We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“High End Resturant, Bar”
Review of Seven Glaciers

Seven Glaciers
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Glaciers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, View, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alyeska Highway
Transit: Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909
Description: Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Jason Porter carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Porter presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.
Alaska
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“High End Resturant, Bar”
Reviewed 26 July 2014

Although we did not eat here, we did enjoy the bar. contemporary restaurant upscale and with upscale prices. drinks were $12 each for a Mojito that was ok but not the best I've ever had. Nice view out of the bar windows. I'd consider this a "romantic restaurant" special occasion place. If your eating here the tram price is free. The restaurant is at the top of Alyeska Ski Resort. Take time to enjoy the views they are stunning

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank califcruiser1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

654 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    413
    137
    66
    28
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Views or Food ?”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

I had been given a recommendation of this restaurant by some folks in Anchorage. They were so right . It was a clear day with magnificent views everywhere you looked . You have to take a ski tram to the restaurant .there is a trail if you don't mind an hour and half walk up a ski slope ;)

The views in the restaurant are breathtaking .. as a single I sat at the bar and ate there .. service was great, I had a local fresh fish ( Black Cod). The portion was generous but not gigantic. In all it was worth the trip.

Note : The ride up is free if you have reservations for dinner -(I did not have one and tried to make one it was a 2 hours wait) - But tram gal let me go for free since I was going to eat at the bar ... otherwise its a $25 ticket up and back.

Also at the top is a Museum and small gift shop (Roundhouse) .. it was closed when I went by - it looked very interesting . so if you get there early enough you can visit ...

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TravlnDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 5 Contributor
63 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Excellent Meal, Outstanding Views”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a great meal at this restaurant. The menu is well put-together and all of the food is fresh. I found our waiter to be very knowledgeable and attentive. The meals were fantastic- everything tasted great! The views are really what sets this place apart from the rest. You have to take a tram to get to the top, thought I think they will pay your ticket if you have dinner there. The menu is a little pricey, but so is everything else in Alaska. If you are in the area, I would give this place a try!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lovestravel83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, WV
Level 5 Contributor
68 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Great Return Visit!”
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We visited this restaurant 13 years ago and had a memorable experience so we wanted to visit again on our return trip to Alaska. It met our high expectations. Our group of five loved each course and was again impressed by the view. If you are planning to take the tram to the top of the mountain from Hotel Alyeska it costs around $20 per person to do so. If you have reservations at Seven Glaciers you do not have to pay to take the tram to the restaurant. The views are GORGEOUS and the atmosphere is calm and quiet but not so quiet that you can't speak to your table mates. Great distance between tables and informative wait staff. All our dishes were wonderful. :) This is a great place for a special meal while in Alaska.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank karaandwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“High Priced, average restaurant”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited this restaurant second week in July 2014. Overall we had a very average experience. What we were served was great tasting, (Salmon, Crab, Halibut), but other things made this a very unmemorable dining experience; incredibly small portions, extremely slow or non-existent service, in an industrial setting.

Yes, it's expensive, ($275 for 4 people with 1 drink each) we knew that going in, but having visited similar priced restaurants we expected a certain level of quantity and service that wasn't delivered that evening.

If you need to visit this location, ride the tram up to the top station, visit the deli and save the change. Better yet, walk up to the top station, bring your meal from somewhere else, enjoy the view and ride the tram down for free.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Sourdough_Jake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Glaciers also viewed

 

Been to Seven Glaciers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing