We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Casual and clean”
Review of Denali Park Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Denali Park Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Casual and clean”
Reviewed 8 July 2014

A 10 minute drive north from Denali National Park. The two queen bed room was spacious and clean with pull up to the room parking. The receptionist was friendly and recommended several restaurants. I would return to this hotel.

Room Tip: We were on the north side and it was very quiet with no traffic. It looked as though there would be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank birdlady71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    78
    163
    103
    17
    10
See reviews for
114
161
25
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Las vegas
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

I was surprised. The room was clean. However, my expectation given that this is a Hotel would be to have some basic restaurant amenities.

It is very basic. About 12 miles past the park, middle of nowhere, essentially three barracks. It is cheaper being at the park, but given the facilities, not so cheap,

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Harry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

A no frill reasonably priced hotel offering a clean stay for a visit to Denali National Park. It is about 12-13 miles drive North after you pass the park entrance road.

Good:
- Has refrigerator and microwave
- Clean
- You can park your car just outside your room
- Reasonably priced but please book early
- Friendly staff

It was formerly a National Park Service motel, so don't expect an upscale stay.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zsrbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
badmaru
Level 5 Contributor
27 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014

For travelers to Denali National Park who do not want to pay an arm and a leg for a roof over their heads and don't want to "rough" it in the cabins, look no further. Denali Park Hotel may be the solution for your. While the property is called a hotel, it is really like a motel. Having said that, the room was clean. A small fridge, microwave, coffee maker and a space heater are in the room. The curtains are relatively dark so most of the sunlight during the summer is kept out. If you need complete darkness to sleep, then bring an eye mask. Also, since it's like a motel, they do not have the typical toiletries of a hotel - there is soap in the shower, but that is it. So if you're traveling up there, bring your own shampoo, conditioner, lotion, etc.

The property is approximately 15-20 minutes from the entrance of Denali National Park. However, there is construction on the highway, so plan accordingly. If you are going to the Denali Outdoor Center on Otto Lake, they are less than 0.5 miles from the hotel. If you want food, 49th State Brewery is a less than 4 minute drive north or you could go to Black Diamond Grill which is on Otto Lake Drive about 2-3 minutes away.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank badmaru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oberhausen, Germany
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2014

Stayed here two nights in June. Motel style property. Well kept and clean. Room hat all the equipement which we required and all was clean and in good working ordern. Staff very friendly and helpfull. Only approx 15 minutes drive to park entrance. Construction on the way there caused no problems or delays. This was a great choice. Reasonable price, nice an quiet, good location for Park entrance.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Robbie46117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
203 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

The Denali Park Hotel is about 10 miles north of the national park entrance, very convenient on the Parks Highway. Don't let the appearance fool you. I didn't expect a "Ritz-Carlton" when I booked it, but I also didn't want to have get a home equity loan to pay for a hotel room either. In fact, several TripAdvisor reviews convinced me this was a good place. Indeed it was!

The room was super clean, the bed comfortable and everything worked well. The mini-refrigerator in the room was a good deal. The folks in the "office" (the converted rail car) were super-friendly and genuinely appreciated our business.

Several good, locally owned restaurants nearby, including Black Diamond Grill (keep going west on Otto Lake Road, which is where you enter this hotel. We gave it a try for breakfast --- excellent!. Also, a restaurant in the Totem Inn, Rose's Cafe and 49th State Brewing, a craft brewery / restaurant with some excellent beers. You don't have to drive back to the park area for good food that is reasonably priced.

If you're taking an early morning tour into the park via the Wilderness Access Center, allow 15-20 minutes to make sure you arrive in time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chuck H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

This hotel was close to the park and was reasonably priced. It had everything we needed and was clean. The lady at the desk was friendly as well. It was quiet and you could wander around the trails if you chose.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Healy
7.6 mi away
McKinley Chalet Resort
McKinley Chalet Resort
#1 of 6 in McKinley Village
1,073 reviews
8.2 mi away
Denali Bluffs Hotel
Denali Bluffs Hotel
#2 of 6 in McKinley Village
560 reviews
8.2 mi away
Grande Denali Lodge
Grande Denali Lodge
#3 of 6 in McKinley Village
781 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Motel Nord Haven Aurora Denali Lodge
4.6 mi away
Denali Touch Of Wilderness Bed and Breakfast Inn
14.5 mi away
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
Denali Grizzly Bear Resort
#3 of 7 in McKinley Village
369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Denali Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Denali Park Hotel

Property: Denali Park Hotel
Address: Mile Marker 247 Parks Highway, at Otto Lake Rd. 10 miles N of Denali Nat. Park, Healy, AK 99743
Region: United States > Alaska > Healy
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Healy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:2 star — Denali Park Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Ebookers so you can book your Denali Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Denali Park
Denali Park Healy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing