We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Bar Service and Good Food”
Review of Aurora Bar & Grill

Aurora Bar & Grill
Ranked #8 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Restaurant details
Maryland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Excellent Bar Service and Good Food”
Reviewed 16 June 2013

I enjoyed myself at the Aurora's bar twice during my stay here. Derek was a great bartender and able to keep all of his patrons well attended to while making all the drinks for the entire restaurant.

The food was also very memorable--the wagyu steak reminding me of some of the best steaks I've ever had. The Tiramisu was great for desert, as was the Baked Alyeska. Both were presented in a very ascetically pleasing way and were a great cap to the evening.

The bar also has a great selection of custom mixed drinks, ports, and Scotchs. While I didn't try it myself, one of their frequent patrons claimed Derek made the best martinis in Alaska.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Frank C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

138 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    55
    26
    7
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Steamboat Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Nothing too special”
Reviewed 1 May 2013

Tired service, no greeting upon arrival seemed put out when you order. Drinks and food take a long, long time, even when it's not busy.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank powdergirl77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
52 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Football night.”
Reviewed 28 March 2013

Good pizza, great drinks. Watched a football game with people from all over the world. We had a blast.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Nurserosie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, good selection”
Reviewed 14 March 2013

The pizza here was very good and well-priced. We compared it to some other places in town and found this to be one of the cheaper options. They also have an extensive beer list, which makes for fun tasting opportunities when with friends (they don't have a sampler menu). I ordered a Grand Marnier night cap and asked for it warm - they brought it on a snifter warmer. Bonus points! Most servers look at me funny when I ask for my Grand Marnier warm. They also have some very high end liquor offerings if you are into that type of thing.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank M H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Convenient location. Friendly service. Average food.”
Reviewed 9 March 2013

We love Alyeska and make an annual winter trip. At least one night every year, we decide to stay in and eat at the Aurora Bar & Grill in the hotel. It's nice and convenient, and the food is okay. Not great by any means....but not terrible. My husband actually loved his chicken parmesan this last time. I had the halibut special which was good, but no where near as good as the dinner I had at Jack Sprat. The entrees are about the same price-wise as other restaurants in Girdwood. The pizza is actually a pretty good value, and it's good.

Not a bad choice if you're staying at the Hotel Alyeska and don't want to bundle up to go out.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank cadematoWashington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Aurora Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Aurora Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing