We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best option for Denali area.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 August 2014

If spending $2-300 a night for a mega hotel out on the main highway in Denali is for you, dont read anyfurther. If you want a reasonable priced , clean , quiet place 10 iles down the road, choose this place.
Set well back off the road, in dense spruce forest, this place is a gem.
In the true meaning of the word, this is not a Motel at all. By definition this would be an Inn, there's no didning room hence not a hotel.
Breakfast is included and its fine, typical Hampton Inn style. Nothing wonderfull, but gets you on your way in the morning.
Best way to judge accomodations in Alaska between May1st and end of September, is to take the price, halve it, and ask yourself, would you be happy to pay that price anywhere else in the USA.
Answer fo this place is definately.

Room Tip: A room in the building with the breakfast room would save you a wet or cold crossing for breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank MiguelitoyCat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (327)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

131 - 137 of 327 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2014

Chose this place due to good reviews and location near Denali. Was not disappointed. The room was very clean, the beds were comfortable (except for the roll away we had for my daughter, who ended up taking the mattress off the springs and putting it on the floor. But the room was spacious enough to allow for that.) We had a kitchenette, which helped save money on eating. The staff was so-so as far as friendliness - nice enough, but nothing that stood out. However, the desk person did recommend a great place to eat (The 49th State Brewing Company), so that made up for it. :)
We had 5 people total, and we didn't feel cramped. And the shower held up to all 5, keeping the warm water up. Nice spacious bathroom too. A complimentary continental breakfast which was average. And only about 10 minutes from the entrance to Denali Nat'l Park. All in all, a very good choice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Allen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2014

Stayed here for two nights due to the proximity to Denali National Park.

The motel is located just off the main road, having passed through the centre of town, Fairbanks bound.

Comprising of two buildings, a main lodge and an annexe with car parking in-between.
Rooms were large, clean and comfortable

Complimentary wi-fi included.

We stayed in the annexe which had its own breakfast room. Breakfast was included in the room rate and provided a sufficient start to the day.

The hotel provides a packed lunch for those guests travelling to the park. At $12 it was good value and recommended. Should you opt to buy your own food, options are very limited and expensive on the journey to the park and at the park centre itself.

We ordered the night before and picked up at breakfast. It consisted of a choice of sandwich, apple, fruit snack, water, juice and a cookie.

In the evening we chose to eat in town, the 49th St brewery being a good choice – 15/20 minutes walk away. There is a diner next to the hotel.

A good choice hotel, with easy access to Denali about 20 minutes drive away.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A380ManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2014

We booked this motel by accident. (My husband thought he had stayed here before, but turns out that was the Totem Inn.) Much better option than the Totem. Clean, quiet, roomy, comfy accommodations. Everything works. One note: there is no hairdryer in the room.

Recommended.

No restaurant on site, but good options in Healy. Breakfast was better than expected. (Advertised as "continental", but also includes hard boiled eggs, etc., so you can get some protein!)

Do yourself a favour and order the box lunch for next day. Ample food, very tasty sandwiches, and much less expensive than anything you can buy at the park concessions.

There is currently some construction on the highway between Healy and Park entrance, so you will be delayed on your trip. Plan accordingly.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank svbreila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2014 via mobile

Very nice motel in Healy, about 15 minutes from the park. The rooms and beds were spacious and comfortable. Nothing fancy, but very clean, quiet and comfortable. Dint like the Breakfast too much. It was just regular cereal, toast, some fruit etc.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Avanijos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

My name is Ralph from N.J. I stayed in June of 2014 for a second year and again next year for a third year. this hotel is very clean and realaxing . this hotel is in a nice wooded area and is nice and quite. great place and see you again next year. Ralph from n.j.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Ralph F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 July 2014

This is a wonderful motel. However, it is not airconditioned. It is very neat and clean. The breakfast was surprisingly good. The eggs are boiled in the kitchen. They are much better than those at the Hampton Inns. The young woman in the breakfast area was very helpful, and all of the food was very well presented. The location is close to the entrance to Danali. It is a very quiet area.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kapcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.2 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
394 reviews
10.3 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
596 reviews
10.3 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
816 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.7 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,116 reviews
22.5 mi away
McKinley Creekside Cabins
McKinley Creekside Cabins
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
689 reviews
3.2 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge

Address: Mile 249.5 Parks Highway, Healy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > Healy
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range: £59 - £158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge 2.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Aurora Denali Lodge formerly known as Motel Nord Haven is a 28 room family owned motel in Healy, Alaska. We are conveniently located 12 miles north of the entrance to Denali National Park. We are open every day of the year to serve visitors to Denali, travelers driving between Anchorage and Fairbanks, folks here on corporate or government business, workers on job assignments, and local Alaskans with friends and family in our beautiful town of Healy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel Nord Haven Hotel Healy
Hotel Nord Haven
Nord Haven Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing