We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cool town, rude front desk”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

I am not a complainer, and I've traveled all over the world. I've had great service and bad service but rude service is my least favorite. The front desk had a few snotty folk, Michael was the only name I could remember. If you get him, beware. He will make you feel unwelcome and he will offer you no help if asked. And it wasn't just us, pretty much everyone that came to the front desk walked away feeling a bit puzzled by what just happened. Rude to its highest potential. It was a bit disappointing dealing with him right off the bat. The valet guy was more helpful! We were put in a room on the 3rd floor looking over the parking lot right over some fans that ran all night. The hotel was completely empty since it was a Sunday night, so you would think they could afford to put you in a nice room. Well, the restaurant staff (the cafe on the "lake") was awesome. The food was great and other than that...hotel alyeska was ok.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Sharlie9776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AlyeskaResort, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded 23 November 2013

Sharlie9776,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us and for your comments. I apologize that you felt one of our staff members was being rude and I assure you that was not their intention. I am glad to see that the food at the Pond Café was great and that our complimentary valet service was helpful. Please feel free to contact me to discuss further.

Sincerely

Darren Hawes
Operations Manager
The Hotel Alyeska
907-754-2109

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,129)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,445 - 1,451 of 2,129 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013

The hotel room was very large and clean. It had everything we needed and we were happy with that. However, the room was too warm and there was no way to control the temperature. We opened the window in the room, and that helped a little bit but it was still really warm all night and that negatively affected our sleep. Also, we could hear EVERYTHING. From the people running and stomping above us, to the person starting their shower in the room next door to people talking loudly and laughing at 1am in the hallway. This was a nightmare and we hardly slept through the night because of it. I have never stayed in a hotel where you can actually hear everything that's happening in the rooms around you, it was bizarre. Not to mention, there were kids coming out of the woodworks. Literally, everywhere we went there were unsupervised kids running through the hallways and yelling. The hotel staff obviously doesn't care about this, but it was a nuisance to us. I don't know, maybe this was all a random occurrence- maybe it was just a wild saturday night?

Staff during check-in and check-out were average, there was nothing special about those interactions. Breakfast was decent, but again the service was average. When we walked up to get a table for breakfast, the girls working didn't make eye contact with us and they looked to be having some kind of disagreement when we walked up. Hardly a professional thing to do in front of a guest. Our waitress was great, very friendly.

Lastly, the setup for getting to the fitness room is strange. You have to walk out into the pool "area" to get to the fitness room and there's water everywhere. You're basically walking through large puddles of water to get into the gym and there are tons of people everywhere. It would be nice to have these two areas separated a little more. It doesn't seem very clean or safe.

Girdwood is a beautiful, quiet town. It was snowing when we left, which gave it a serene feel. We love the town and will be back, however next time we'll check out a quiet B&B so we can get some sleep.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room before checking in, and they assured us we would have one. It was the loud...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SFLF2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

It is 11/9 and there is a gorgeous add on the hotel site and also on the internet to book a Thanksgiving Pkg 199.00, 2 guests for a room and the Thanksgiving dinner with seating at 4 different times. Except there is no seating for Thanksgiving so there is no package but the lovely ad still says Book Now. If you are full 3 weeks ahead take the ad down. I have been to this hotel before and it is nice except that the staff lets their own dogs off leash on the trails because the signs to leash do not mean them naturally. It is lovely and the service is good but I am put of by this ad for nothing and the fact I had to call to find it out. Marketing Dept needs to do better.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kat Cavanaugh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yukondoit, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this reviewResponded 19 November 2013

Guest viewed digital ad on Facebook for Thanksgiving package. Ad was removed as soon as Marketing Department was notified that Thanksgiving Dinner had sold out. Apologized to guest via e-mail and will continue to ensure speedy removal of ads when products have sold out... ad was only live for a few hours after package had sold out. Unfortunately every so often there is overlap between availability of items and refreshing of digital ads.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

This was part of our Cruise Tour and it was an amazing hotel and nice area.

We were able to walk to the small town from the hotel and there were also walking trails where we encountered a moose ( our first sighting this trip! )

The room was spacious and clean and very relaxing. The hotel staff were polite and helpful.

Would stay here for several days if we had the opportunity to

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluebabe83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

Even though we stayed between peak times (so most activities and restaurants were closed) we were very impressed at how beautiful the hotel, grounds and amenities were. Wonderful salt water pool and huge hot tub is a must during a stay there. Wish we could have enjoyed the tram up the mountain or Sakura sushi bar (been before and it's incredible), though it was so nice and quiet it was worth it this time of year. The small suite was a nice surprise with incredible views and the deep soaking tub with separate shower was a nice surprise. Great hotel, beautiful rooms and what an incredible pool area! Nothing but very friendly service from check in to check out and everything in the middle.

Room Tip: Suite was well worth the extra room and bay windows. View of the ski mountain would be great in seas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

This is the most high-end hotel in Alaska. It really a wonderful beautiful place. Totally impressed with it all. The Roundhouse at Alyeska Museum and Interpretive Center is located at the top of scenic Mt. Alyeska, in Girdwood, Alaska. Awesome views!

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AliceHeng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013

I visited the Hotel Alyeska for a too short one night stay last week and once again enjoyed this great hotel. There is no other place I've stayed in my travels that combine such an excellent location as well as amazing comfort and service. Visited the Pond Steakhouse for dinner and had an amazing steak and then in the morning took a swim in the indoor pool and sat in the hot tub with a view of the mountains. After that it was back to Oregon and the winter rain. I'm already looking forward to my next visit to Alyeska! Make sure to check the website to look at what services are available if you are visiting in the off-season, as they do shut them down for maintenance, but still plenty of options available.

Room Tip: I've stayed on both sides of the hotel, and you have a good view either way!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mcbridemikej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
29 reviews
19 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
315 reviews
2.5 mi away
Alyeska Hideaway
Alyeska Hideaway
#3 of 3 in Girdwood
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
23.4 mi away
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
A Goldenview Bed and Breakfast
#18 of 126 in Anchorage
10 reviews
11.6 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
8 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range: £109 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing