We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Keep in mind, this is a small town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Captain's Choice Motel
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Whitehorse, Canada
Level Contributor
213 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
“Keep in mind, this is a small town”
Reviewed 27 August 2013

I believe this is the only remaining actual Motel in Haines, Alaska.
It has a pleasant location, near the water and in the center of the small town so you can walk everywhere you need to go.
Our room was adequate, if somewhat outdated. The TV's can sure use a major update. Be aware that 'Internet for fee' does NOT read 'Internet for free' LOL. There is a computer in the lounge area guests can use but otherwise, it's a pay per min affair if you want internet in your room.
Staff was pleasant and basic breakfast of muffins, toast and coffee/juice was included in the stay although the hours available-6am to 8am are really not user friendly if you are on holiday.

Room Tip: My room was on the main floor in the back and we had no problem though this is not peak season.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    37
    33
    19
    13
See reviews for
23
35
13
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Death Valley National Park, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

I had originally booked a room at a different place, a BnB but I couldn't find it so I had to just grab a room here while I was waiting for the ferry. The price was a little steep... the room wasn't all that clean, but the place is old so i guess that would be why there are as many stains as there was. my overall impression wasn't that good. Really just find some other place. You will end up spending the same or less for something better.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AlaskaIsCold
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Inuvik, Canada
Level Contributor
113 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2013

Forgot my foamy or I would have camped in the car. Should have anyways for how comfortable the bed was. I stayed here a month ago and the room was much better and more comfortable. Maybe don't stay in the annex on the bottom? Convenient location to walk home from the bar

Room Tip: Avoid the annex
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tracey W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
40 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2013

The staff here are very friendly and helpful. Someone picked me up at the tiny airport and they stored my luggage until the afternoon when I could check in. You can walk everywhere in Haines from this location. The rooms are pretty old, but you know what, it's reasonably priced and it's clean and for a traveler on a budget, both things are important. Staff also gave me a ride to the ferry terminal the next morning. I'd stay here again.

Room Tip: The closer you get to the front desk, the fewer steps you'll have to schlep your luggage down. A...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BeckyAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Astoria, Oregon
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 July 2013

Their ad states "The Captain's Choice Motel is one of Alaska's finest motels" NOWAY ! it's old and out dated so much so that the furniture is falling apart. Don't lean on a table the top will literately fall off.The chairs are worn and badly stained. I felt so gross the 4 days we were there that I slept in my sweats and socks ! The staff was very friendly though. I'd rather pay extra money to stay at a B&B then to have to endure that experience again. For what they charge to stay a night you'd think they could afford a face lift on the place.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eskimoonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shropshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
386 reviews
243 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 225 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 July 2013

This was, by far, the worst place we stayed in 4 weeks in Alaska.Our room loooked out at a snow bulldozer and a large refuse bin.I asked to be moved from this dull and dingy room and was told that no other room was available despite our booking having been made several months previously.The young woman on reception chastised me for complaining and said it was nothing to do with her!The room was in need of a deep clean and replacement of linen.The beds were long overdue for replacement, too.
Breakfast was poor and very basic apart from a very good raisin bread.
We did have a free shuttle to the ferry but it was to the wrong one and someone kindly took us to the correct one!
We subsequently found out that the owner was absentee and no one was in charge.This was very obvious. What a waste of a beautiful position overlooking the Lynn Canal.

Room Tip: Avoid this motel at all costs.If you have to stay make sure you have a room on the topp floor with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tryfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Eagle River, Alaska
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2013

I travel to Haines frequently and always try to stay at the Captains Choice. The staff is friendly and willing to help out with whatever they can. They offer free shuttle rides to and from the airport and ferry terminal at any time of the day or night. The hotel has a simple free breakfast with bagels and pastries. Wireless internet is available for a fee from a third party service at a reasonable cost. There is a mini fridge, coffee maker and microwave in each room as well as a great view of Lynn canal from most.

The Captain's Choice also has cars available for rental. The hotel is also located right in the center of town with several restraunts and a grocery store within easy walking distance. The price is reasonable considering where you are.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ShrillerAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Haines
0.6 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
121 reviews
15.7 mi away
Westmark Inn Skagway
Westmark Inn Skagway
#2 of 2 in Skagway
198 reviews
0.5 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
101 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
15.9 mi away
Historic Skagway Inn
Historic Skagway Inn
#3 of 5 in Skagway
183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Captain's Choice Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Captain's Choice Motel

Property: Captain's Choice Motel
Address: 108 Second Ave. N, Box 392, Haines, AK 99827
Region: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Haines
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Captain's Choice Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Captain's Choice Motel is one of Alaska's finest motels. Located in magnificent Haines, Alaska, our motel enjoys fantastic panoramic views of the ocean water of the Lynn Fjord, North America's longest fjord. Our beautiful rooms are luxurious, quiet and very comfortable. The panoramic views of the Lynn Fjord, Portage Cove with its small boat harbor, Fort Seward and the dramatic backdrop of the Cathedral Peaks will make a lasting impression. Our motel is AAA recommended. It is centrally located in Haines, within walking distance from all shopping and dining facilities. The Captain's Choice is pet friendly! Complimentary Continental Breakfast. CAPTAIN'S LOUNGE open daily at 5pm. Standard rooms: single, double, twin, triple, quad. Ocean view rooms with balcony: double and triple. Suites: ocean view or two rooms. Wi-Fi Access for a small fee Message center, photocopy and fax available. Up to 25 Person Facility for Meetings. Tour Arrangments Rental car fleet-UNLIMITED MILES Restaurants within walking distance ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Captain's Choice Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Captain`s Choice Hotel Haines
Choice Hotel Captains
Choice Hotel Haines
Captain's Choice Motel Haines, Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing