We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously Wyndham You should be ashamed!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
Skagway, Alaska
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seriously Wyndham You should be ashamed!”
Reviewed 27 September 2013

Urine smell in the elevator and halls. I was on the second floor and I chose to take the stairs instead of the elevator. The stairwell smells like mildew. The bed linens were yellow, no blankets. The towels had holes and there was a disgusting gray ring around the bathtub. The front desk clerks smelled heavily of smoke and the night clerk stood at the desk talking in very loud foul language on the phone to another employee while I was trying to buy fabric softener sheets for the guest dryers. I too have not been in a hotel in over 20 years that did not have a hair dryer or coffee maker. Paying over $90 per night for a bare bones room was stupid. I had no other choice as I was in town to see doctors that I had established when I lived in Eagle River. I drover two days from Skagway to live in very poor conditions. Oh yes forgot...I was taking a shower and the whole faucet shot off and the pipe what just shooting out water...I was able to screw it back on but seriously

Room Tip: DO NOT STAY HERE...go into Anchorage and find something else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

249 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    26
    43
    59
    70
    51
See reviews for
92
52
23
45
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Holmen
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

It was okay. The desk clerk was very friendly and told us of some places to eat, which we chose one of and it was very good. I did, however wish there had been a hair dryer in the room, and we also would have liked a larger selection of food for the breakfast room.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham

Helpful?
Thank Ken C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minot, North Dakota
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2013

The only good thing I have to say is that one person at the counter was helpful. Otherwise, I had to go to three rooms to get one that would work. Also, no air conditioning, no swing locks on the doors, all three had stained carpet, chairs, couches, and towels. The hallways are stained up, the hard floor cracked and gapping. The elevator smells like pee. The hide-a-beds do not have springs to keep the matrass on, and both the rooms I tried had trash in them. Then my last room the door lock went completely out and we had to make sure the door was propped open or someone was in the room. They could not fix it or give us a different room. The continental breakfast was a tray of old bagels, and a juice machine. Bad all the way around.

Room Tip: my tip to getting a good room - stay someone else
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank B M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larkspur, Colorado
Level Contributor
457 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 255 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 August 2013

On the outskirts of the northern access of Chugach State Park which has amazing wildlife hikes, this Inn was reasonably priced and gave us a discount for our AARP membership. The breakfast was OK. The Inn was quiet for the most part, with small but adequate rooms, with good selection of channels on entertainment system. Close distance to some good places to eat in surrounding Eagle River. It was 30 minutes to Anchorage and awesome views of Mt McKinley from Eagle River. About 3-4 hours from Seward, our next stop for the night on our trip.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceandweller7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Eagle River
16.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Anchorage Airport
16.7 mi away
Puffin Inn
Puffin Inn
#36 of 73 in Anchorage
3.0 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
13.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
Comfort Inn Ship Creek
#23 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.9 mi away
Comfort Suites Anchorage International Airport
13.6 mi away
aviator hotel anchorage
aviator hotel anchorage
#48 of 73 in Anchorage
3.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
16.9 mi away
The Lakefront Anchorage
The Lakefront Anchorage
#5 of 73 in Anchorage
4.0 of 5 bubbles 446 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are

Property: Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are
Address: 13049 Old Glenn Hwy, Eagle River, Anchorage, AK 99577-7562
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Eagle River
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Eagle River
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Eagle River/Anchorage Are reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Microtel Inn & Suites Anchorage Area -Eagle River Hotel Eagle River
Microtel Inn And Suites Anchorage Area -Eagle River
Microtel Eagle River
Eagle River Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing