We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great end to Alaska vacation!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #4 of 8 Healy B&B and Inns
Topeka, Kansas
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great end to Alaska vacation!”
Reviewed 31 August 2013

We chose to stay here to get away from the "Glitter Gulch" right outside Denali Park. It is in a secluded wooded area about 12 miles from the park entrance. So nothing is within walking distance and there is no pool or workout center available as a previous reviewer was complaining about; but if you carefully research potential accommodations you know this going into your stay. We enjoyed the peaceful surroundings. The grounds of the home are beautiful and well kept. Loved the layout of the house. We were in a large bedroom with plenty of room for unpacking and repacking; our room had a private bath and connecting sitting area on the bottom level. Renting whole house would be nice for a family get together as there were rooms upstairs also. Continental breakfast was plentiful and Terry, the owner, made you feel right at home. Very pleasant stay and good end to our Alaskan vacation! (P.S. Rose's cafe was within 5 to 10 minutes right off of the Park's Highway and made a sack lunch for us to take into Denali for the bus tour.)

Room Tip: We liked the bottom level with attached sitting room. Was very private for us.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WifeyB1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    47
    10
    2
    1
    0
See reviews for
16
35
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Blair, Nebraska
Level 5 Contributor
92 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Decent bread and breakfast spot. Very clean, breakfast was included. Location was secluded and far from the national park. No keys to the house and doors were not locked. No privacy. For 3 bedrooms and 2 nights, we were charged extra $15/night for the 3rd person. Our host, Terry also charged us 7% "tax" (there are no sales tax in Healy or Denali). On the original agreement, we were quoted $197 per night. However, she waited for checkout to tack on these charges. It was only until later that we found out about the lack of sales tax in the area and felt ripped off.

Due to us ending up paying $211/night and pricing for local hotel in Denali is $200/night, we felt that the value was not there. Since we had to drive 30 minutes just to reach the national park.

Word of advice, the hotels and resorts in Denali for $200/night you receive full privacy, gym, walking distance to the attractions. At this B&B location, you were definitely very secluded.

Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Clark K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
times4travel, Owner at Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast, responded to this review, 7 September 2013
There is no reason for any guest to arrive at Denali Primrose unsure of the cost of their stay. A confirmation is sent in advance. The rate structure is also clearly stated on our web site www.denaliprimrose.com. The cost of the three bedroom suite is $182.00 per night with an additional $15.00 per person charge after the first two guests. When Hank said “he was quoted $197.00 per night” that is correct: $182.00 + 15.00 (1 extra person) = $197.00. It is also correct there is no sales tax in Healy/Denali. However, Denali borough most definitely has a 7% OVERNIGHT ACCOMODATIONS TAX, aka a bed tax. The 7% tax on $197.00 is $13.70. $197.00 + 13.70 = $210.79 per night. This party was charged correctly! Nothing extra was added that was not on the confirmation notice sent to them weeks before their arrival. Please take a moment and read your confirmation.

It is true during the day I do not lock up the house. This is our home. While our guests are off enjoying Denali my family needs to be ably to come and go freely. At night guests are welcome to not only lock their suite, but the main doors as well.

It is obvious that this party would have been better suited for Glitter Gulch. Despite the name, there are some very nice properties there. It is not a matter of good or bad, just a personal preference. My advice is to spend just a little time researching your destination. Find accommodation that will fill your needs. We are not a motel; we do not have a gym. We are a small B&B, located in a lovely quiet setting in Healy Alaska, 12 miles north of the park.

Terry
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

Denali National Park is a unique place to visit, but the area right outside of the park is very touristy, sometimes called "Glitter Gulch" for good reason. If you have a car, I highly recommend this home in Healy, just 12 miles north of the park entrance. Terry will make you feel at home right away. She is so pleasant and eager to give any help you need. We stayed three nights in July 2013 and felt very comfortable here. She offers plenty of choices for breakfast...cereal, yogurt, fruit, muffins, etc. Her home is beautifully decorated with handmade quilts on the walls. We stayed in the downstairs suite which was perfect for us. There was a separate seating area where we could do our writing and reading at the end of the day. We'd definitely stay here again! Thanks, Terry!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gallagherfam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Worth
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed in the downstairs suite for three nights in mid June and really enjoyed Terry and her beautiful home. Terry is very personable and accommodating and made us feel at home. We loved the breakfast choices she provided to include various cereals, breads, fruit, yogurt, bagels,etc..

The pictures do not do justice to what this place was like inside. Terry and her son live in the garage conversion and the house is basically used by the guests. The modern looking three level house is spotless with a large kitchen. We really appreciated Terry allowing us to use the laundry facilities. We will stay here again if we return.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sunsea22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ames, Iowa
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed one evening at the Denali Primrose B&B in the upstairs suite. We were traveling with another couple so used only two of the three bedrooms and shared the bath. Although a little difficult to find by GPS, we did have the directions from the website which brought us correctly to the right location. This is a very modern, bright home and well planned to use as a B&B. The rooms and bath were very clean and we enjoyed using the downstairs social area as well. Terri is very personable and helpful. The closest restaurants are approximately 5 miles away so one definitely needs to have a car. One of the things we appreciated was being able to use the laundry facilities since we were on an extended trip. If in the same area we will definitely plan to stay at the Denali Primrose B&B again.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AliceL1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 June 2013

I found this place through trip advisor. There were four of us in need of a place to stay while we were visiting the Denali area. We booked the three bedroom suite and it was perfect for us. We really only used two bedrooms. It was super clean and Terry was a wonderful host. While driving to the house we weren't quite sure we were going the right way but we continued to follow her directions and we found it with no problems (don't listen to the GPS). It was the perfect location, away from the hustle and bustle around Denali. She had left us a note when we arrived because she wasn't there but I called her and she came to chat with us for a few after we were all settled. She gave us a wonderful recommendation for dinner (where we went both nights we were in town) - 49th State Brewery. The breakfasts at the house were like a continental breakfast with all you could ever want...bread, muffins, hard boiled eggs, cereals, fresh fruit, yogurt, etc. Terry was there both mornings and it was good to talk with her about our plans for the day and what we did the day before. If we ever come back to Alaska we will definitely stay here again. Thanks Terry!!

~Danielle
Charlotte, NC

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Danielle3342
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2013

Very nice, clean house. Terry made us feel welcome right away, and made it a point to chat with us when we arrived, and also during breakfast the next day.

Breakfast was simple, but sufficient.

By "hidden", I mean it's nestled in the woods, not really visible from the road.
Follow the directions that Terry provides and you won't have a problem. Follow your GPS and you might...

Terry, couple of really minor things for the down stairs suite:
- Bedroom needs a small waste basket.
- Bathroom and bedroom each need a box of kleenex.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iDogbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
2.5 mi away
Denali Park Hotel
Denali Park Hotel
#2 of 4 in Healy
364 reviews
9.9 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,046 reviews
10.5 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
0.4 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.4 mi away
EarthSong Lodge - Denali's Natural Retreat
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast

Property: Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast
Address: #1 Stoney Creek Drive, Healy, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast 3*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set on 1 1/2 wooded acres in Healy, Alaska, this establishment is warm, cozy, and filled with natural light. It is secluded, yet close to the Parks Highway and just minutes away from all the activities Denali National Park has to offer. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Denali Primrose Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing