We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Place to stay”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Perfect Place to stay”
Reviewed 19 October 2013

I stay at this hotel for only 2 nights, and wish I had for a week! The hotel has a lot to offer, the tram up the mountain, nice dinners, pleasant employees, and a lovely spa. I have to say for Anchorage this place is top notch and the scenery is gorgeous..

Make sure to take the tram up to the top to see the seven glaciers and try out the great services in the spa. The spa rivals any 5 star spa in New York City. We'll be going back for sure!

Room Tip: We got a suite for just a few dollars more and it was totally worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank The_traveler_1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,035 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,330
    483
    133
    57
    32
See reviews for
647
851
77
91
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (539)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 October 2013

I live in Salt Lake, so we're pretty spoiled by the amount of resorts to choose from. If I compared this to other top-notch resorts in Utah and Colorado it may be more average than very good. But if you compare it to the other Anchorage area accommodations we stayed at, it's very good. We stayed for 4 days in October so we didn't have an opportunity to try the skiing accommodations but it was really relaxing and nice for what we did.

Alyeska is a great travel point if you want to see the Anchorage area, without having to be in Anchorage. The drive from Anchorage is absolutely beautiful and an activity within itself. It took us less than an hour to make the drive. We traveled to Seward and Whittier (there's nothing in this town BTW) and both places were easily accessible for day trips.

Our last day we just hung out at the resort and hiked around. There was enough to fill one day at the resort, but we definitely would have been bored if we were there more than the one day.

The staff was all really nice and friendly. We ordered room service and the prices were really reasonable, compared to Alaska prices which are pretty high in comparison to most lower 48 cities. They do charge a delivery fee and auto-gratuity which together was about 22% of the bill. I don't remember them posting that in the in-room menu, but it wasn't a shock as most resorts charge that.

So overall, we liked Alyeska. The view from the tram is amazing. The staff was really nice and the common area is well kept and comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HereTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
74 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 October 2013

We loved the Alyeska. It was off season (October 1) so not alot of activity. Did the couples massage and enjoyed the pool and hot tub. Had breakfast the next morning in the hotel restaurant and it was fabulous! Try the reindeer sausage for fun! Really enjoyed the fitness center and viewing the mountains from the salt water hot tub! Bed was super comfy! Special touch in the bathroom-heated towel bar. Loved that feature so much-ready to buy one for home!

Room Tip: Note: the mini fridge and safe is in the closet. We did not discover until we were checking out. G...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 1stjayhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New
1 review
Reviewed 11 October 2013

Very peaceful during the week. Overwhelmingly crowded over the weekend. During the weekdays, it felt like we had the entire hotel to ourselves, which was at times a little scary.

Warning to those who are sensitive to allergies: I'm not hyper allergic when I travel and stay in hotels or guess houses. When we arrived, I became allergic to the bedsheets almost instantly. The half of my face that touched the sheets became inflamed, bright red, and hot. My eye on the half of the face that didn't touch the sheets was so inflamed, I couldn't open it. The sheets were changed and I still had a reaction. Since it was a Saturday night, the hotel was too crowded for a room change. My legs got rashes the next night. Everything was fine by the third night.

Everyone who worked there that I encountered were nice, personable, and helpful. Maybe it's an Alaskan thing.

It was disappointing that the attractions at the top of the tram were closed. As we're all but one of the restaurants in the hotel.

We loved the salt water pool and hot tub. My skin felt great afterward.

Oktoberfest was very underwhelming. I was expecting a lot more with all the hype.

The Pesto Pizza is delicious!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mulan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We were able to stay at a good rate in early October 2013. The hotel was nearly empty of guests, but service was still great. The staff made our stay memorable and comfortable. Our room was comfortable and spacious – not huge, but not tiny either. Great mountain views. The restaurants were also great – we went there multiple times as the food was fabulous. The one downside was being asked to move when we were drinking a couple beers during happy hour near the firepit they have out back. I know they prefer to have you pay $$ at the bar for beers, but people kicking back and relaxing after a long day shouldn’t be conceived or treated as unruly hotel guests who have to be told to stop. Overall though, great hotel – would liken it to a Sheraton or Marriott.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a mountain view -- they will try to accommodate you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chris G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barrington NH
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2013

We stayed at the Hotel Alyeska on the last night of our 18 day Alaskan vacation. We were there June 20, 2013 and we had room 631--we could see the Cook Inlet from our window. The grounds were well kept with flowers everywhere. Some of the cabins we stayed at in Alaska could easily fit in this room- we thought is was huge The windows opened and a perfect breeze was blowing through. The king size bed was very comfortable, the chocolates on the pillow was a very nice touch, the room was beautifully decorated, the guest towels were fluffy and the towel heater was a nice surprise! It was also our 32nd anniversary, we dined at the 7 Glaciers Restaurant and everything was perfect. We could see 5 glaciers from our table-the view from the top of the mountain was spectacular. The drinks, food and service were excellent. The tram ride was included with dinner reservations.

We had coffee and pastry in the coffee shop in the morning then bought gifts in the gift shop.
Everything was fabulous and we REALLY wanted to stay another WEEK!!!

This is a place you can't miss.

Room Tip: Room 631 faces the Cook Inlet- beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank karen29len
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Augustine, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 October 2013

This was an incredible vacation in a beautiful hotel! My 7th floor room had a window facing the tram, mountains, glaciers, and a beautiful pond which was visited by a Mama and baby moose! The room was beautiful and offered all the amenities one could ask for. Housekeeping did an excellent job right down to the chocolates on my bed each evening! Every employee was extremely nice and helpful. The front desk was well represented by all the employees, especially Robert, Aaron and Sequoia. They were very professional and kind, as well as helpful! I can't say enough about the pool and Jacuzzi! Love both of them! Also, the hotel is decorated perfectly. It was inviting, warm and comfortable. I was thrilled to find that they serve Starbucks coffee! They even have a coffee maker and Starbucks coffee in the rooms! On a scale of one to ten, I would give this hotel an eleven!

Room Tip: I can only recommend my room, but I'm sure they are all nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
26 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
305 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.8 mi away
Highland Glen Lodge
Highland Glen Lodge
#15 of 127 in Anchorage
77 reviews
25.0 mi away
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
Midnight Sun Log Cabins
#3 of 3 in Moose Pass
35 reviews
2.6 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
22 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing