We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Good food and service!”

49th State Brewing Company
Ranked #1 of 8 Restaurants in Healy
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Brew Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Whether ordering a burger the size of your head, Alderwood smoked ribs that fall off the bone, or a local organic salad the food at the 49th will not disappoint. Our award winning craft beer is brewed on premises and can be enjoyed in the beer garden while playing disc golf, bocce ball, horseshoes, or bags. The 49th's outdoor concert series brings acts such as: The Wailers, Trampled by Turtles, Dark Star Orchestra, Keller Williams, Pato Banton, and Matt Lewis and the Medicine. The "Into the Wild" bus from the movie is in the garden and visitors are welcome to go aboard to see the memorabilia on display. As we are located 8 miles north of the Denali hub, we offer a local shuttle for a worry free visit.
Reviewed 15 May 2014 via mobile

Another great surprise on our journey to Denali. We were here on a Sunday night in early May and the place was packed for dinner. We all really enjoyed our food and drinks. Definitely recommend and would return.
Oh, by the way, if you ever watched the movie "Into the Wild" the bus that the movie was filmed in is on their side lot.

Thank WOXC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hello! Thanks for taking a moment to write about your time at the 49th! We really appreciate and love getting feedback from our guests. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

931 - 935 of 1,291 reviews

Reviewed 14 May 2014

Everyone's very friendly and helpful there. The food is great with great ambient. Great beer and alcohol options. Huge list on whisky. It's great pub/restaurant food in a metropolitan standard. It's definitely not what we expected. We went there after a multiple day Stampede trail hike and visited the magic bus. So when we walked into the courtyard and saw the bus that was used to shoot Sean Penn's movie we had an awe feeling. I've already started to tell friends if they don't want to do the hike they can still pay some respect to the bus at the 49th State. It's a little McCandless museum.

p.s. they don't start serving lunch until mid-may!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Thomas T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Hello! Thank you for your kind words and taking the time to write them. Going to the actual bus on Stampede is quite and accomplishment. It must have been quite the surprise to see the prop bus in our beer garden! We're glad to hear you had a good experience at the 49th and wish you safe travels on your next adventure. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Our B&B host recommended this place, and since we didn't feel like driving very far, we walked in. The menu had several yummy-sounding vegetarian options, so we stayed. The huge fire pit in the middle of the dining area was different, but very enticing, esp since the weather was a bit blustery. There were several tvs and a long bar, and the decor was a cross between a sports bar and a backwoods dive. The staff was super friendly and very efficient. The prices were a bit steep, but that seems to be the way of Alaskan restaurants. The Alaskan Berry Salad was wonderful, as was the Black Bean & Quinoa Melt. For dessert, I had the Chocolate Mousse Pie, which was way yummy, but too much after everything else I ate. If you ever drive through Healy, this place is a must!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Jen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for taking the time to write about your experience at the 49th! We're glad to hear you enjoyed it. The quinoa burger is new on the menu this year. Our HR manager is a certified Naturalistic Chef so she chimed in on that recipe.
Once again, thank you for your review. Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This place is amazing as soon as you walk in. The Crew is quite friendly and know a lot about beer and whiskey. The outside area was really cool too. A huge fire pit and the prop bus from the movie "into the wild" and a fun games like horse shoes and disc golf. A huge fire pit and cool conversation.
The food was out of this world! I had the Table Top Burger, a BBQ cheese burger with fired onion strings on top served with tasty french fries. My friend had the Ribeye cooked to perfection. AND THE BEER, The Vienna Lager is like nectar of the gods and the Golden Dahl is strong and sweet. mmmmm, I'll be coming here all summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank monkeybutt_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 18 May 2014

Thank you for your review! Looks like you had a great time at the brewery. We really appreciate that you took a moment to tell others. If you like the beer garden on a normal day, be sure to check it out during our summer festivals, Solstice Brewfest on June 20-21 and Augtoberfest on August 1-2.
Thanks again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

Here with Doug and Tony we had a good time good service lots of different choices of beers to try out and had a good time didn't eat but saw other happy people

Thank Pete K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Della M, Public Relations Manager at 49th State Brewing Company, responded to this reviewResponded 5 May 2014

Thank you for stopping in! Happy reviews make for the best kind of reading! Hope you get to have a bite next time you stop in.
Cheers!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 49th State Brewing Company also viewed

 
Denali National Park and Preserve, AK
 

Been to 49th State Brewing Company? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing