We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Didn't expect excellent pizza in Girdwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Coast Pizza

Coast Pizza
Ranked #13 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Price range: US$6 - US$30
Cuisines: Italian, American, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Seating, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Since April of 2009 Coast has been offering old favorites and some excellent additions under the new ownership of Mike Mroczynski (affectionately known by locals as "Merch") . With a totally remodeled kitchen and beautiful new dining room, Mike has continued to offer the quality pizza and subs regular customers have come to expect with some new additions. Mike uses some of his own recipes, adding his personal voice to the menu along with favorites everyone expects at Coast.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Didn't expect excellent pizza in Girdwood”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2013

there's several reviews expressing what a solid offering these guys are for pizza and subs. I'll just confirm that the pizzas and hot sandwiches we ordered from Coast were great. My brother seems to think the Twisted Twirl roast beef sandwich is the best he's ever had anywhere (philly cheesteak w spinach and pine nuts). thin crust pizza was good and well balanced amount of cheese and toppings

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dcrobson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    32
    22
    16
    2
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Nanaimo B.C.
Level Contributor
211 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 222 helpful votes
“Surprisingly Good”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2013

If you don’t want to fight the crowds in the Alyeska ski hill restaurants or in the town of Gridwood itself, try the Coast Pizza shop just off the highway as you enter into Gridwood. They have excellent pizza and calzones that you can eat right there or take with you.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TravellerNanaimoB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Girdwood, Alaska
Level Contributor
171 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Good pizza for Alaska”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 December 2012

Considering one of the only places in AK to get halfway decent pizza is the Moose's Tooth, I can't complain much about Coast. They have great Hawaiian pizza. With big chunks of ham. You will not find good pizza here if you are from New York or anywhere that is known for pizza, so Coast is not half bad, though Moose's Tooth should be your first option. For Girdwood, go with Coast, it's better than any other pizza you'll find around here.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tyrannosauruswrx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Knoxville, Tennessee
1 review
“Like others have said”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 December 2012

its hard to believe that the best Pizza you have ever eaten came from a tiny strip mall kitchen in Girdwood Alaska. After a long day of hiking and sight seeing, we had the pizza delivered to our room at the resort. When my wife told me how much it was, i about had a stroke, but once i dug in, the product eased the sting of the price.. We ordered the equivalent of what would be a meat lovers. Was it greasy, heck yea, it was loaded with meat, its supposed to be greasy. I am a big boy, and have no problem putting away large pizzas in your chain type pizza stores, not this thing. I ate 3 pieces and was about to burst. We had plenty for lunch the next day which actually made it a bargain.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Pretty Good for Pizza”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 June 2012

It's a little spendy, but the pizza is great. It would be just as good as Mooses Tooth if they upped the variety....

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank akgrowngirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Coast Pizza also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
Girdwood, Anchorage
 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Coast Pizza? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing