We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“B & B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Girdwood Guest House
Ranked #5 of 10 Girdwood B&B and Inns
Pottstown, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

What a nice, warm, country feel, clean, super place to stay. Nice people.......
I'd go back in a heartbeat!

Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank DawnSR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    11
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
14
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lawrenceville, Georgia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2010

We stayed 2 nights at this very comfortable B&B right acroos the road from the Alyeska Ski Resort . Vert homey and nice. Pat & Judy , our hosts , were very accomodating and friendly. We took a very scenic hike on the Winner trail right behind the main hotel at the resort. It was wonderful. Also did some fishing near town .

If you are in this area of Alaska , I would recommend stopping here.

Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Ballplayer401
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
girdwoodguesthse, Owner at Girdwood Guest House, responded to this review, 21 May 2011
this review is not of Girdwood Guest House...it is of A Slope Side Apartment in Girdwood, another lovely B&B
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
227 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2010

Stayed here our first night in Alaska on our way down south from Anchorage to Whittier and Seward. As others have mentioned, it's nothing fancy, but it's cozy, private, has a VERY comfortable bed, and is cheaper than hotels in the Anchorage area. The homemade bread and jam provided for breakfast was delicious and the B&B was handy to a couple area attractions such as the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center and the Alyeska Resort and restaurants such as Chair 5 and the Double Musky. Overall very nice

  • Stayed June 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christie584
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Elk Grove, IL
Level Contributor
50 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2009

We stayed at the Girdwood Guest House for one night on our way from Anchorage to Seward. The location is great on a nice quiet street. The drive to Girdwood from Anchorage is gorgeous and shouldn’t be missed. Pat and Judy are very hospitable and offered some suggestions on things to see in the area. The rate was very reasonable, much less than hotels in Anchorage.

This B & B was very clean. It has a small living room, kitchen, bedroom and bath. You enter in the kitchen/living room area. The bedroom and bathroom are in the back of the house. The owners live upstairs from the unit. We never heard them and were told to just ring the door bell if we needed anything from them. The bed is very comfortable and the bedding is very nice. Breakfast is delicious homemade bread, jelly, hard boiled eggs, milk, juice, & cereals.

This was the favorite place we stayed at during the week in Alaska. I would highly recommend this B&B.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
2 Thank woowoochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Villages, Florida
Level Contributor
178 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 135 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 August 2009

We stayed two nights here, one in the middle of our trip and on our last night. Chose this place for location. We traveled to the Kenai and then stayed here on our way north to Fairbanks. We then returned for our last night, instead of staying in Anchorage. The location is on a side street, a short drive away from the Aleyska resort. The room was a 2 room suite, located below the owner's residence. The kitchen- living room area was nice, with windows and good space, with futon couch. The bedroom had a large bed and a futon couch / bed. I slept in both and they were fine. Futons are a bit firm, but it was OK with me. No windows back here.The bathroom was clean and wel lit, with laundry area that you could use if you needed to for a fee. The breakfast was cereal, toast, canned fruit, hard boiled eggs, juice, coffee. The food was there so you could eat when you wanted. A great stopping point for our vacation. The town is small. We did a rafting trip from here, but there is not much else to do in town. The restaurants are good - we ate at Chair 5 which we recommend.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rochester, New York
Level Contributor
176 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 152 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 August 2009

We stayed one night at the Girdwood Guest House. It was a nice place in a lovely area, but a bit cramped if one were to stay longer than a night or two. The rooms are downstairs and the owners live upstairs. You enter into the kitchen/living space area. The first room is a not-very-large rectangle with the kitchen on the right side of the rectangle and a couch, chair and TV on the left. The couch (or was it a futon?) opens into a bed. You walk through this room to enter the bedroom which has two beds - one was a king - I think (very comfortable), and the other a fairly uncomfortable queen. The beds are located with the king against the wall, and the queen on the opposite wall, with a space between them to pass through. There are no windows in this room, so the late sunlight hours are not a problem, but it's also not as nice a room for daytime hanging out. To get to the bathroom you go through this bedroom. The place was clean and the owners pleasant. Breakfast was left in the fridge and on the counter (as with many places in Alaska) - homemade sourdough bread, hard boiled eggs, hot and cold cereal, yogurt and apples. Perfect for our travelling needs, but I would not have enjoyed it as much if that were our final destination for a week.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jillles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Fe, NM
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2009

My brother and I stayed here one night on the way to Soldotna. This isn't a fancy place by far, but it was quiet and comfortable and the hostess is a very nice lady. It was all we needed, we were happy with our stay and we would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandraFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
0.6 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
19.1 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 275 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,829 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
1.8 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Girdwood Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Girdwood Guest House

Property: Girdwood Guest House
Address: 274 Brighton Road, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cozy 1st floor private suite with private entrance, deck, and parking featuring two separate sleeping rooms, king bed & queen futon in large bedroom, comfy sofa sleeper in sitting room, pack n play for baby, full bath and laundry (for a small fee) eat-in kitchen, FREE WIFI, cable TV, DVD, movies, books, free hearty self serve breakfast with fresh homemade breads+, all dishes, cooking utensils, towels, linens, soaps, shampoo, cream, and QUIET very clean atmosphere, located at base of Mt Alyeska, children and families welcome! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing