We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Haines
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Haines Bear Lodge
Reviewed 26 September 2012

What a beautiful lodge! The scenery at the end of the deep water fjord was breathtaking. We often went down to the end of the road, less than probably a mile away to fish in the stream and watch bear. Jim and Barb were excellent hosts and took care of us with the upmost kindness. They picked us up at the airport and provided everything we needed to make our vacation memorable. I have never found anywhere so relaxing and so beautiful. We will definately be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kelly S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (6)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Reviewed 9 September 2012

For the low prices compared to other accommodation on our Alaska trip, we were not expecting much, but how wrong we were!

Barbara picked us up from the ferry terminal and took us to towns to buy some supplies as we didn't have a car, before taking us back to the lodge. It is situated just above the road, overlooking the inlet with views of the snow capped mountains and hillsides as well as the water itself. Bald eagles can be seen circling above from the lounge chairs out of the massive windows in the evenings.

The lodge accommodation is very very comfortable, with a great kitchen that you can use (microwave, fridge/freezer, cooker, mixer, etc). The hosts (Barbara's husband Jim helps out as well) use the kitchen cook the breakfast in the morning at a time of your choosing. The lounge has several sofas with armchairs, a satellite TV which we rarely used as we just enjoyed the views.

There are four carpeted bedrooms each with a bathroom en-suite, hairdryers and even two toilet roll holders for the left and right handed! Each bedroom had a patio leading onto the wooden balcony where the hot tub is located in front of the lounge windows.

The lodge is just a mile and a half to the bridge, where bears can be seen, we managed to see a grizzly, a first after five weeks in Alaska!

We found the hosts very friendly, and spent many hours chatting, and even took us up to Chilkoot River to see if we can get another sighting of a bear before returning to the ferry terminal. We certainly did not feel like we were spied upon, or relate to the other review at all and will be returning to this place in future.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KyleSterry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 September 2012

We booked the whole Lodge (paid $525.00) per night to stay at this gorgeous lodge. We were however not impressed with the way were treated. There were 4 couples all over the age of 25, very respectful and kind to all the rules that were given. We were basically watched while we were in the hot tub, told that the weight and water on the deck was not able to hold us all at the same time. We had one visitor that night, who we were trying to set up our halibut charter with. The owner came down at 9pm and with arms crossed asked us who the extra person is and why they were here and that we can talk about costs in the morning. Around 11pm that night the other owner came down and told the couple that was smoking outside that he can hear them laughing and it was unacceptable because they were being loud and the owners could hear them while they were on their deck. We felt like children, like we were being watched all night, it was creepy and unacceptable.
The next morning the owners were supposed to come down at 730am and start prep for breakfast, we were all up at 8am wondering when breakfast was going to start. The owners walked in and asked us to find different accommodations for the second night and to make our own breakfast because they are not going to do it for us.
It was the long weekend in Sept and all the other hotels were booked it took us hours to find a place that could fit us all in and by luck and chance of a gentlemen nice enough to lend us his phone and the name of the place he was staying, we didn't have to sleep in our cars.
The way we were treated was completely disrespectful and rude. They called us partyers and said they dont usually have "our type" staying with them.

Room Tip: Make sure to ask details, are we aloud to have company? what size of hot tub? What are the rules? ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LisaOrgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HBLManager, Manager at Haines Bear Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2014

It has taken me nearly 2 seasons to consider a response to this posting. This drunken group of "guests?," who paid for only one night and tried to stay for two, disrespected this property and its neighbors in every way possible. In seven years of operation, we have never had to refuse service to anyone and to remove so much trash except for these "over 25" adults(?).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012
Google Translation

Room Tip: Le stanze sono al piano terra di uno splendido edificio in stile, tutte dotate di ogni confort e di...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank erikaVarazze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Haines hotels
5.6 mi away
Aspen Suites Hotel Haines
5.7 mi away
Captain's Choice Motel
6.2 mi away
Beach Roadhouse
Beach Roadhouse
#1 of 4 in Haines
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.3 mi away
House No. 1 Fort Seward B&B
6.2 mi away
Halsingland Hotel
Halsingland Hotel
#2 of 4 in Haines
138 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Haines Bear Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Haines Bear Lodge

Address: Lutak Rd, Haines, AK 99827
Region: United States > Alaska > Haines
Amenities:
Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 12 Speciality Lodging in Haines
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Haines Bear Lodge Alaska

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing