We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Loving the historic feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Halsingland Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Halsingland Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
65 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Loving the historic feel”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2013

Spent one night in this fantastic old hotel while doing a circle route from Whitehorse through Skagway, Haines, Haines Junction, and back to Whitehorse. Marvelous road trip by the way.

You have to love these old places to appreciate the storied history. We checked in with a young fellow at the front desk who had started working there when he was fourteen and knew the entire history of the various owners and incarnations of the place. Of course, we made a point of asking.
If you just stop in at a place like this and don't show any interest, you're not going to get the same experience.

True, the hallways and rooms are looking a little worse for wear, the fixtures and accessories are dated, but that's what makes it charming and quaint, and lovable. There are lots of comparable "vintage" hotels in the old section of Vancouver that that are just plain beat up and couldn't hold a candle to the Halsingland, especially given its location and the surrounding scenery.

We had a terrific stay even if it was only one night, and even though you can practicaly use the toilet, brush your teeth, and have a shower all at the same time. We had some great local Alaskan beers in the attached pub and ended up, of all things, doing a jigsaw puzzle in the lobby at night with the help of the desk clerk, and many of the other guests who happened by.

Would we have rather stayed in a schmancy hotel with all the modern conveniences?
Not on your life!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    29
    39
    23
    17
    7
See reviews for
27
44
10
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Biloxi, Mississippi
Level Contributor
180 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 October 2013

I had a unique experience at this property: Myself and one other couple were literally the last 2 guests of the season before closing down for winter the day we checked out. So, I got a truly personalized stay, thanks to the proprietor Jeff and his wife. As other reviewers have noted, the Halsingland is an old, historic property, and that means many of the amenities one might expect from a more contemporary hotel and not necessarily to be found here. However, here's what I did find:

To echo another reviewer, Jeff was naturally friendly and helpful, not "customer service trained" friendly. He recommended all the local sights to see and do, and was even attentive to the fact that I had mentioned when I checked in that I'd hoped to catch an aurora sighting while on my road trip...it turned out there was one that night and he called my room with a heads up to go outside and check it out, and it was wonderful...and appreciated!

The room itself was comfortable with plentiful hot water and amazing water pressure; again, sure some of the amenities were not contemporary, but that's what this place (and this town) is. Another case in point: There's no wifi in the rooms, but it's available in the lobby and in the sitting alcove one flight up, and works fine.

I would come back again if the situation warranted it, and I would highly recommend it as a viable lodging option if you're staying one or more nights in Haines.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DaveR19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alaska
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 September 2013

I know there are not many choices in Haines, so this may be the best hotel in town, I don't know. I get the quaintness of the building, and the history. I understand it's old, so no complaints about the worn carpet and paint, etc. But there are things that could be done to make the stay more contemporary while still maintaining a historic feeling. Internet is available only in the lobby, and even then, it is very slow. The TV was a 19" CRT (big and boxy). Not a big deal, but the cable reception was so poor that it was almost unwatchable. The bed was a worn mattress on a spring frame. On a positive note, the shower was plenty hot with plenty of water pressure.
The restaurant does not serve breakfast. Dinner is very expensive. Maybe it's worth it; maybe it's the best dinner restaurant in town. The menu contained some very fancy dishes. But for weary travelers who just want to grab a bite before heading to bed before an early ferry boarding, it was not what we were looking for.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank chelly4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Henderson, NV
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2013

The Halsingland Hotel is located in the Fort Seward Historic District. The building, built near the turn of the 20th century, is located in what was part of the officers’ quarters, as I understand it. As such, you should not expect some of the amenities offered from more modern hotels.

We stayed here for 2 nights in August. Jeff, the hotel owner, was very accommodating and friendly. He gladly picked us up at the ferry terminal a few miles north of Haines. The hotel is multistory with no elevator, but the front desk helped us carry our bags up to our room. When we arrived it was before check-in time, but we were able to store our bags while we took a walking tour of Haines. (The day we arrived a shuttle bus was available to take around Haines for $1. We assumed it was available every day, but found out later it only runs on the days the cruise ship is in town, usually Wednesdays in 2013. Had we known this we would have taken the shuttle to Dalton City and Haines Brewery, which is otherwise quite a hike.)

Our room was adequate, rather large, and the beds were comfortable, but nothing fancy. The bathroom was small with a shower only, no bathtub.

The Commander’s restaurant had the most wonderful food, probably the best in Haines. The bar area is small, but the food and drink were good - staff very friendly.

Wi-fi is only available in the lobby and cell phone service was available. A car rental is located at the hotel which we took advantage of for half a day.

We would definitely go back to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cardinalsfan1924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 August 2013

The lobby of this hotel would make a good setting for a John Irving-type novel. Lots of space and dark wood and staff who are naturally friendly (as opposed to customer service training friendly). The two rooms we had were spacious too, as were the big old free-standing bathtubs in both rooms. The old fireplace and large windows added to the comfortable atmosphere. It's a few blocks from the centre of town but nothing is too far away in Haines. The ferry is close by too, though it's an uphill climb - which eliminates the need for a fitness centre. Free wifi and jigsaw puzzles are available in the lobby. Hotel choice is limited in Haines but that's not a problem if room is available here.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
Level Contributor
48 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2013

It's old but grand. If you are looking for 5 Star, you will not find it AT ALL here in Haines, AK. That's ok because you get Quaint and Just Right. Great service (Check In), walking distance to everything Haines has to offer even a walking tour. The pics listed above are true and accurate. You are actually sitting on an Old Military Fort. The bar/lounge (on site) is a little slow but if you are not in a rush then sit back and enjoy....Seriously, if you are ever in Haines, AK and need a place to stay, this is it...Good Luck and Enjoy!

Room Tip: Call in advance if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BigRob28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 August 2013

The Hotel was very roomy but was old and dated. Loved the Tub in the room. It was about 7 foot long and about 4 foot tall. It was one of those iron tubs with feet. Loved it. No AC but just open a window as it was about 60 degrees Fahrenheit.

Just a good place to stay. The Staff helped us carry our bags to the room and opened the door for us. We were late getting in about 11:30pm but it was no problem. He even talked us in over the cell phone guiding us turn by turn the last 5 minutes or so.

Good clean rooms and nice staff. Bathroom needed more shelving to store your stuff.

Room Tip: Ask to be on 1st floor because the stairs were tall.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank clay3482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
16.3 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
3.0 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
0.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
0.6 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
Show Prices

Been to Halsingland Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Halsingland Hotel

Property: Halsingland Hotel
Address: 13 Fort Seward Dr., Haines, AK 99827
Region: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Halsingland Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Halsingland Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Halsingland Hotel Haines, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing