We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great spot” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Tolsona Wilderness Campground

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glennallen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Tolsona Wilderness Campground
Aledo, Texas
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Great spot”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2014

Just happened upon this park. Great owner AWESOME sites with trees and privacy along a running creek. Beware there are tons of Mosquitos. Wish we could spend more time here but we will be moving on to Girdwood.

Room Tip: Site 83 was away from everything
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mlterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    45
    13
    2
    1
    1
See reviews for
34
20
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Kuujjuaq, Quebec, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2014

We stayed 2 nights here and thought it was a really nice camping. The owners are really nice. On our say back to Valdez, we décidée to stay 5 more nights in this really enjoyable campground. I would highly recommand it because it is sparkling clean, the river flows just be side you and for us it IS THE BEST CAMPGROUND IN ALASKA! Showers are only 25 cents and the is also a laundry room open 24/7. Internet is also excellent as we could skype on it without any trouble.
IF you come to Tolsona come here and meet thèse really nice people no doubt you''ll love it!

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Natacha R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 August 2014

My husband and I just purchased an rv and thought it would be a great idea to travel to Glennallen. We stumbled upon Tolsona campground and fell in love with it. We were greeted by a very very nice lady named Maryanne and were allowed to pick our spot in a nearly empty campground... Granted it was around noon. My husband and I chose a spot and took a walk and found a spot we liked much better for fishing and closer to facilities and went to office to see if we could trade spots, we did not request one want a refund of the difference of the spot prices, we just wanted to move. There was an elderly man behind the counter who asked what spot we were in, I replied and told him what spot we were requesting. He looked irritated about the request and turned to her to inquire why we were in that spot and why she would let us move because both spots had beaches to the river, we did not deserve them since we do not have children. I was in shock and was upset. This person was rude and discriminatory in my opinion. I wanted to leave right away and did not enjoy my night in a beautiful place. I would have given this place 5 stars if not for my interaction with this man. Tip to Tolsona .... Keep Maryanne at the front desk. You might get a repeat customer from a local Alaskan with limited places to travel to in a reasonably short time from Anchorage. Before we spoke with him we were going back. I have told everyone I know about this and will never be back nor recommend this campground. Go to dry creek. It's cheaper and you don't have to deal with a total jerk.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Punta Gorda, Belize
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Am sitting at the campground right now with the sound of a creek running past my picnic table. Not the sound of cars passing by on the Glenn Highway. Have been so disappointed in Alaska with the number of campgrounds right on the highway. This is .7 miles off the road. Campsites are spacious, amenities are fabulous. Internet is free, showers are inexpensive, host is very helpful and friendly. Don't stop anywhere else on the Glenn.

Room Tip: Campsites for RV's- roomy spacious and very private. Not a campsite on a graveled field.....
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank CSowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
EDMONTON
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2014

We pulled in with our RV hoping we weren't making a mistake coming down the gravel road ( .7 mi)
It's hidden in the trees off the road, very quiet and most camp sites are on the creek.
We had a 28ft Rv and had no trouble at all backing into the spot.
The spot we had with power cost us $35 but we felt it was well worth it for the privacy and the restful night we had. The owner said he's had longer units come in and they managed to park ok.
It has a nice little laundromat and you can wash for $2 and dry for $1 and shower for .25!
There are sites that have power and a central dump station and water for the RV.
We were there on a monday in the second week of June and it was not overcrowded. I was wishing we had more time to stay.
There's also a nice open area with a volleyball net and some interesting old antiques to see and take pictures of.
The added bonus was the free WiFi
If we ever get back to Alaska we would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sara B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sunnyvale, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 September 2013

The RV park is off the road down a gravel road, but it is well worth the short drive. The camp sites are nice, clean, and right on the creek. We only stayed one night, but will certainly go back for a longer visit. We also found the little restaurant right near the RV park to have excellent food and great service.
I would recommend this off the beaten path RV part to anyone wanting a nice quiet, friendly, clean place to camp.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Robert J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hagerstown, Maryland, USA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 September 2013

This is a hidden gem of a campground. I think all the campsites are right along the Tolsona creek and the views are wonderful. You hear the creek gurgling and its very peaceful. The campground was not very crowded when we were there (mid-August) so it was almost like having the place to ourselves. The laundry is very efficient and coin operated and the showers are also coin operated, but were the most inexpensive we found along our trip (other than free ones, of course). The owner and operator is very pleasant and accommodating. We really enjoyed our stay there. Although the facilities are not new, they are very well-kept and clean. It was amazing to find that, as secluded as this place seems to be, the Wi-Fi is excellent!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mjscabar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glennallen
24.7 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
18.3 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
5.0 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
23.3 mi away
Copper River Princess Wilderness Lodge
14.6 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
34.8 mi away
Northern Nights Campground and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tolsona Wilderness Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tolsona Wilderness Campground

Property: Tolsona Wilderness Campground
Address: Mile 173 Glenn Highway, Glennallen, AK 99588-0023
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Glennallen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Glennallen
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A beautiful full service campground with 50 waterfront RV sites in a real Alaska setting. Prices from $25 to $45. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing