We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Will go back during the winter next time!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Girdwood
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 10 Girdwood B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
2 reviews
“Will go back during the winter next time!”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My group of 6 adults spent two nights with Rachel and Jake mid-July. What a wonderful spot! The rooms were beautifully furnished with all the necessary amenities. The atmosphere was relaxed and our hosts helped us with suggestions and entertained us with local stories. We were in Alaska for two weeks, one on a cruise ship, and Rachel's breakfasts were rated the best of the trip by all. My father won't eat melted cheese and my sister doesn't eat eggs. Rachel gladly cooked special meals just for them while the rest of us enjoyed her special recipes. This is a don't miss stop for anyone visiting the Girdwood area. Our next visit will be during winter to check out the skiing in nearby Mt. Alyeska.

Room Tip: There are only 4 rooms and they're all great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Catering to special diets or tastes is always our pleasure, and even better when it is appreciated...thank you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

140 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    108
    20
    8
    1
    3
See reviews for
33
77
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Saint Cloud, Florida
Level Contributor
68 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My husband and I recently vacationed in the Girdwood area near the Crow Creek Gold Mine. We spent three nights with Rachel & Jake at the Carriage House B&B. The first two nights were in the Carriage Room. The third night was spent in the Wagon Room. The accommodations were simple, but comfortable and clean. We preferred the Carriage Room. The best part of our stay was the hospitality and delicious homemade full breakfasts. Rachel is a great cook and we were never disappointed. Both owners are very easy going and enjoyable to visit with. The upstairs dining area is decorated in beautiful Alaskan motif thanks to Jake's incredible talent for construction! We also enjoyed sitting on the porch in the evening surrounded by their gorgeous wildflowers.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Glad you enjoyed your stay! We are very laid back and comfortable welcoming people into our beautiful home that Jake built with his years of woodworking experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellingham, Washington
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Where do I begin? This B&B exceeded all of my expectations! The host is a wonderful and caring woman and her and her family have opened up their home to travelers from near and far. We were greeted by Rachel as she showed us to our room.. nice and comfortable for our 2 night stay :) her property is gorgeous! has a lawn to lay out in (it was sunny the weekend we were there) and a trampoline! Rachel makes breakfast and has it ready by 8:30am with any special dietary needs taken into consideration, we had the most memorable breakfast with other guests who traveled from as far as Florida.. I have nothing bad to say abou this experience! Our flight left early on the second morning and she even packed us snacks! Truly an amazing place to stay while in Girdwood, I will be visiting again!

Room Tip: We stayed in the carriage room, it was comfortable!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VCastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Thank you, we have been working hard on the landscaping and as always enjoy cooking and catering to guests needs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Youngstown, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Stayed for one night in July, 2014. Location easy to find. Site was wooded with area of flowers and lawn. Construction appears new (owners built this 3 story B&B and live upstairs). Clean, starkly furnished rooms for guests are on first floor. Ours was compromised by outside wall which ran along the wooden walkway leading to entrance as well as the gravel drive. Other guests could easily see in with curtains open. When returning at night, car lights flood the room and noise of vehicle on drive as well as guests talking on their way to the door was disturbing. The sound insulation for adjacent room is also poor (can hear TV and guests talking). Bathroom is very small with one piece shower/tub unit and commode separated by inches. TV has cable access.
Breakfast was hot and well prepared. Hosts were cordial and informative

Room Tip: Avoid room adjacent to drive/walkway entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BillandJanR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
The Carriage House rooms are simply furnished and cater to the guests needs without excess clutter. The room described as compromised by the outside wall, does have roman shades for privacy but load noises can be heard from outside, as with most home bedrooms that have windows.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stuart, Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We stayed 2 evenings in the Coach room. Plenty of room for 2 adults in a king and 1 child with a twin fold up bed. Room was equipped with darkening shades and a soft down comforter. Rachel served the best breakfast on our travels! She had a variety of homecooked choices and filled special requests for those guests who wanted something different. The area is clean and homey and the host family (including dog) were all super friendly!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Reba D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Cooking the guests breakfast is my favorite part of what I do here at The Carriage House and catering to guests dietary needs is my pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
165 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Carriage House is excellent place. Great place to stay over, Hosts assist with all information and planning for area activities. Food is outstanding, accommodations clean and comfortable and accessible. Great place to stay. Best in Girdwood and within reasonable distance of Girdwood.

Room Tip: all rooms are fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AbsolutelyA-Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
Glad you liked everything, we strive for guest satisfaction, and truly enjoy when we achieve it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014

We stayed here one night on our way from Anchorage to Seward and liked it so much we booked on our return trip as well. Rachel and Jake just go on living while we visitors enjoy the B&B rooms downstairs including a nice sitting area outside, a lawn and pleasant view. Hosts friendly and helpful; great breakfast in their hand built dinning room upstairs and bedrooms very private, clean and comfortable with nice shared guest kitchen and dinning area downstairs. We'll be back!

Room Tip: The Coach Room and Surrey Room are a bit more private but all have their own bathrooms and home was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gretchen582014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carriagehousebandb, Owner at Carriage House Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 13 October 2014
We are glad you enjoyed the amenities, the Carriage House is designed with the guests in mind.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
0.2 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
19.7 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Alyeska
Hotel Alyeska
#1 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
1.3 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
22.8 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carriage House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carriage House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Carriage House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 388 Crow Creek Road, P.O. Box 355, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Carriage House B&B/Suite is a beautiful newly built timberframe home nestled in the forest along California Creek on the edge of the Chugach National Forest. This cozy Inn features a massive hand hewn post and beam stucture, river rock fireplace, radiant heated hardwood floors and huge arched windows revealing Alaska's unsurpassed beauty....all where a warm homemade breakfast is waiting just for you!! ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing