We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel with all the amenities”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Salt Lake City, Utah, United States
Level Contributor
329 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Excellent hotel with all the amenities”
Reviewed 23 April 2012

We stayed at this lovely resort and skied for 3 days. The mountain is small but skis big. It has been likened to Arapaho Basin (CO) on steroids, The hotel gave us a great deal. The room was $210 a day but that included 2 lift tickets and a $25 credit to be used anywhere at the resort. The beds were decadent, as well as the pillows. The views from our room were wonderful (mtn side) and the extras were a great touch. Fluffy towels, bath robes, slippers, Starbucks Coffee in room, a frig and an excellent, reasonable room service menu. The tram to skiing leaves from the hotel. There is a full sevice spa that is also in the hotel, but between skiing, dining and a social hour, we didn't have time to use it.

Room Tip: Both sides have great views. It depends if you want to look at the ski area or watch the sun go down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marlynne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,858 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,221
    441
    116
    52
    28
See reviews for
584
773
72
84
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (505)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Stayed 3 nights in march 2012 and had a great time. Hotel is very convenient for most things in girdwood. Room was spacious,very clean and extremely comfortable. Bar served good beer and very good food. Breakfast was ok/standard stuff really. Staff were very pleasant and helpfull
Would definitely stay here if I get the chance to return to girdwood
McG

Room Tip: My room was on 4th floor & was very quiet. Had good view of half pipe from window
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ismcgregor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DC
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2012

Prepare to enjoy wonderful views, service and warmth along with hospitality. Skiing, hiking, snowshoeing and luxury. If you can, stay here and prepare to be pampered.

Room Tip: In the fall and spring for a two week period, the rooms are a steal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tealight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Madison, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 April 2012

If you love to be out doors any time of the year, this is a great place to do so. We went in early April and skiing was still big. We also went cross country skiing and hiking. All of our gear was provided by the resort and the people who work there know their stuff---they live for it! It looks like in the summer there are some amazing hiking and biking trails too! I would love to go back and see what it is like there then.
The hotel was extremely reasonably priced and was extremely nice! We went swimming almost every day and went to the spa there.
Our room was very nice with a good view and good maid service---we have free bottled water all the time and they put chocolates on your pillow at night. The room was very quiet as well.
The only issue we had with the room was the temperature---it was quite warm and the thermostat didn't seem to function as we wanted---however, there was a little portable fan in the room that we used. What got me attracted to the hotel in the first place was their website and let me tell you---it is the same as the resort...amazing!

Room Tip: Get one with a view----fourth floor and up.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melissakludois
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
94 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

We so much enjoy this hotel - the majestic view, Fabulous Food (seven glaciers), wonderful skiing / snowboarding, the saltwater pool is sooo relaxing after a long day and the rooms are so comfy and inviting. - Enjoy

  • Stayed April 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AK-reviewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
93 reviews
84 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2012

We stayed several nights at Alyeska while doing a 2500 mile driving trip through Alaska last summer.Throughout our stay we tried to find top of the line accommodations and stayed at a lot of properties owned by cruise lines(princess). This resort was by far the best place we stayed and the only one truly up to standards I would expect in "the lower 48". Very attractive setting and grounds and a nice indoor pool. Because of lack of luxury properties elsewhere I would recommend staying here and using it as your base for as much of your travels as possible

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IndianaTravelmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2012

A great hotel location, but the place needs some updates. I'm worried that if the place isn't shut down for a bit for some updates time is going to pass it by. The rooms have flat screen TVs and new alarm clocks, but there is some 1983 in the room also (old phone in bathroom, European showerhead fixture). We only ate at the Ponds Cafe for breakfast brunch, was ok at best. Coffee was Starbucks, but a bit cool. The servers were great (Rudy), but the food and selection wasn't all that decent... old stuff left out on buffett both mornings. Again, place needs some updating... time is passing it by. A heavily advertised feature is the pool and hot tub, both are great, but quickly become crowded at 4-5PM; crowded to the point that it is a bit obnoxious to stay in the pool. Again, some updating needed. This is not quite the type of pool/hot tub you may be familiar with at high ski lodges in UT or CO.
If you're making a once-in-a-bluemoon trip to AK for Alyeska skiing, I wouldn't stay at the Hotel Alyeska. There are lots of houses for rent with similar features at similar prices (and you can walk to Sitz Mark, Jack Spratt, Bake Shop). If you live in AK, or at least frequent Girdwood often, a stay there once to at least make your own judgement wouldn't be a waste of money, but probably isn't one you will spend on again.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GAKSAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 12 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
3.0 of 5 bubbles 7 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
4.5 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
23.8 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
5.0 of 5 bubbles 71 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing