We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“first stay in a hostel”
Review of Alyeska Hostel

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Alyeska Hostel
Springfield, Missouri, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“first stay in a hostel”
Reviewed 9 September 2013

Arrived late to find our bedroom just as promised. This was my daughter and I first experience with a hostel. We did our homework and we VERY pleased with our stay at Alyeska Hostel. The host was wonderful, and we met the greatest people. We would have missed so much of the "local flavor" had we stayed elsewhere! It was clean, reasonable, felt safe, and cannot wait to go back!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brenda W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    19
    17
    4
    4
    3
See reviews for
9
15
7
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Portland, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a night in the private cabin (sleeps 4) and loved it! It was clean, warm, and has a little kitchenette and bathroom with shower. I will mention that the bunks/lofts are pretty close to the ceiling so may not be a good idea if you're claustrophobic :) The person we talked with and made our reservations through was friendly and helpful. The common area wasn't dirty, but it was kind of cluttered with dishes and books and whatnot, which could give the appreance of not being clean. We didn't spend any time in it though since we had our own cabin! Overall a great experience.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank amalthea1026
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

My husband and I were just about to give it up and sleep at a camping site when a lady at the local mercantile recommended this hostel. I was expecting an okay room for around $50-60 and when we got there, luckily, the private cabin was available for $84 and we were so impressed with how cute it was that we ended up staying an extra night. Tom was a wonderful host and we felt right at home in no time. The private cabin has everything you need: shower, oven, coffee maker, fridge, and a "fireplace." It fits up to four people, so definitely the perfect place for couples, and couples with kids.

Room Tip: Private cabin is more expensive than the other two rooms, but cheaper than any B & B you will fi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lital k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 August 2013

Unbelievable location nestled among beautiful houses and glorious neighbors. Tom (hostel host) is not only knowledgable, but goes above and beyond to help you in whatever your needs may be! Jeremey (the owner) actually lent the host his car to drive us 17 miles outside of town to get propane we needed to backpack into backcountry. Our private room was charming and cozy; I slept like a baby!!! If you're looking for a bargain, great people, and an unforgettable stay, Alyeska Hostel is where you want to be!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandiegothistime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 11 July 2013

I made a reservation with Tom, the hostel host, via telephone for a private room on the night of June 22, 2013. The evening of the 22nd, I called to let Tom know the approximate time of our arrival and found that he was out of town,in Anchorage with family. When we arrived, we found the front door lock removed and thrown on the porch, the door propped open with a screwdriver. Another guest had just arrived and he was concerned and felt that it was a very strange situation with no host and no way to secure the front door etc. Our room had two beds on the floor which were not made and the ceiling height did not allow standing in much of the room. We were not told about this when we made the reservation. We didn't like the situation, closed the upstairs bedroom, went outside and met a man from Japan who was staying in the cottage which seemed secure and comfortable. He said that Tom had not been around. After talking, we found it more agreeable to both parties to switch rooms. We subsequently closed the door to his cottage. Then we found that all 3 of us were locked out of our rooms. No keys were to be found anywhere. We called Tom and he was unwilling /unable to help. In fact, he said that in essence, it wasn't his problem and "he had his life to live". He wasn't coming to help. We were able to jimmy the door open on the cottage but not the upstairs bedroom. So, we had no place to sleep: it was a Saturday night in June and Girdwood was completely full. We drove to Hope as it was the next closest place on our way towards the Kenai, and found a motel room at 11:30 pm. Needless to say, we were shocked and angry about our experience, the only bad one of the whole trip to Alaska.

Room Tip: The private room has 2 double? Beds on the floor and such low ceiling that you have to crawl into an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Creve Coeur, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

Loved this place. It is a small cabin with a queen sized bed and two bunk/loft beds. There is a bathroom with a shower and sink, small fridge as well as a stove and all the amenities one would need. The ids LOVED it. Small window. I can't say enough on how quaint it was. Check in is after 6:00 PM and check out was before 11:00 AM so we didn't spend much time there except for showering and sleeping. Since we were there during the hot streak and record breaking the in Alaska we were a little warm sleeping that night. The cabin did not have air conditioning, nor did we expect it o. Who would have thunk way back when when we booked it it would be hot.

Overall it was clean, everything we needed was supplied and it met our needs. It sure beat paying more than $300.00 at the hotel down the road. The proprietor/owner was friendly and answered our questions regarding places to eat and hikes to take. We would stay there again and it was neat to have our kids experience something other than cushy hotel/motel rooms.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Angie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malaysia
Level 6 Contributor
290 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

I stayed there on 19 June 2013 for one night. I was told that I could check in only after 6pm. and check out at 11 am. I arrived at 9.45 pm. and found the note pinned in the kitchen - NO COOKING AFTER 9.30PM. After driving from Anchorage to Girdwood, we were so hungry BUT we are unable to prepare a meal. The room was so-so - a private room with 2 queen beds for me and my family. The bathroom was so tiny - not catered for obese but for a skinny like me, it was still small. Just imagine how a fat one can use the toilet. There was no microwave - so if you cannot use the kitchen after curfew hours - so NO warm meals.
The whole hostel was quite untidy - carpets looked like they were never vacumed for ages. Cupboards in the room was dusty like they were never cleaned before. Plates, knives, cups in the kitchen were messy and disorder. There is no kitchen towels nor any cloth for cleaning. The toilets were dirty like they were never clean for months.
The part time staff in-charge, a 60 year old man told us that he can clean the whole hostel (4 rooms, hall, kitchen, 3 toilets) within ONE hour! Just imagine how much can you clean within one hour.
The location was far from everywhere. It is located deep inside nowhere.
I would not recommend to stay there unless you are on a budget. Certainly, I will not stay there again.

Room Tip: The private from with 2 queen beds have no windows.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chua H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
0.5 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
26 reviews
19.2 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
304 reviews
1.5 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
2,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
5 reviews
1.2 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alyeska Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alyeska Hostel

Property: Alyeska Hostel
Address: 227 Alta Drive, PO Box 953, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Speciality Lodging in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alyeska Hostel has provided affordable lodging for travelers in Girdwood, Alaska for over 30 years, and was remodeled in 2016. We are located less than 1 hr from Anchorage Airport and 1 mile from Alaska's largest ski resort. In the main building we provide a ready to use kitchen, bathrooms with hot showers, a 6 bed coed shared dormitory, and 1 private room which sleeps 5. We also have a cabin with private bath and kitchen available year round, ansd a private studio with private bath and kitchenette. Many outdoor activities can be found in the Girdwood area year round, and Alyeska Hostel provides a clean, affordable place to relax, in a great location to base your adventures. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing