We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great view”
Review of Seven Glaciers

Seven Glaciers
Reserve with OpenTable
Seven Glaciers is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #2 of 24 Restaurants in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$25 - US$50
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Alyeska Highway
Transit: Glacier Valley Transit (GVT) operates a year-round transportation busing system with fixed route service in Girdwood, Alaska. GVT is owned and operated by Girdwood Transportation, LLC and leases employees from Alyeska Resort. GVT is made possible by a grant from the Federal Transit Authority and The Alaska Department of Transportation. 907-382-9909
Description: Seven Glaciers is Alyeska Resort’s AAA Four Diamond award winning mountain-top restaurant. Offering signature Alaskan entrees in an elegant atmosphere, the Seven Glaciers experience is extraordinary from start to finish. Your journey begins with a scenic aerial tram ride that takes you high above The Hotel Alyeska to 2,300 feet above sea level. From this mountain-top perch, Seven Glaciers is surrounded by nature from every direction. This means that every table features panoramic glacier and water views. Chef Jason Porter carefully crafts the Seven Glaciers' menus with an emphasis on locally available produce, seafood and game. With an attention to detail and a flair for the unexpected, Chef Porter presents delectable Alaskan favorites with his own personal touch. Seven Glaciers boasts an award winning wine list and full bar to perfectly complement your meal. Please leave room for dessert--the Baked Alyeska cannot be missed.
Brooklyn, New York
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“great view”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The restaurant is lovely - riding the tram up is fun, and the views are outstanding. Our server was great. We were pretty excited that they had a gluten free menu for our GF friend, but overall the food was just ok, not four diamond. We know for a fact that they don't even make the desserts on site -- they're made in the kitchen at the base and brought up -- because we tried to get one altered a bit for our GF friend and they explained it all comes ready-made. Of the four main dishes we had, the halibut was the best. The salmon was pretty underwhelming. Generally speaking the presentation was far superior to the flavors. Be sure to reserve ahead on Open Table to get the free tram tickets. Next time I'd go just for a drink / appetizer rather than full on dinner.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thornsolo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

670 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    426
    139
    66
    29
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
1 review
“Great Restaurant with outstanding view”
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Amazing experience!! What a view from this resaurant. Eating and drinking wine at this restaurant was worth the price. Food is good and service is good. We really enjoyed the tram ride up the muntain! SO much fun. This has to be the most scenic resaurant in North America!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lisapickering
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice space, good service, awful food”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

Hard to beat the location of this restaurant. Views are amazing, even in the rain (like during our visit). Our server was super nice (although she seemed a little light on knowledge of the dishes).

The problem with this place is the food is really bad, not even considering the price. My salmon dish was not seasoned at all and was completely overcooked -- had the texture of a minute steak at a Waffle House. My wife got halibut, which was also way overcooked and lacked seasoning. She also got the signature appetizer of scallop soup, and it was just gross -- the mousse on the bottom tasted off. The halbut ceviche I got (which was also supposed to be a signature dish) only tasted of one thing -- lime juice. That's all you could taste. It was totally overpowering and I couldn't eat very much of it.

Net net -- we got 4 expensive dishes, and each of them was cooked improperly and were borderline inedible. The kitchen clearly isn't paying attention. I guess with their location they don't have to. It's funny, the next day we did a guided glacier hike and we told our (local) guide about our experience, and she said it was well known in the area that the food at Seven Glaciers was bad, and that locals never go there. She recommended a couple of other places, one of which we went to. I'd recommend just taking the tram up (or hiking up), looking around, and going to a better restaurant. You can enjoy the view much more cheaply than paying a lot of money for subpar food.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ian L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Whitney
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Alyeska Hotel Dining”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Friendly competent service, great views, reasonable pricing, good wine selection and good selection of meal options. If you book a table directly with the restaurant, the tram ride is free. Otherwise the tram costs $50. per person.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Backw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
texas
Level 6 Contributor
140 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“OUTSTANDING AND WHAT A VIEW!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

What a wonderful dinner at the top of the mountain! We were staying at the resort below and made reservations several weeks ahead. The ride up on the tram is breathtaking! From this restaurant you can see 7 different glaciers on the surrounding mountains...truly an amazing view! This is a fancy restaurant and the food was wonderful. VERY expensive, so be prepared...we didn't eat at very many expensive restaurants in Alaska, so it was our one big splurge...well worth it!!

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank texasgirl020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Seven Glaciers also viewed

 
Girdwood, Anchorage
 

Been to Seven Glaciers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing