We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pros and Cons”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Healy
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Denali Faith Hill Lodge
Reviewed 23 September 2011

Pros
• Host generous with cooking facilities, laundry, and food supplies and will do anything to make your stay comfortable
• Transport to and from local shuttle and into Denali if required however more convenient to stay here if you have your own transport
• Great cooked breakfast

Cons
• Long way from anywhere but as mentioned above transport options are good
• Noisy from plumbing and walking around in rooms overhead, bring earplugs if you are a light sleeper
• Host fervently religious which can be a tad wearing if you are not this way inclined

Room Tip: might be quieter upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank rggibbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (75)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

49 - 55 of 75 reviews

Reviewed 28 August 2011

We had been touring all over Alaska and had decided to spend a week exploring, adventuring and relaxing in and around Denali. It was like a home away from home. The atmosphere was welcoming and extremely accommodating. Anything you wanted or needed, all you had to do was ask and they were never put out about it. We took the train in and had to rely on shuttles to get us where we needed to go. Some of the local businesses do offer shuttles but when they didn't, Jack was ready and willing to get us anywhere we needed to go. Since we did use this service often, Mitch, the owner gave us, a family of 4 a really good deal. Although the room was small, yet adequate, we had the run of the house, that, and we didn't come to stay in our room. The view from the breakfast/dining area and deck offered fabulous views. It was well off the beaten path and away from the noisy parks highway. One night we were treated to live music by Mitch and some of the guests. Everyone joined in on the singing and had a great time! Breakfast was hearty and delicious. I definitely recommend the omelets and hash browns. We were allowed use of the kitchen to prepare meals so we weren't stuck with going out and paying $50-$80+ for dinner for a family of 4 every night. Mitch and his staff create such a welcoming, friendly atmosphere that we, and many of the guests would hang out in the evenings either in the common area of the house or gathered around the fire outside hoping the Northern Lights would appear. Mitch was very knowledgeable about the things to do in and around Denali and was a wonderful resource. We truly felt like a part of an extended family. We left with joy that we had made such wonderful friends and sadness that we had to go.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Willowdawildpony
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2011

First of all, Mitch and his family were extremely friendly, warm and accommodating. The first night of our stay, we arrived late and didn't have a chance to get dinner. The closest restaurant was a bit far away, so Mitch welcomed us to join dinner with his family! Definitely above and beyond what we expected!

For the price, the rooms are a steal! The loft area rooms (small rooms just large enough to sleep, shared bathroom) were ~$95 after all fees per night including breakfast, you simply can't beat that in or near Denali. The rooms with private bath were about $140 per night. When researching, the next closest available room was $169 per night.

When you come to the main cabin for breakfast in the morning, you are greeted by hot coffee, sizzling eggs and a great view!

One con for the loft rooms: the noise in the house carries and so the morning breakfast crowd may wake you up. To mitigate this, Mitch provides earplugs and he's been looking into sound proofing the loft rooms.

Would definitely return when visiting Denali!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank khoadle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2011

This place isn't name Faith Hill because of an affinity for the Country Singer. You might feel blessed to stay here, and since everything else was booked, I was happy to have a room. Don't expect much. It's basic, no views, no thrills; hot shower, bed and a small window. Owners were very nice and made a heart breakfast.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bpmeier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 July 2011

I stayed 2 nights and truly enjoyed the hospitality and warmth of hostess and fellow guests. The view from the deck was spectacular and the deck provided a wonderful place to sit, chat, and share the adventures of the day. In fact the ambiance was such that friendships grow and I hope to get together with fellow guests in the future.

Room Tip: As a male, the loft was economical and great but presents challenging step climbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cgc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 July 2011

I think the Faith Hill Lodge may be under new ownership since the reviews that were posted on here. The food is okay, not great, and doesn't accommodate anyone who wants to get an early-ish start into the park (which is a lot of people). The rooms are so small that you can't really move around in them - my husband and I both hit our heads on the wall-mounted television trying to navigate our way around a room too small to comfortably hold even a full size bed (we had been promised a queen). The walls are so thin that I woke up every time someone in the lodge came in, left, showered, flushed a toilet, sneezed, spoke, etc. You can hear every word of a conversation through the wall.

Also, Healy is a good 20 minute drive to the park, wasting a lot of your time on the road. You're much better off choosing a place outside the park entrance. We left the lodge and stayed a night at the Crow's Nest - cheaper, twice the size, and a great view.

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank mountaingirl82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 October 2010

The Lodge was the best place we stayed at Alaska with out extended family. Mitch (the owner) was very accomodating of our needs. He provided excellent suggestions on what to do around the area. He was flexible about the needs of our large extended family. From a cost perspective, it was very good value for money too. We will stay there again if we are in the area

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank josephil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Healy hotels
1.9 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.1 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 3 in Healy
394 reviews
3.4 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.5 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
2.3 mi away
Alaskan Spruce Cabins
1.6 mi away
Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Faith Hill Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Faith Hill Lodge

Address: mile 1.9 Lignite Rd., Healy, Denali National Park and Preserve, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Denali National Park and Preserve > Healy
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Healy
Number of rooms: 15

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing