We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hospitality!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Northern Nights Campground and RV Park
Palmer ak
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great hospitality!”
Reviewed 6 July 2014

Clean bathrooms, showers , friendly staff. There was coffee and donuts out in morn. Ice, firewood and s'mores available if you run out for purchase at welcome desk.Each site gets shower tokens (clean spacious showers). There was 5 of us in the party and we had so much fun here at the camp. It makes you feel like you are in secluded area but you are close to amenities. There was a swimming hole miles up road behind library and fishing 12 miles away. We will definitely come back. Thank you!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hwhitley11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tazlinamarc, Manager at Northern Nights Campground and RV Park, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank you, Hannah! We are so glad that you and your friends enjoyed your recent stay with us in the campground. Please look us up again if you make it out this way.
Best Wishes,
Sean & Kim
2014 Camp Hosts
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    16
    5
    9
    1
    1
See reviews for
5
18
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Wellington, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Stayed two nights, one night in a cabin, another one just pitching a tent at the campsite. The office staff was indeed fairly reserved, whereas the owners themselves were much more welcoming. Overall an average place, neither bad nor outstanding. The location means you need to have a car, because walking to the supermarket or restaurant down the road takes about an hour (easy strall, one-way). Most tours, shuttles and bus companies pick up, though.

The campsite was just fine, it had a bear-proof food storage just next to it and every lot had a fire pit to be used by the occupants. There are flush toilets and (paid) showers in the entrance area and a couple of portable toilets near where the campsites are. The showers were not very clean, whereas the toilets were absolutely tidy.

The cabin ($85 per night, an extra $10 if you were to use the roll-away-bed) was quite lovely. There are two blocks with two cabins each. Those two share a bathroom with toilet and shower, while everyone has their own sink in the room. Microwave and drip coffee maker in the room as well as towels and a few complimentary teabags and some coffee.

Would definitely recommend a stay in the cabin, but have been to better campgrounds with more and better facilities for those that have to sleep outside in bad weather.

Room Tip: If you stay in a unit, make sure you get one with blinds as the nearby radio tower's red light m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lars I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aiken
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

I do recommand to do not go to this RV campground, the owner is a bandit, a thief : he ask to tow my RV while I was parked outside the campground, I did follow the instruction of the McCarthy shuttle driver, I was at a place used to have RVs parked, It did not prevent any traffic and I did not bother anyone, but the campground owner opinion was different and directly asked to tow my RV.
When I was back from the McCarthy tour at 8:00 pm with my baby in my arms and the night coming, I thought my RV stolen !
Finally, I wasted three hours to recover my RV and I had to pay $285 to be reelased.
Very nice moment of my vacation in Glennallen thanks to this ... campground owner !
Don't go there, she 's unfair and just looking for money !

Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank fifidu50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tazlinamarc, Owner at Northern Nights Campground and RV Park, responded to this review, 3 December 2013
Trip Advisor –

There are two sides to every story.
You ignored the sign that asks guests to register at the office; you left your RV in an area that is for short-term parking only – not an extended stay; you did not leave a note advising who you were or when you were retuning; the RV was locked and no keys were left.
Finally where you left the RV was in area where road construction was on-going. Heavy Earth moving equipment was reconstructing the Glen Highway. Your RV was in Harm’s Way. We had it towed for your own protection.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
south WI
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2013

We planned a stop at this RV Park on our way to Valdez from Fairbanks. There may have been one or two other options in the area, but we chose this Park because it was in Good Sams directory. The office staff we "as a matter of fact" and not overly welcoming. Their Wifi was OK. Bathrooms were clean and private, only two of them though this is a small park. Not sure about the tokens you needed for the showers - they said they lasted 7-8 minutes - they obviously had problems in past with shower hoggers. Oh ya, beware of someone flushing the toilet opposite your shower - you will loose all water pressure and your hot water for a few seconds. It will wake you up!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank appalachiantrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tazlinamarc, Owner at Northern Nights Campground and RV Park, responded to this review, 4 December 2013
Our RV Park is Alaska Native owned and operated. We take great pride in hiring local people of the Copper River area. The majority of our staff are Athabascan Alaska Native who are indigenous to the Copper River. The Athabascan are generally reserved/quiet people.

I hope that you will visit us again! Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Glennallen
19.9 mi away
Sheep Mountain Lodge
Sheep Mountain Lodge
#1 of 1 in Glacier View
192 reviews
63.5 mi away
Gakona Lodge & Trading Post
55.9 mi away
Old Town Copper Center Inn & Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
49.2 mi away
Antler's Rest Bed and Breakfast
55.8 mi away
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
Uncle Nicolai's Inn
#9 of 10 in Copper Center
3 reviews
51.7 mi away
Aura Borealis Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Nights Campground and RV Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Nights Campground and RV Park

Property: Northern Nights Campground and RV Park
Address: Mile Post 188.7 Glen Highway, Pob 528, Glennallen, AK 99588
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Alaska > Glennallen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 9 Speciality Lodging in Glennallen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
28 RV spaces; 5 back-in sites with full hook-ups; Pull-thrus with water/electric. Each site has fire pit and picnic table. Wooded setting; free WiFi. Shower house; central sewer dump; laundry - washer/dryer; fire wood for sale; ice; snack shack groceries. Open May 15-Sept 15 (weather permitting.) Also featuring Two very comfortable duplex style cabins with European style lodging (shared bath room). ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with PitchUp so you can book your Northern Nights Campground and RV Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing