We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice out of the way place”
Review of Nelchina Lodge

Nelchina Lodge
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Glennallen
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Nelchina Lodge
Fairbanks, Alaska
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Nice out of the way place”
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

Nice clean room with comfortable bed, microwave, small refrigerator, and coffee maker. Very large bathroom. Free WIFI that was quite fast....I was able to watch a movie on netflix with no problem. Large parking lot with plenty of room to turn around. No food available here so be prepared!!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Chrispy5664
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    8
    7
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
2
9
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We wanted a break between Valdez and Anchorage and found this wee smokefree gem. Nice, simple room in very good condition and very clean. Art work from local artist for sale on the walls and popcorn provided; cute little extras. Henry was very hospitable and obviously takes care with his property. Groomed trails close to hand for snowmobile, walking or cross country skiing. Price very reasonable and $30 cheaper than a nearby place that has less character in my opinion. We aren't concerned re telly but only one channel for those travelers who like the box.... The view from the window is better! Would definitely stay again. Thanks, Henry.

Room Tip: Wet and dry cabins available. Rooms away from road are quiet and face the sun.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Helen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Asheville, North Carolina, Usa
Level 6 Contributor
231 reviews
127 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 266 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

My wife and I stayed two nights here. It's a decent place and the price is right too. It was real clean and perfectly serviceable - the water is hot, the towels are good, the floor is clean, and the bed is comfy. Also, the proprietor, Henry, is a nice guy, and helpful with suggestions about touring the area - very interesting to talk with. But it's important to know that the nearest restaurants are 15 miles to the west in Eureka, and 43 miles to the east in Glennallen. So, get fuel and groceries either in Palmer, if you're coming from the west, or in Glennallen if you're coming form the east, because there's little else around the Nelchina Lodge. The next time we're in the Glennallen area to spend a night, we'll stay at the Nelchina Lodge, if for no other reason than to chat with Henry again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RoadMode
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Center, TX
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2013

This is a small family run Motel, built by the owner in 2005. Very nice log structure, appears to be brand new. Clean and comfortable. Just the right spot for an overnight stay between Anchorage and Tok. Popcorn, hot chocolate and coffee in each room. Also microwave and fridge.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RCapt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Glennallen hotels
41.7 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
44.1 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
0.0 mi away
Alaska Copper River B&B
Alaska Copper River B&B
#1 of 5 in Glennallen
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
27.5 mi away
Tolsona Wilderness Campground
7.6 mi away
Northern Nights Campground and RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Nelchina Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Nelchina Lodge

Property: Nelchina Lodge
Address: Mile 143.3 Glenn Highway, HC 1 Box 2425, Glennallen, AK 99588
Region: United States > Alaska > Glennallen
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Glennallen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing