We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for skiing - beautiful sceneries”
Review of Hotel Alyeska

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Alyeska
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Certificate of Excellence
Mechanicsville, Maryland
1 review
“Great for skiing - beautiful sceneries”
Reviewed 31 December 2013

We just got back from Hotel Alyeska. We stayed there from Dec 21-26 and had a great time. Food choices are ok. Sakura - Japanese restaurant is pretty small place and it was packed. Aurora Bar and Grill has a wonderful seafood chowder and Clam Linguini, and if you need coffee or sandwiches, there is a small café`downstairs. We noticed that this hotel in the winter time is really packed for skiers and snowboarders. It can be a bit overwhelming if you are none of the above. The Daylodge for skiing/snowboarding is pretty big but a bit outdated in my opinion. They also sell food and drinks. The property is just massive. Swimming is enjoyable during winter months with heated pool and looking at beautiful snow covered pine trees outside.

Parking can be rather challenging during holidays. Also the housekeeper kept knocking on our door (while we were sleeping - we forgot to push the "do not disturb" button) - but didn't ask for cleaning either. The front desk waived the 12% taxes and $10 conveniences fee at the end of check out. She said, just paid whatever you paid during booking, though my reservation says the taxes and and fee were not included. Yeahh! Overall, it's an enjoyable stay.

Room Tip: 3rd floor is where the swimming pool and fitness center are located. Expect some traffic if you choo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank S0uthern_Marylander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,911 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,258
    448
    121
    53
    31
See reviews for
599
801
73
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (516)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2013 via mobile

After booking 5 months in advance and paying extra for a room with a mountain view we get a room with a tiny window and the bed facing a wall- only other room available was facing a road.? So this is what you can expect.- nothing like the photos in the website- also our restaurant booking at seven glaciers on the mountain was moved to the restaurant in the hotel with no view-yet no- one bothered to email us-or attach the information to our room registration- this place feels like a total dis-organized haphazard rip-off

Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank ranster1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica P, Manager at Hotel Alyeska, responded to this review, 4 January 2014
I'm sorry you were disappointed with your New Years at Alyeska and were unhappy with your mountain view room. As for Seven Glaciers, we do the best we can to operate at the hours we say we will; we closed our Seven Glaciers service only hours before dinner service to ensure the safety of our guests and staff due to inclement weather. The restaurant is situated at the top of our mountain, which requires a different operational plan than a standard restaurant. We of course regret not being able to seat you at our award-winning restaurant, but our first responsibility is to protect our visitors (and employees). We hope you had a pleasant stay regardless and enjoyed your time here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto
Level Contributor
37 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 December 2013

We spent Christmas here on a three day getaway. Its a bit dated but you quickly get over that when you see the amenities and service this hotel has to offer. Day and night this property has something for everyone. Its clean, comfortable and really has that resort feel that we were looking for. Its also a very easy drive from Anchorage. I was a bit worried at first not knowing what the road conditions in the area would be like. The roads were well cleared and sanded for the drive. A great stay and a great valued holiday.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LoopsToronto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 December 2013

We have been staying at Alyeska Hotel since it opened and have always loved it but there had been times with former owners of the hotel that things weren't as clean or just were not kept up as they once were. Well not now! The new owner has really taken the hotel to the next level. Added resturants, every area is clean, the rooms are very comfortable and the service is five star.
We were staying this time for a Christmas party and I was amazed at how everything was so well taken care of and the hotel was very busy. It was just a perfect stay. They also added outside fire pits and it was nice to sit around at night and visit with old friends and people you hadn't met before.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rdloewen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gulfport, Mississippi
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2013

The property is fine; it's kept as nice as it can be given it's age and use. Ski lodges take a beating and that can't be helped. The restaurants and food were really enjoyable. Our lunch at Seven Glaciers was wonderful - the specials were extremely inventive and tasty, our waiter suggested an awesome bottle of wine and we thoroughly enjoyed our meal and time there. The valets, the housekeepers, concierge - all very gracious.

My issue was with the guests. No manners, no standards. It's very very discouraging to see people who should know better acting like gutter-punks in a place that regards itself as First Rate. If guests don't control their own kids then the staff has to take charge. Kids in the bar - don't want to be around that! Middle-aged men walking around in spa robes half open - don't want to be around that!

As a ski lodge - it is great. As a hotel/resort experience - not so much.

Room Tip: Beware - room 410 overlooked the rooftop of one of the ballrooms - NO VIEW OF ANY SORT except the ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CajunCouple70508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This facility is advertised as "Alyeska Resort is Alaska's premier year-round destination", but the use of the word Premier is unfair and untrue. This is a worn hotel that clearly is not getting the necessary maintenance to keep up with its age. Obviously, if you want to ski the mountain you have no other choice but stay there but it is overpriced and severely undermaintained. Check-in was the harbinger of things to come with Nikki proving that the staff has not recently gotten training in positive customer service. However, Robin at the restaurant we went to proved that there are positive and engaging employees that work at Hotel Alyeskaif you look hard enough for them. Overall I was disappointed in the experience and would never classify this location as premier, while the view is the facility is so overdue for serious TLC it is actually sad. The fact that the location has so many burnt out light bulbs is indication of the challenges there.

Room Tip: The rooms have very poor thermostatic control but if you complain the front desk CAN adjust the temp...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rld00442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Pole, Alaska
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 25 November 2013

It's a bit expensive, but no matter the time of year, the hotel is always comfortable. I've gone skiing and just stayed the night passing through the area. The scenery is beautiful! there's a lot to do all over the area, and plenty of things to see.

Room Tip: Most of the rooms I've stayed in are with views of the mountain, but you can get a less appealin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tobywags
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Girdwood
1.3 mi away
Ski Inn
Ski Inn
#2 of 2 in Girdwood
17 reviews
19.0 mi away
Inn At Whittier
Inn At Whittier
#1 of 1 in Whittier
287 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hidden Creek Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.5 mi away
Glacier View Suites
Glacier View Suites
#3 of 4 in Whittier
8 reviews
11.7 mi away
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
Bird Creek Motel & RV Park
#1 of 1 in Bird Creek
1 reviews
0.0 mi away
Talkeetna Hideaway
Talkeetna Hideaway
#15 of 17 in Talkeetna
6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Alyeska? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Alyeska

Property: Hotel Alyeska
Address: 1000 Arlberg Road, PO Box 249, Girdwood, Anchorage, AK 99587 (Formerly Aleyska Prince Hotel)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Anchorage > Girdwood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Girdwood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Alyeska 4*
Number of rooms: 304
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Overview: Nestled in the Chugach Mountain Range in the resort community of Girdwood, Alyeska Resort featuring The Hotel Alyeska is only 40 miles from downtown Anchorage. The Hotel is also near many attractions - two miles from Crow Creek Gold Mine, and 15 miles from Portage Glacier and the Alaska Wildlife Conservation Center. The floor-to-ceiling windows in the fireside lobby and grand staircase offer unobstructed views of the north face of Mount Alyeska. Open beams and cathedral ceilings accent the indoor lap pool, 16-person spa tub, and fitness center. Airport transportation (surcharge), ski storage, and a local shuttle are available. Wireless Internet access is available in the lobby, DSL hookups in the rooms (included in resort fee). The Spa at Alyeska offers a wide array of massage, facial and body services. The eight-story property has 304 guestrooms. All rooms offer cable TV with pay movies, and are equipped with coffeemakers, refrigerators, hairdryers, and irons with boards. In-room complimentary DSL is available. All rooms are nonsmoking. You must be 21 years of age or older to make a reservation and check in. Guests under 21 must be accompanied by someone 21 years of age or older to stay in the hotel. Any guest under the age of 18 must be accompanied by parent or legal guardian. Please note: The 2011/12 Ski Season is November 23, 2011 to April 29, 2012 (conditions permitting). Deluxe King Room with one king bed includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Deluxe: 2 Double Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 4-7. Standard: Room with two double beds includes bathrobes and slippers, bottled water, heated towel rack, mini refrigerator and coffee maker, in-room safe, iron and ironing board. Located on Floors 2-3. Area served: Anchorage (and vicinity). Nearby airports: Ted Stevens International Airport, Anchorage AK (ANC). Area description: 35 miles southeast of Anchorage, at Alyeska Resort in the town of Girdwood, AK. Amenities• Concierge• Conference Facilities• Fitness center• Free parking• Handicapped Rooms/Facilities• Health Club• High-speed Internet• Internet Access• Meeting/Banquet Facilities• Pool & Hot Tub• Restaurants• Room Service• Spa services• Wireless Internet. Dining: Aurora Bar & Grill. Whether you're in the mood for a casual atmosphere or watching your favorite sports event, the Aurora Bar & Grill is family-friendly with comfort food. The diverse menu offers Alaskan specialties and satisfying homemade-style dishes. Serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Bar open late on weekends. Seven Glaciers: Feast upon fabulous views and gourmet cuisine at the AAA Four-Diamond Seven Glaciers restaurant. Menu features regional favorites focused on fresh seafood, Snake River Farms meats prepared by Executive Chef Jason Porter. Recipient of Wine Spectator’s Best of Award of Excellence. Sakura: Newly remodeled, Sakura Restaurant offers modern and intimate setting with Asian-inspired seafood and meats, hand-rolled sushi and a full sake and cocktail list. Open for dinner. The Pond Café: Located on the second floor of the hotel, the Pond Cafe is the place to enjoy breakfast offering full and continental buffet options and an a la carte menu featuring local favorites such as reindeer sausage links as well as a variety of healthy choices. Tramway Café: Featuring Starbucks™ coffee and espresso drinks, the Tramway Café features quick eats and grab n’ go style items. Open daily for breakfast and lunch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Alyeska reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alyeska Hotel Girdwood
Alyeska Resort Girdwood
Alyeska Prince Hotel
Girdwood Alyeska Prince Hotel Resort

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing