We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must see!!”
Review of Big Game Alaska

Big Game Alaska
Ranked #23 of 36 things to do in Girdwood
Attraction details
Sante Fe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A must see!!”
Reviewed 5 August 2012

Oh Yeah! This place rocks!! The animals are close the the fences so you can get photos that look like there isnt a fence. I had fun fooling the folks back home with my close up bear photo.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    6
    4
    4
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fun”
Reviewed 23 July 2012

This was a great thing to do in the rain. You can drive around the park and view the animals from the dry car.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank FunnygirlVA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orlando, Florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Bear Cub/ Moose”
Reviewed 11 July 2012

This si where we saw our first Big Game in Alaska. They were seen just as we got on the tram and then from in the air while riding up to the Ski area.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank travelingchinadoll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
135 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Maybe OK for some...”
Reviewed 20 February 2012

Not real wild about this property. I guess if a person has never seen some of these critters before it might be OK, but definitely not a destination in and of itself, and in my opinion, not worth the cost of admission. Definitely not for the active traveller that enjoys a hands-on experience -- truly for passive visitors only.

Visited January 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
24 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Name & Location Change”
Reviewed 13 February 2012

It's now known as the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center and is NOT located in Girdwood, but 10 miles further down the Seward Highway at the mouth of the Portage River valley.  That said, the center is the best place to see up-close-and-personal some of the wildlife tourists hope to see when they visit Alaska.  There's a feel-good atmosphere here, knowing your money goes to a worthy cause.  The facilities are being upgraded and the staff is knowledgeable and friendly.  The region's unpredictable weather makes the outdoor aspect of the center a bit problematic for visitors.  (Open only on weekends in winter, and fairly wild and wet on many days during the summer.)  Just be prepared for the weather and you'll be fine.  

Helpful?
4 Thank Roadlesstrvled
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Game Alaska also viewed

 

Been to Big Game Alaska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing