We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great little motel. Lots of free amenities” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Totem Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Totem Inn
Ranked #6 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Denali National Park and Preserve, Alaska
Level Contributor
120 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great little motel. Lots of free amenities”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 May 2010

Honestly, I wasn't thrilled about staying here because I've always associated the motel with the bar. The motel is really not bad. The beds are comfortable, rooms are clean. The hotel offers tons of free amenities: free laundry, free Wi-Fi, refrigerators, microwaves, flat screen tv with full cable, and many others like a decent workout facility. I was really impressed with the motel and will certainly return.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank trilobite01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

74 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    14
    15
    23
    13
    9
See reviews for
17
17
7
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Seward,Alaska
Level Contributor
50 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 October 2009

I stayed here 1 night during the road lottery weekend. Most other places were more expensive, already booked or closed for the season.

No problems with check in/out. The place is older with worn carpet in the hallway. Didn't like the choice of entrances either over a "boardwalk" through the lawn or some steep steps on the side, both some distance to haul things to/from if your room is on the far side. Difiently not wheelchair or handicap friendly.

The room was clean and in good repair. The bed was great and I slept very well. There was a little fridge, microwave, coffee maker, clothes closet, desk, tv, phone. An ice machine in the laundry room was very convenient for filling the cooler.

Ate one breakfast in the restaurant. Okay food, priced high but not bad considering the location. Service was slow with only one waitress and it was a very busy morning.

There wasn't any problems with leaving a vehicle there during the day while we drove into the park.

I'd probably pick this place again for next year, but I wish they had smoking rooms.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank glacierlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
yorkshire
Level Contributor
284 reviews
161 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 May 2008

A good overall stay. This is classed as a motel but you cannot get you car to the door of the room.

However this is a popular motel with business travellers which is a good sign. I arrived at 1pm out of main season and got the last of 50 rooms.

Its attractions are that it is only 12 miles from Denali NP, has small but clean rooms with large bathrooms ,large tv and wireless internet, all for around $70.

Its restaurant has attracted adverse comment in the past which I can understand.It is quirky but the food is ok. You have to enter thru the bar and if you want a drink with meal you have to sit in a seperate area and get the drink yourself from the bar! This is also a smoking area. A smoke free meal with a glass of wine is not possible. This seems strange but then I am English

The reception is laid back; not sure if we have a room but friendly. I would stay again.

  • Liked — near to Denali,wi/fi access,value for money,rest on site
  • Disliked — distance from car to room,reception,quirky restaurent
  • Stayed May 2008, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank dunera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2006

All I can say if you visit the lounge at the Totem Inn is to watch your husbands. It must be the lack of men in Alaska. The regulars are always drunk and the bartenders are ready to snatch whatever comes in the door. This was not a very nice place to vacation. The service was way too slow in the dinning room. The food not that good and having to make sure you did not turn your backs on the women who worked there was very uncomfortable.

  • Stayed July 2002
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glen Mills, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
63 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2006

Totem Inn is conviniently located 10 miles north of Denali national park. The Inn is ok and the rooms were clean. However the staff were downright rude. The lady was totally uninterested during the check in process. We actually checked in at around 5 PM in the eveing and not at some un-godly hour. The whole time she hardly uttered a word. One of the earlier reviewer has mentioned that a native american had checked them in and he/she was also rude. In our caseit wasa cacusian and there was no difference. The next day we had breakfast at the restaurant and again the staff were so unfriendly, it was totally unpleasant.

If you are driving through and just need a place to crash for the night it is ok, otherwise for longer stays it is definitely not good.

  • Stayed May 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AravindBabu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ljubljana, Slovenia
Level Contributor
279 reviews
259 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 820 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 August 2005

All in all my stay at Totem Inn was very disappointing. We were checked in by a young Native American boy who was not interested in uttering any words. He did not even greet us or told us in which direction to go to our room. The only few words he did say were "Credit card?". I travel around a lot and have tried a huge variety of places to stay at and I would have a hard time remembering any where the attitude at the reception was so nonchalant. It seemed as if they were doing us a favor for letting us stay at their property. The room was cramped, there was very little space left to move around and to put our (small) bags. Although it looked rather new, the room was quite destroyed and not maintained. A metal piece of heater cover was dangerously sticking out towards the bed. The overall cleanliness was marginal. I could not say the room wasn't cleaned before our arrival, but it was done very negligently. We paid 115 USD for this room which is way too much for what we got. When I visit Denali again I will gladly give 20 or 30$ more and stay in a nicer and friendlier property.

  • Stayed June 2005
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Slo-Lju
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 133 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2005

While staying in Healy, Alaska, we ate twice at the Totem Inn.

For summer 2005, the Inn has hired a very personable young man who goes out of his way to please customers. The menu is extensive and varied, considering the restaurant must drive TWO HOURS to Fairbanks for their food supplies.

The Totem does an excellent job with breakfasts and lunch, having a great selection of sandwiches, all of which are top rate. There is also a good choice of dessert items. The Totem is an alternative to the higher priced establishments ten miles south, at Denali National Park.

Unfortunately, the same cannot be said for dinner. Four of us ate dinner on Saturday May 29th, and none of the menu items ordered were satisfactory. Especially disappointing were the steak items, far from the quality and enjoyment of their lunch menu.

Stayed May 2005
Helpful?
8 Thank Al4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
1.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
4.0 of 5 bubbles 335 reviews
9.6 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 484 reviews
9.6 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 704 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.0 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
3.5 of 5 bubbles 972 reviews
7.6 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
4.5 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Totem Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Totem Inn

Property: Totem Inn
Address: P.O. Box 417, Healy, AK 99743-0417
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Number of rooms: 32

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing