is one of the most fun things I have ever done. It is totally worth the money. Water is provided- bring snacks if you like. We hiked to a nearby waterfall (beautiful!!), spotted bears, and our guide made videos of us driving through mud puddles. Oh yeah. If you are totally out of shape the hike might be a struggle, but for the average person it is not an issue.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank jcruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    3
    0
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Novato, California
2 reviews
“Rocking trip”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Bob our tour guide was amazing!!! It was just awesome!! The trails were hard core, but so much fun. Lots of water to splash through!! We saw some really amazing views and Bob was determined to find us a bear, which he did. It was on a hill side but he made sure we could see it through his telephoto lens he set up on his tripod. We hiked to an amazing waterfall and river, which we did not expect but was a blast!! Would totally book another trip through Bob!! I really loved that he made sure we knew how to drive the ATV before we left and the speed was completely left up to us!! Can't wait to do it again!!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank hotsoccercoach22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne Beach, Florida
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Enjoyed day”
Reviewed 17 July 2014 via mobile

Trails were bumpy and slow and not much scenery while riding. Had to hike to see scenery at overlooks and at rivers. Hiked to river and saw salmon and waterfall. Left atv behind on trail while hiking with guide. Guide spent a lot of time trying to find bears on distant hillsides while we waited. He did find some bears which was cool. Too far off to get get quality pics. Overall was a fun day but was less about atv riding and more about scanning for wildlife and hiking to scenic locations, which was not expected.

Helpful?
1 Thank Tfletch33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“ Soo worth the $ and tons of fun for all!”
Reviewed 12 July 2014 via mobile

We had 3 young adults (mid- twenties) & 1 older adult (mid-fifties) in our group and we also grouped with a couple newbies (father and teen daughter) and it was absolutely perfect for all ages, body types & experience levels!

We did the 3hr Girdwood tour with Bob and it was fantastic! For us more daring, experienced riders, we were able to get a lot of speed and craziness in while the older folks and newbies could take it easier and more carefully. We didn't have to wait around on anyone and our guide didn't hold us back or give us a ton of restrictions or rules.

Our guide, Bob, even stopped in key places to set up a scope and show us bears and mountain goats, and also to take tons of great photos.

I was really worried we'd end up going 5 miles an hour and not being able to really 4 wheel and splash around. I was pleasantly surprised and more than pleased. We got soaked and muddy and got to play around a ton. We even got to hike down an easy hike to a beautiful waterfall.. so worth it!! Our local family will be going again and if we come back we definitely will!

Helpful?
Thank onesieninja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great adventure!”
Reviewed 7 June 2014

My husband and I decided to go off the beaten path and book an atv ride on our Alaskan vacation....best decision ever! Our guides were wonderful as they led us around the mountain paths! We stopped at several clearings to view wildlife and even took a hike to a BEAUTIFUL waterfall! Overall a wonderful day! Highly recommended!

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank Amelia A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alaska ATV Adventures also viewed

 

Been to Alaska ATV Adventures? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing